We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a mini honeymoon, The whole experience from arrival to departure was fabulous. Our room was absolutely stunning and spotlessly clean. The facilities in the room were fab! The staff in the hotel were really genuine and extremely friendly and made an effort to get to know us. We had a meal on our first night in the hotels restaurant "senses" we opted for the surprise 3 course meal along with wine pairing. The food was absolutely delicious and really different to anything I would have ordered myself, the lady who served us explained each course, and the wine that went with it, all in all a fabulous stay. The hotel bar is so relaxing I could have sat there all day. Every member of staff made our stay really special from the reception team through to the bar and restaurant. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    337
    104
    34
    20
See reviews for
95
379
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Schweiz
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was my 2 Visit to the Albus Amsterdam in the Last 4 years. Furnishing is very Nice but Roms can be very small Depending in room category you book

You get nice Deals on combined High Speed Internet and Pay tv which get charged as Communication Internet Ort something similar - no hassle with your Boss if Company pays expenses

Room Tip: Dont get smallest category- avoid ground Level Floor if you plan sleeping early(Hotel Bar next to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at The Albus Hotel and our stay was just perfect. Already at the reception we got so much information and were very helpful with everything. The impression at the entrance was really good. Our room was also great with an amazing bed, comfortable!, and everything nice and clean.
In the evening we stayed in the hotel for some drinks at the bar and it was all very pleasant. The location is also great, close to everything where we wanted to go.
You might want to use the earplugs at night though, (which are supplied) because Amsterdam is noisy at night. (Saterday night for us) Note to this, we had our windows open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked here using a site that told us our 'secret hotel' was located in an entirely different area and was worth far more money than it really was (avoid booking through Hotwire), so we weren't off to the best start (not the hotels' fault of course). You are on a busy main road near the fairly horrific Rembrandtplein (avoid at night unless you want to participate in a punch-up) but you are right by the shopping district. We were on the 8th floor (top floor) which helped with the traffic noise - if you were any lower and staying on the street side it would be unbearable in summer. This hotel really should offer air con as standard - not really good enough to not have it in a 4 star in my opinion. The lobby smells of sewage - I know many Amsterdam establishments suffer this (suspect it's the constant battle of rising water levels?) but again something needs to be done. The staff are really lovely - but I did wonder why, after leaving our room at midday, our room was not made up. I would expect more. I would also expect to be able to get a bottle of water at any time of night, not to be told we must drink the tap water as it's fine and they can't get us a bottle... I know the water's fine, but I wanted a bottle - why have a coffee machine at reception and not the basics of a bottle of water? No mini-bar btw - but they do leave you with some drinking water in bottles in the room. The Nespresso machine was a nice touch - but they need to leave more creamer! Beds very comfortable but pillows a bit 'high' so I slept without one to save my neck. All fine but could be better.

Room Tip: Request a room not on main road and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it's clean and quite. I was there in July and it was hot. I was shocked to learn that a hotel in this day and age does not have air conditioning. Overall, I recommend it but be prepared if you go in July and it's hot, all the have is a fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom very clean. Good breakfast. Didn't eat in the restaurant.
We'd stay here again but would request a room at the back of the hotel because rooms at the front overlook a very busy main route into the city, including a tram route and it was noisy at night.
We could have done with a bit more storage space for clothes - perhaps a small three drawer chest.
Overall, we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great Hotel with excellent location and super friendly staff. Definitely a pleasant surprise, will for sure stay here again in my next visit.
Design and atmosphere of the hotel adds to a great experience as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.