We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #73 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Visit to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent friendly staff that was helpful in booking trips and providing suggestions on things to see while visiting. My flight arrived in the early morning and my room was already available. Located in a great location for walking to major points of interests. Was a little farther away from Central Station than expected but still within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

I am glad to read that you had a great time in Amsterdam and that we could acommodate you early in the morning on the day of your arrival.

The central train station is a 20 minutes walk away, but only a 5 minues tram ride from the Albus. Our reception sells tickets for the same price as on the tram and we even offer multiple day tickets up to 4 days for special rates.

We hope to welcome you again soon and just call or e-mail us directly if you need any help with transportation!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    284
    92
    31
    18
See reviews for
79
328
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent location, close enough to the town centre for a short stroll but far enough away to escape the noise and hustle and bustle. Plenty of restaurants, cafés and coffee shops a minutes walk away.
Excellent service, every member of staff we spoke to was friendly, courteous, professional and spoke very good English. Every time we ventured out we were wished farewell by the staff at the front desk and told to have a good day which was nice.
The hotel grounds were immaculate, decor was beautiful all the time and all round very luxurious. We ordered room service one night from the restaurant menu (no extra charge) which was really nice and added to a special occasion.
The room was nice, tv, king size bed etc. I like the fact the hotel saves water and tries to be as Eco friendly as possible by only washing the bedding and towels when you notify them to. The maid would visit each morning and make the room up even if you didn't want them changed which is a nice touch. The maid would also refill the mineral water and the coffee pods for the nespresso machine (such a lovely idea!) how ever 2 milk sachets and 4 coffees doesn't really make sense to me.
The only thing I would say is that the bedding did have a few stains and marks on arrival which was slightly off putting and on the final day of our visit we had a quick look under the bed to see if we had forgotten anything and discovered a sock which didn't belong to either of us and must have been missed for god knows how long. Other than that everything was really good and I am definitely planning on returning. Watch out for the city tax though. I was very shocked to see a £15+ Fee on top of the bill for the room labeled city tax. Maybe if I was expecting it I wouldn't have been worried to see it on the bill as we were checking out. Anyway, all in all an excellent break and a perfect venue for a couple of tourists who want some luxury after a hard day's touring! Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for leaving such an extended review and for all your nice compliments!

I sincerely apoligize that housekeeping did not meet our standards with regards to the bedding and the sock under your bed! We clean all rooms thoroughly after each check out, including the space under the bed. Of course we also aim to only place spotless linen on the beds, I am afraid that we have overlooked the stains on your sheets. If you could let me know the date of your stay and your room number on lisa@albushotel.com, I will be able to provide your feedback to the concerning room attendant and supervisor.

I am sorry that you were a bit surprised about the 5.5% city tax. All local hotels are obliged to charge this for the municipality of Amsterdam. Unfortunately not every external booking channel is willing to publish this on their websites, however we always try to clearly inform all our guests upon arrival.

I thank you again for your comments and please, do not hesitate to request some extra milk cups to be brought up to your room during your next stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Lovely hotel very central to everything.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze and they provided a walking map that was very useful. The coffee in the reception area was great too! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello precious guest,

How nice to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us!

We are currently developing an even better map full of tips and personal recommendations from our staff.

I hope you will have the chance to enjoy this special city map during your next visit to Amsterdam and the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

After looking at many hotels, we decided to go with the this one. On arrival, the staff were most attentive and helpful. There was coffee and water beside reception on arrival and throughout our stay. Our rooms were made up of a double and triple room on the 7th floor. They were larger the expected for a city stay, clean and comfortable. My bathroom (double room) although slightly old looking was clean and large. Our beds comfortable. The hotel is situated near a large bar area so there was noise to be heard in the room to the front of the hotel. Ear plugs were supplied but not needed. All in all a wonderful stay with excellent staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello ladies,

Thank you for your nice comments!

I totally agree that our triple rooms on the 7th floor are perfect for a short break with a small group of friends of family.

I am glad that you did not have to use the provided earplugs to have a quiet girls weekend and I hope to welcome all of you back in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a splendid stay in Amsterdam.
This hotel has a very good service and has good clean rooms.
Very near to all sites in Amsterdam.
There is a very large choice of breakfast possibilities.
We had dinner in the restaurant "Senses" of the hotel and it was good quality food and good service.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

I am happy to read that you liked our breakfast and that you have tried the "Senses surprise menu" in Senses restaurant as well.

I will gladly pass your compliments to our kitchen crew as they are working very hard to deliver the promised "food art" and are always motivated by positive feedback of their guests.

We hope to see you again in the Albus and Senses restaurant on your next trip to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

What an excellent little hotel the service we received there was second to none. The staff were so helpful from the moment we arrived. We were offered a coffee straightaway & a member of staff I think her name was Sophia came over & sat with us & bought us a map marking all the locations we wished to visit & booking any tickets we needed. We arrived early but luckily the room was ready. I know previous people had mentioned the noisy street outside but I didn't really notice it. Room was lovely & clean & fantastic shower. Would most definetely reccommend this hotel.Brilliant location can walk to all the main sights from here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review!

I will pass your comments to our receptionist Sofia and the rest of the team. They are very eager to handle each guest with personal care and I am glad that you appreciate this.

Do not hesistate to return back to the Albus on your next stay in Amsterdam, we will be happy to warmly welcome you again!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It's not an easy task to find a hotel in Amsterdam where you get value for your money. The Albus is in a good location, staff is extremely friendly, rooms are clean, modern and very quiet. The breakfast was a bit overpriced, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice comments!

Did you know that it is possible to pre-book our blissfull breakfast buffet with 25% discount when you make your room reservation through albushotel.com? This might be a reason to try it next time...otherwise our reception staff is more than happy to recommend you some local places to enjoy a simple breakfast around the hotel.

I hope to see you back again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.