We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Service in Designer Boutique Hotel in the Heart of AMS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #57 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice Service in Designer Boutique Hotel in the Heart of AMS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Albus Hotel certainly earns it's high ratings. The hotel delivers on the modern design "Boutique" experience. The service is very friendly and at a high level. The desk clerk checked us in and then escorted us to the room on the fifth floor and then presented the room. The room is good sized, quiet, very clean and modern chic. There is an Nespresso maker in the room for those who love coffee and flat screen TV for those who want to watch a lot of TV. The bathroom is very clean (it does not have a bathtub) and good sized for the centre of a European city. The bed was very comfortable with a duvet, down pillows and a pillowed top. We slept very soundly. The location is dead centre of the city. The flower market, Muntplein, the start of the grand canals is just two blocks away. The location can't be beat. The morning breakfast comes with the room and has a plethora of fresh baked goods, full english breakfast, fruit, juices and cold cuts. It was very good. If you are looking for a boutique hotel in the heart of Amsterdam, you cannot go wrong with a stay at the Albus. Pictures look true to form when you arrive.

Room Tip: 506 is a very nice room. Bright, quiet and on a high floor, it got great light and faced the resid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    487
    146
    45
    24
See reviews for
149
591
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Highlights:

+ Amazing central location, all main attractions within walking distance.
+ Extremely friendly and helpful staff. One member looked up things we may like to do in her own time while we were out doing other things.
+ Very comfortable rooms with a vast array of amenities.
+ Noon checkout allows you to get in some last minute sights.

Minor complaints:

- King bed we were in was two singles together.
- Cleaning staff ignored us when we asked and then notified them with the sign that we didn't want our rooms tured down. We had had a few drinks the night before and being constantly bombarded by staff entering the room was annoying to say the least.
- Bathroom was not up to 4 star quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights. Staff was nice and polite. Room was just ok, wasnt impressed. Deffinately not a 4 star hotel's room, but maybe because building itself is old and walls are not sright. Bed was good enough, wasnt like a bouncy castle :) Bathroom was ok, very cold at the times, because the fan was going non stop and was sucking all the heat out. We didnt stay in the room much, just slept in it, so it was ok.
The best thing about the stay was FREE coffee and tea all day long. They had a coffee machine in reception for residents to use whatever they wanted, sometimes we could find a stacks is well!! A cup of coffee to buy is not cheap, so that was big savings for us.
Didnt have breakfast, because we only had 'room only' deal, but to buy a breakfast is 18 or 19 euros per person wich I think its a rip off!! We had breakfasts in the restaurants for maximum of 10euros.
All the fun is happening just around the corner, so it was great. We didnt need to take a tram wich is 2.70e (very expensive). The night life was briliant.
I would recomend this hotel to my friends, but all depends from the price they charge. We paid 280euros for our room for 4 nights, wich was very cheap, but its way more expensive any other time of the year, especialy on a summer time could be 4 times more.

Room Tip: Book not the cheapest room, because it will be tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a very nice modern style hotel ,with a good location to various attractions in Amsterdam ,no more than 10-15 minutes walk to the dam square. Not very noisy street ,perfect for couples or those who likes to go shopping. I had a great new years eve in Albus hotel and i would love to visit the hotel next time i go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had this hotel booked for a work conference by my company, and decided to extend over the weekend to enjoy a rare, romantic city break with Mr. Notkeepingmum.

Pros:

Location, location, location. Minutes from Rembrandt Square, the flower market, cinemas, and a 10 minute stroll through the shopping areas to Dam Square.
Friendly, positive, attentive staff
Immaculately clean
Great lunches served
Atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was warm, modern and welcoming
Room was pretty spacious for a city basic room
Very comfortable bed, generous pillow allocation
Bathroom - shower over bath, plus shower attachment, robes, slippers and a good selection of towels. Anyone who reads Notkeepingmum's reviews knows how much the tiny towels irritate!
Decor lively in this boutique hotel
Nespresso machine at the bedside kept Mr. Notkeepingmum very happy.
Complementary coffee, tea, water and snacks in reception.

Cons:

I imagine parking to be a feat
Breakfast was extra, pricey, and simply not worth it, Notkeepingmum had to eat there for two mornings with work colleagues and found the selection wanting for over 16 euros. There are two fantastic restaurants on the canal amongst the flower market stalls for pancakes.
Rooms not cleaned until 5pm - it was disappointing to have to welcome Mr. Notkeepingmum into an unkempt room for our first evening together
Carpets in the corridors were quite dirty and in need of a Vax
We had no view to speak of - we looked into a gloomy 4x4 courtyard, with air con units, luckily we weren't there to focus on the view.

Would I recommend? Yes I would for sightseers that require a comfortable and easy location, but are happy to slip out for breakfast in a better value location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In an overpriced Amsterdam this is an hotel you are looking for. Located in the centre with all the interesting spots on (nearly) walking distance. Nice, comfortable rooms and a super friendly staff. Real value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The Albus six times in the last five years and over this time the hotel has been refurbished and has transformed into a modern boutique style hotel.
We notice improvements and added extras every year so it now has everything you need in your room to make a comfortable stay including free wifi, use of bathrobes and slippers/flipflops, complimentary bottles of water and toiletries, hair dryer, tv, coffee machine.
The staff were new this time but friendly enough, however it was lovely to see Sofia on duty Xmas morning, she always has a smile and never fails to make anyone feel welcome but the fact that she remembers us as returning customers makes it extra special. We were enjoying ourselfs so much we stayed an extra night!
The location is great, and within walking distance of anywhere you want to go and anything you want to see.
A truly amazing city and a hotel with a "true sense of bliss"
There's something for everyone in Amsterdam whatever you're into!
Thanks again Albus, will be seeing you again in 2013! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#52 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#85 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.