We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for 3” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #74 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mosinee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Room for 3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In Europe I found it very difficult to find hotel rooms for three adults. The Albus had a very large room with a double bed, and a single bed that wasn't a roll-away. It was high up and in the back, so it was quiet, and the view from the balcony was pretty. Nice big bathroom. The staff at the front desk were very helpful recommending places to see, and providing a map. We were allowed to check in early, and they kept our luggage in a secure room when we checked out, so we could see more sights before departing on the night train. The location to the tram was great, but we had a little trouble finding the hotel at first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    284
    92
    31
    18
See reviews for
79
328
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, close to tourist attractions and easily accessible by tram.

The only thing that we didn't like was that we seemed to have a room ("apartment 2") above the shop next door (to the right of the hotel). When we checked in (I had booked a deluxe room), we were shown back out of the hotel, and into a dirty grimey looking doorway next door (and up lots of very steep stairs - with our suitcases!). We were a little worried at this point, but the actual apartment that we were given was great - it had a living area, kitchen, big bathroom with shower, bath, and large sink area - was just a shame that we were only staying there for 2 nights, and we ate out all the time as we were out and about, so the room was a bit wasted on us! It did, however, seem like it was maybe a staff room, as it had a washing machine and tumble dryer in the bathroom! We did figure out eventually that if we came out of the apartment, and went up another flight of stairs, there was a doorway that lead into the actual hotel. I'm not sure why the receptionist didn't take us that way to start with?!

All in all, it was a nice hotel. We did feel a bit cut-off due to our room not being in the actual hotel. We didn't spend much time there anyway though as there was too much to do/see!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Well situated for shops, flower market and just a 15 minute stroll to the fabulous Rijsmuseum. Staff very helpful. Breakfast good. Complementary water, tea and coffee in the room or (the latter) in the lobby. Traffic noise of course (ever heard a quiet tram?). Room high up and at the rear gives a chance of a quieter night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved our stay here last year, stayed for two nights and no complaints.

The rooms were of a great size for European standards, and the beds were extremely comfortable. All staff we encountered went above and beyond and really made us feel welcome. I would reccomend to others.

Location was fantastic... a short walk from both Rembrantplein and Leidseplein, and the trams run directly outside of the hotel which makes for easy access to the entire city.

Enjoyed our stay so much we're planning a return to Amsterdam in January and have already booked our rooms at the Albus :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is alright, but you don't get great value for money in Amsterdam generally. We probably just had a bad experience as we visited during the summer when it was very hot. I'm sure it's a very cosy hotel in the winter. However it's completely in-equipped for the heat - there is no air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows wide open and a fan on. It's on a very noisy street, so we didn't get much sleep. We asked if we could replace the thick duvet on the bed with a sheet, but they didn't have any so we ended up just taking the duvet out and sleeping with the cover.

Saying that it is a clean, modern hotel within walking distance of many of the sights. The bed itself was pretty comfortable and the breakfast was really good. The staff were polite but didn't go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very clean hotel with a great room. The shower head in the bathroom was huge making for the best showers of my entire European trip. The room was clean, and the staff was very attentive, polite and helpful without being intrusive. It's located in a great area not too far from Amsterdam Centraal and is very walkable to the most well known attractions Amsterdam has to offer. Highly recommended and was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at the Albus for 3 nights, our check in was fantastic after a long day of traveling and a missing suitcase it was so refreshing to come into the hotel and be welcomed with so much friendliness and happiness.
The hotel is in great location and it fills very hip and upmarket

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.