We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the heart of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #74 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

- Take a room in the back: less noise and a view over some trees.
- The Albus is located near the Rembrandt-plein and thus the heart of Amsterdam, so everything is very close-by (bars, restaurants, public transport...)
- Staff-members are friendly.
- No need to take our breakfast at the hotel: plenty of bakeries and breakfast spots within walking distance. It will save you some money as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    283
    91
    31
    18
See reviews for
79
326
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is very central. The staff are most helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable with a few nice touches- bath robes and an espresso machine. Free internet and coffee making facilities in the hotel lobby are also a great addition. Only drawbacks were the noise on the street was very loud and so we had two poor nights sleep and the breakfast was disappointing.

Room Tip: Recommend booking a room away from the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear precious guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences! Could you please e-mail me what you did not like about our blissful breakfast at lisa@albushotel.com? Feedback is always very welcome in order to improve our product and services where possible.

I hope to welcome you back and impress you with a true blissful breakfast next time you stay at the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasow, Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent 3 night at the Albus with my wife and daughter. Hotel reception staff were excellent, friendly and informative and free coffee and water in reception was appreciated. Room was great, double bed plus a single bed - very spacious.Nespresso machine in room is a nice touch as is daily bottled water. Only "fault" with room is that lighting is not great and a request for a broken lamp to be fixed wasn't carried out. Overall a very nice stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on our staff and the room!

I am very sorry that your simple request to change a lamp was not followed up. I will certainly address the concerning departments and take a better look at our internal communication procedures.

Nevertheless, I hope to welcome you and your daughter again soon for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic location, close to Rembrandt square, flower market and shopping area.
The room was nice and clean but small. I recommend for a room with balcony (as far as I remembered, room # 606).
Nice and helpful stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great long weekend for two at this hotel earlier in the year. Absolutely freezing in Amsterdam but no matter, there isn't anywhere you cannot comfortably walk to from this hotel.

The room was good and a comfortable bed which is always a must. Plenty of restaurants within an easy walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The location is excellent. Th staff is great. Coffee and other hot drinks are provided free of charge next to the reservation desk. Coffee is available in the room too. Hi Fi is working without any problems.I had a delux room with ecxellent sleeping conditions. However, the shower doesn't have a door and they do not have a mini-bar or small refrigirator to store some grocries. For Shabbat they have convenient stairs, lights in the stairs and corridors are kept on all the time, and you may ask for help in getting to your room. The staff seems to be aware of the Shabbat restrictions. Distance to Portugues synagogoe as well as Nidchei Israel and Tshoat Israel is reasonable. Heating is available. Check for air condition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In Europe I found it very difficult to find hotel rooms for three adults. The Albus had a very large room with a double bed, and a single bed that wasn't a roll-away. It was high up and in the back, so it was quiet, and the view from the balcony was pretty. Nice big bathroom. The staff at the front desk were very helpful recommending places to see, and providing a map. We were allowed to check in early, and they kept our luggage in a secure room when we checked out, so we could see more sights before departing on the night train. The location to the tram was great, but we had a little trouble finding the hotel at first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.