We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a splendid stay in Amsterdam.
This hotel has a very good service and has good clean rooms.
Very near to all sites in Amsterdam.
There is a very large choice of breakfast possibilities.
We had dinner in the restaurant "Senses" of the hotel and it was good quality food and good service.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

I am happy to read that you liked our breakfast and that you have tried the "Senses surprise menu" in Senses restaurant as well.

I will gladly pass your compliments to our kitchen crew as they are working very hard to deliver the promised "food art" and are always motivated by positive feedback of their guests.

We hope to see you again in the Albus and Senses restaurant on your next trip to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    360
    111
    35
    20
See reviews for
99
410
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

What an excellent little hotel the service we received there was second to none. The staff were so helpful from the moment we arrived. We were offered a coffee straightaway & a member of staff I think her name was Sophia came over & sat with us & bought us a map marking all the locations we wished to visit & booking any tickets we needed. We arrived early but luckily the room was ready. I know previous people had mentioned the noisy street outside but I didn't really notice it. Room was lovely & clean & fantastic shower. Would most definetely reccommend this hotel.Brilliant location can walk to all the main sights from here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review!

I will pass your comments to our receptionist Sofia and the rest of the team. They are very eager to handle each guest with personal care and I am glad that you appreciate this.

Do not hesistate to return back to the Albus on your next stay in Amsterdam, we will be happy to warmly welcome you again!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It's not an easy task to find a hotel in Amsterdam where you get value for your money. The Albus is in a good location, staff is extremely friendly, rooms are clean, modern and very quiet. The breakfast was a bit overpriced, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice comments!

Did you know that it is possible to pre-book our blissfull breakfast buffet with 25% discount when you make your room reservation through albushotel.com? This might be a reason to try it next time...otherwise our reception staff is more than happy to recommend you some local places to enjoy a simple breakfast around the hotel.

I hope to see you back again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked the Albus hotel through Booking.com and stayed there for 4 nights from the 20th - 24th March 2014. I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. From the moment you check-in until the moment you leave the staff are friendly, helpful, accessible and more impressively they genuinely want you to have a great experience. The check-in procedure is relaxing where you sit in the foyer and the receptionist sits with you and you check-in over a cuppa and a nice chat. What a great idea!
We stayed in room 403, it was spacious, clean, bright and well designed. The bed was lovely, firm and of the right size with fluffy pillows. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels and lots of light. Despite being on the front side of the hotel with cars and trams running past the hotel I could not hear the traffic. There was a wide range of TV channels in various languages to suit the needs of every kind of traveller. Coffee making facilities in the room made waking up so much easier.
The two things that I would like to mention where the room could improve is more closet storage space and a little fridge to put a cheeky bottle of wine in or some juice for in the morning. Other than that a wonderful hotel that I would gladly recommend and also be happy to stay there again and again. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the albus at the end on February for 3 nights, as soon as we arrived the reception staff where very welcoming and friendly. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and after the girl on reception marked places to go on a city map we left our bags in the luggage room and went off to explore, when we arrived back to the hotel later that day we checked in and went to our room without any problems.

We booked a standard room due to us being out most of the time, the room was modern and the bed was very comfortable but the room itself was a bit on the small side, the girl on reception when we arrived did ask if we would like to upgrade to a bigger room for €15 per night but we decided against this but I think if I'd seen the size of the room I may have considered it. It was OK for 3 nights but any longer would have been a struggle. The rooms were cleaned daily, beds made and fresh towels. If we visit Amsterdam again we will certainly be staying at the albus.

The hotel is in a ideal location and only 10-15 mins walk to all the main tourist areas and the reception staff are always happy to assist and give directions.

Amsterdam is great for a city break and could have easily stayed a few more days.

Room Tip: If staying for greater than a few days, upgrade from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place was very modern, clean, and quiet. The staff was extremely nice and very willing to help out in any way they could.

The hotel is very well located as well. It is a short walk to many of the highlights of the central city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We found a deal on Expedia and couldn't have been happier! The location was central (just a couple blocks away from 3 different tram stops) and right next to Rembrandt Square (hub for quick food, restaurants, entertainment, etc.). The staff was fantastic - always smiling, friendly, and happy to help. Complimentary water bottles every day, clean rooms, comfortable rooms, free wifi, I could go on! Really wonderful hotel - so glad we found it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.