We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #60 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed in the Albus hotel with my girlfriend for 2 nights and I must say I had a wonderful experience. As soon as we walked in the staff were ready to serve hand on foot. They gave us a massive run down of the city and gave us information on all of the touristy things to do. The rooms were in superb condition and were cleaned and tidied daily. I would definitely recommend a stay here. Location was good, but was a walk from Dam square. That didn't bother us as there was a lot to see on the way and we are massive walkers when on holiday anyway. All around great stay here.

Room Tip: Room needed two bath robes. We stayed in your deluxe double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    277
    84
    28
    17
See reviews for
69
314
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Good for a short weekend in Amsterdam. Interior and rooms are good. If you are traveling for business and require reliable internet, I would not recommend this hotel. Seems like the management of the hotel are seeing the big picture but are missing the details that's make a hotel really great.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Clean, chic, wonderful staff, friendly atmosphere and the perfect location. Walk to all of the sites and nightlife. Starbucks around the corner, but the nespresso machines in the room are great. Hot water, cold water, coffee, and tea always in the lobby. Had a room by the Main Street, but was not too loud to sleep even with the windows open. Boutique hotel in a great location and beautiful city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had a very good stay here last weekend. Very good location near to Rembrandtsplein within walking distance of all attractions. In our room it was peaceful and quiet so sleep was not disrupted despite being close a fairly busy street and around the corner from a busy square and one of the main shopping streets in the city. Staff very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at The Albus for three nights whilst in Amsterdam for the weekend. The hotel is really modern, chic and clean. The reception staff are very friendly and offered us hot drinks when we arrived and checked in before seeing us to the room. We stayed in a queen size room, it was small but for a city hotel it was fine. The main thing was it was very clean, and had all the necessities including a pod type coffee machine which was replenished daily as was bottled water.

At reception is a book of recommendations for restaurants, bars etc from the staff themselves. You should definitely take a look at this as we chose where to eat from this book and loved where we ended up each time, it's good to get a locals view.

The staff offered us advice of where to go and were always on hand to help us find locations on the maps they provide. We also purchased our tram tickets from reception, if you plan to travel by tram over the weekend get a 48hr ticket as it works out cheaper then the 24hr ones. We used the trams to get around the entire time, including evenings out as they run to midnight and there is a stop just a bit further up the road than the hotel.

The hotel is very centrally though and you could walk around too, probably 10 min stroll to Dam Square. The hotel is in a nice quieter part of town but still amongst it.

There is a small cafe across the road to the hotel called PKing, on the corner. We had breakfast here everyday for around €14 for two, cheaper than the hotels restaurant which I think was charging over €15 each for breakfast.

Overall great city hotel would definitely recommend and return to if visiting Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Albus hotel was a great find in a happening part of Amsterdam. The staff, (Mariska, Sofia, Verona) were great and EXTREMELY helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable...Thanks for your hospitality!!! Vincent Pepe

Room Tip: Ask the staff any questions, they seem to have all the answers....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The Albus was a great hotel in a great location with a great staff! It was right in the center of Amsterdam within walking distance to everything. Sophia and Mariska were wonderful! Very nice and very helpful! The next time I return to Amsterdam, I will defintely stay at The Albus!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.