We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem - great base to explore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #63 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A gem - great base to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We considered the Radisson, Marriot, Hilton, Crowne Plaza etc, but I decided to take a chance with the Albus, an independent hotel. This gamble paid off, as it was a chic and fresh hotel with staff that made you feel very welcome.

Myself and my Fiancé stayed in the Albus for three nights in January and paid 306 euros, as part of their TripAdvisor special. This included things like a free and late check out (14:00). Good to see hotels acknowledging the discerning TA community.

Rooms: we had the City Suite room 505 (at the back of the hotel). This was very spacious and well designed. It consisted of a huge bed, decent bathroom and large sitting area with coffee facilities. You can tell they have just completed a refurbishment.

Location: Literally perfect, 10/10. The Albus is nestled between Rembrandtplein and Leidseplein both of which have a plethora of great shops, bars, eateries, coffee shops and nightclubs. All a million miles away from the tackiness of the red light district. The area has a much more Dutch feel to it.

Staff: The concierge staff were friendly and helpful, they seemed genuinely happy to have a chat to you about the hotel, the local area and life in general. Try finding that in one of the aforementioned chain hotels. The maids and room service were equally professional.

Food: The restaurant looked modern and inviting like the rest of the hotel, but having read the reviews and seen the prices, we opted to eat out every day. So cannot comment on the food quality.

Sleep quality: Perfect again. We slept like logs, better than being at home. The bed was huge, the room was nice and cool (had to open a window one night), it was impressively quiet albeit we were at the back of the hotel.

Issues: Had our welcome drinks taken off of us by an over-zealous bar manager. We ordered two brandies from the friendly barmaid only for her to come over and say that the welcome drink only included wines , beers and soft drinks. Rather than just letting us finish they were taken and poured out and we were subsequently given two glasses of wine. No big deal but bizarre.

WIFI wasn't great, only worked on our tablet, not on our phones.

Anyway, this did not affect our view of the hotel. Not only would we recommend this hotel to friends and family, but we plan to go back and use the Albus as our base again to explore and enjoy Amsterdam.

A real gem, go for it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    277
    88
    28
    17
See reviews for
74
319
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you have a few days in Amsterdam, you would probably not spend a lot of time in your room but Albus makes you want to... Everything's comfortable and chic. Kudos for environmentalist concerns also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is great, the staff very polite, and the nespresso machine in the room was perfect! They also offer free coffee all day long in the reception for all the guests, that is great! We had a room on the 8th floor, great room, nice view, no noise at all, but i'd love to have some bigger windows! will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puertollano, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are very new, comfortable and modern. Very well located (15 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal). Rooms are very well cleaned.
There are free WIFI but at low speed (256 Kb). For higher speeds a fee must be paid.
There are HD TV in the room but no HD free offer !!


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My fiancé and I only arrived home yesterday after spending 2 great nights in Amsterdam staying at the Albus. What a fantastic hotel in a perfect location with the friendliest staff you could ask for :-)

We arrived at 10am and there were rooms available but I had asked for a double bed and high floor so the lady said we could wait until 2pm if we wanted those requests fulfilled - she said the room she had for us was very quiet too which was good. We were happy to leave our bags in the secure luggage room and come back later if it meant getting a better room.

There were free tea, coffee and cold water facilities in reception as well as a well-stocked jar of marshmallows which was a nice touch. The reception area was very clean and pleasant with a modern fire going which was lovely and cosy.

The location of the hotel was perfect, close to all of the main squares and also the main shopping street which you walked through to reach Dam Square. There were plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and everything was very close, including the tram which ran outside of the hotel. We got the train and tram from the airport which was also very easy and it cost half the price of a 40 euro cab - everyone spoke excellent English so asking for help with tickets etc was not a problem.

We arrived back at 1:30pm and were given the key to our room - 801 on the top floor. The room was excellent, as much space as you could need with a bath/shower. It was extremely clean and very warm so we had the windows open for most of the time, despite the snow outside! There was a TV which had a couple of English channels and a Nespresso coffee machine - a bottle of water was also included which is always handy. The room was very quiet, even with the windows open at night so I would recommend a high floor as there is a tram running outside so some may find that noisy as I believe they stop at midnight.

I cannot praise this hotel enough; we will certainly be returning again

Room Tip: We had a high floor which made it extremely quiet at night, even with windows open. Plus there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for your very friendly comments! I will pleasantly share these with our whole team as nice reviews always are a great motivation for them.

We hope to welcome you back in The Albus in the near future for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at The Albus for the first time for 5 nights, it was awesome, clean, great service, great rooms, great food, great location and all for a very reasonable price. I was very satisfied, definetly will stay there next time im in amsterdam. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas. Everything is still pretty new and modern. Had the basement level three bed room, which was fine - it IS small and has only a tiny high window, but it was dark until 9am anyway and we spent most of our time outside so that didnt bother us. The bathroom was fine for three adults to share - two sinks, and a nice big rainfall shower plus a handheld shower head. Beds were comfy, staff were very friendly and helpful, location is great - close to restaurants on Rembrant Square and walking distance to everywhere.

The only thing we didnt like about the room was the lack of a mirror in the main bedroom, as well as an exhaust fan in the bathroom. We also would have appreciated a bar fridge to keep water and milk - there is a nespresso coffee machine in the room which was great, but no fresh milk! Apart from that, the Albus was a great little place to stay for a few nights, would recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor! It is very nice to read that you had a positive experience in one of our basement rooms. They do have exactly the same facilities as all other rooms and are perfect for small groups travelling with two or three.

We will definetly consider your comment about a mirror in the bedroom next to the full lenght mirror we provide in each bathroom, thank you for the tip!

Since we try to be as eco-friendly and sustainable as possible we decided do not keep refridgerators in the rooms that eat up a lot of energy, even when they are not being used. As we totally understand that you like your milk cold and your beers and sodas chilled, we do offer roomservice without an extra delivery fee. I hope you understand our policy and choose to stay at The Albus during your next trip to Amsterdam so we can warmly welcome you again!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.