We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing pillows!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #56 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing pillows!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a fantastic couples weekend in Amsterdam staying at The Albus for my husbands 40th Birthday. Chic, designer hotel. Nice breakfast buffet, although restaurant is very small. Great touch having a coffee machine in the reception area. Bedrooms are lovely, very modern with comfy bed and the most amazingly comfortable pillows I have ever slept on! As a frequent traveller in the UK, Europe and US staying in 4 & 5 star hotels, this is a very good hotel and we will definitely be staying here again.
Couple of tips:
Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet, no street noise
Take extra hangers as there are no drawers, so storage is limited.
Chipsky King at the top of the street offers a good late night take out!
Make a reservation at nearby Pasta e Basta for a dining experience to remember.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    250
    74
    25
    16
See reviews for
62
281
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice and room and very nice lobby with bar.

Some noise from the street so try to get a room facing away from the busy street ( or higher than first floor) - location-wise it's perfect - 2 minutes from the best party & shopping streets and flower market. A cool cafe called P.King just across the street and on the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Albus on a Friday night. I know Amsterdam pretty well but didn't know the Albus. Well, it is now our new favorite hotel in the centre. Our room was small but for the purpose we were there for it was fine. Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments! It is a true honour to be your new favourite hotel in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another blissful stay in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the Albus and, without exception, have found this to be an excellent place to stay while visiting Amsterdam.

The location is excellent, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are knowledgeable, professional and friendly. I have stayed in the rooms and in the apartments and am happy with the accommodation.

Recently, for the first time, I had dinner in the ‘Senses’ (I think) restaurant and I was very impressed. I was warmly greeted on arrival and quickly seated. The menu was explained in detail. I was guided to select dishes that I would not usually select. The food was promptly and professionally served, beautifully presented and, most importantly, was uniformly excellent.

I am a member of several frequent flyer and hotel loyalty programs and each one could learn lessons from the Albus in how to greet and treat their customers. In the almost 200 days I have been on the road in 2013 the Albus remains one of my top 2 favourite places to stay in the world.

A final word of commendation to the staff at the Albus who have mastered the art and science of treating everyone with a uniform level of professional courtesy while recognising the guest as an individual.

Well Done Albus – Keep it up.

Room Tip: Apartments are good - if you can get into one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our procuct and our staff!

It has always been a real pleasure to have you as our guest and we all do hope to keep seeing you in our hotel and in Senses restaurant!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to be told that we had been upgraded to an apartment. We were thankful of this and were excited to see where we would be staying. On entering the apartment, the corridors stank of cigarette smoke, the stairs were so steep, you couldn't fit your whole foot on each step so was extremely dangerous. On entering the actual apartment we were extremely disappointed as we had booked what we thought was a modern and new hotel. The apartment was extremely noisy mainly because the windows had no locks on them so it was hard to block out all of the noise, this also made me feel unsafe. The decor was not modern and the paint work was all chipped and in desperate need of refurbishment. The bedroom had two twin beds pushed together and the mattresses were uncomfortable and squeaky. We complained and the staff did not care, they had no rooms left so we either had to stay there or find somewhere else at our own expense. I have never been treated so appallingly by a hotel. We spent the next several hours trying to find a new hotel, which ended up being expensive. This situation ruined a large majority of what was supposed to be a fun weekend. I would strongly recommend NEVER staying at this hotel......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, although we do not agree on several points as we have already discussed via e-mail.

I am very sorry that the apartment that was offered to you was not to your taste and that we were not able to move you to another room directly since we were fully booked.

I have replied to your last e-mail and I sincerely hope that you will accept our gesture of goodwill.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having stayed at the Albus Hotel for one night, I found the reception's staff friendly and incredibly helpful. The mattress was too soft and the breakfast should be provided included in the room price, but I enjoyed my staying and could stay again next time I am in Amsterdam due to the location of the hotel and friendliness of their personnel.

Room Tip: Try to opt for a larger room than SmartCity if visiting as a couple, otherwise the room is on the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were really looking forward to staying at The Albus and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was smart looking, clean and trendy. The location was superb, just a few minutes walk to the square. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.
The beds were comfortable, room with all the mod cons including a great coffee machine. Highly recommended and we would defo stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.