We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #57 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fun boutique hotel in a good location. It's centrally located and in walking distance to many things. Lots of restaurants and happenings near by. Reception staff is friendly and helpful. Free WiFi, albeit not the fastest. Rooms are comfortable and modern.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    428
    128
    40
    20
See reviews for
121
509
40
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

You couldn't ask for more from this gem of a hotel! It is well located on the tram line to Centraal Station and is well located close to Rembrantplein and the flower market. Lots of great restaurants close by. The rooms are large and comfortable. The wifi is free (although a little slow). The shower is wonderful and the bathroom is unusually large for Amsterdam. The price is exceptionally reasonable. The staff is incredibly helpful. Having a Nespresso machine in the room is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at The Albus. Our group consisted of eleven ladies from England. The location was excellent, everywhere within walking distance and trams and boats close by. The reception staff extremely friendly and informative, the rooms were modern, the beds really comfortable and free use of the safes in our rooms. The bar staff couldn't have been any friendlier, the breakfast was delicious. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if we returned to Amsterdam. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved staying here. We had a room that overlooked Vijzelstraat and so we had a fantastic view of the street. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. From here, we were able to walk to the canal hop on hop off boats as well as the Rijkmuseum. It was only about a 10-15 minute walk. Also, in the same area, you can catch a bus tour to see the windmills, clog making wood shop, and cheese farm in Edam. The receptionists were very nice and informative. We ate both nights at the restaurant right inside the hotel. The prices were very reasonable and the food was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were met by a really friendly trainee who couldn't have been more helpful. We were quickly checked in, and led to our room. The room was at the rear of the hotel and was blissfully quiet compared to the hustle and bustle just outside. The room was very modern with an interactive web TV, safe and coffee machine (take your own teabags though!) It was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room wasn't massive but perfectly adequate and the shower room was a good size. The location of the hotel was perfect for sight-seeing and for the bars we wanted to visit. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here on a whim when visiting Amsterdam for the weekend. Although small, the rooms were very tranquil, clean and modern. The location, for us, was great--there is a lively square around the corner, but the room was still quiet at night. A great flower market was just a few blocks away. We don't mind walking, so a trip to Anne Frank's house by foot one day and the Heineken brewery the other were in order.

The staff was very polite an accommodating!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Albus is very well taken care of. We found our room to be comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel location is very good and easy to get around from on foot. I am a light sleeper and found it to be quiet at night. The staff were all helpful and professional. We did not eat at the restaurant as we found it a bit pricey but there are so many restaurants in the nearby area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.