We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly hotel staff and very comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€5 off room rate
Ranked #56 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly hotel staff and very comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent three nights here in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was central without being in the 'noisy' centre and importantly, it was easy to find our way back to after walking for miles in picturesque Amsterdam. We were walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go which was a major plus point.

The room was lovely, very clean and modern, huge and very comfortable bed and the bathroom was good too. I loved the Nespresso machine in the room and the bathrobe was a welcome addition. The staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful, even giving us suggestions on where to start our exploration and providing us with a map, on which they marked everywhere we mentioned. The only reason it doesn't have all 5 points was the disappointing shower - it looked great but the water pressure was poor!

Great hotel and I would recommend to anyone. I wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkkate1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at The Albus for our anniversary and the overall experience was good but just a couple of things that needed to be improved. After walking to our hotel through the rain we was greeted by a young man who explained to us that the original suite we had booked was not ready until the next day so was put in a room at the front of the hotel which like in previous reviews if you want to get some sleep request to be at the back as the noise from outside can keep you awake, the room was very clean and very comfortable but was told to go down to reception at 11am to be moved to the original suite room that we had booked when doing this we was told that the room was not cleaned and will not be ready until 3pm as it had been very busy!!!. Just felt a bit disappointed as had booked the suite to relax in for the weekend but barely spent any time in there, the staff on reception seemed quite young and would probably be better if there was a manager around to deal things like this!!
Overall the hotel is very nice and is decorated beautifully and can not fault it for that. It is very well located you are just walking distance from all the main places to see.
I would stay at The Albus again but hopefully the bookings would be more organised next time and not feel so let down.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be at the back of the hotel as the noise from outside will keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The albus hotel was amazing.
It was on a busy street so didn't look much from the outside but it was a haven inside! Lovely decorations, amazing customer service, and lovely rooms. Added features like a nespresso machine in the room and bath robes really made it feel like a luxury hotel.
The location was perfect - although on a more main road, it wasn't a touristy road. The flower market was on the adjacent street and there were some wonderful restaurants in the vicinity, as well as Rembrandt square.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Julia at reception made our stay a joy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna2946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Honestly, and I am really fussy, I could not find fault with the Albus. I was there for the weekend and I found everything as it was supposed to be and that's the very least any traveller can expect from hotel, regardless of the cost or star rating.

The Albus does 'exactly what it says on the tin'. To make things even better, the staff are brilliant and I genuinely mean that. I will make it my hotel of choice when I'm in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I had everythng that I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wonderful location in the heart of the City delivering good value. The staff were consistently cheerful welcoming and helpful. A very nice breakfast is provided but the crispy bacon is too greasy - the excess fat should be removed before serving.



  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

A superb little hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam. My third visit was every bit as good as my first two.
From the moment you step through the door the service is terrific without being stuffy or overbearing.
I also like the fact that they actually take you to your room , completely unnecessary , but certainly a nice touch .
And possibly the best pillows in the world , I even asked where they source them so I can get some for home.
The only downside is no air conditioning in the rooms although fans are provided.
Certainly one of my favourite hotels around the world, please do try it yourself and see.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lancethecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Kind of a late review. My Wife and I stayed there the end of July and the first 2 days of August last year. The Hotel is extremely clean and modern. Staff were pleasant and catered to every wish. The food in the restaurant was tasty but on the expensive side. Location was amazing. Nice and close to the Rembrandtplein. Shopping and all the major features of Amsterdam were a 15 min walk away max. Would definitely return to the Albus for our next Amsterdam Visit :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantstopspinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing