We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms no air con but first class” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #56 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small rooms no air con but first class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very warm in august in hotel really needed air con. And a smoking room would of been perfect great location though and we would defiantly recommend the pizza place next door to the hotel corridors very dark lit but other than that hotel was perfect and we would defiantly come back but at a cooler time of the year

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    465
    142
    41
    22
See reviews for
136
571
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my fiance have just returned home from a 2 night stay at The Albus. We were overall very pleased with this hotel. Location was brilliant and most tourist attractions were within 10mins walk. Just around the corner from clubs, cafes and coffee shops, tram stops just outside and flower market opposite. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, offering to carry our bags (which I thought was very sweet). As we were celebrating my partners birthday and our recent engagement, they immediately made us feel special and even brought a little surprise to our room (wine and chocolate desert) which was delicious! The rooms were cute, modern and very clean. The bed was unbelievably comfortable (too comfortable as I cud have slept the whole holiday away haha). The Rain shower was lovely and the bathroom very clean and modern. The only down side was no aircon but we did have a good fan and with the windows open, it is bearable. Free Wifi and tea/coffee was a nice touch and a bottle of water in the room. Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwetzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I saw the negative reviews but decided to stay here. My wife and I were very happy with the hotel and would plan on staying here again if we go back. The customer service was great, we could not print off our return train tickets so the front desk offered to print them off for us. The one negative, but turned out to be a positive was the breakfast is expensive and we found this amazing hole I the wall breakfast place. Although we did not eat at their resturant for dinner, our next trip we plan to it sounds like it will be amazing!
If you visit Amsterdam consider a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This wonderfull new design Hotel is locaded in the heart of amsterdam. The friendly and realy helpfull staff either at the bar, the restaurant and also at the reception makes your stay like feel at home from the 1st minute. i just can say good things about "The Albus" since i would book again a room there wile i be next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences. It's great to hear that our team has prooved its service skills and passion for hospitality during your stay!

We hope to welcome you back in The Albus soon!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Two main points to be made:
1) The staff at this hotel are so rude and need some basic manners! The majority had such attitude and were very unhelpful.
2) We had a standard double room which was so small that it couldn't even fit a full double bed inside!
Certainly would not recommend this hotel, it's not even a good price!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear guest,

I am sorry that our team has not has been albe to meet your expectations! I am very shocked by your comments, especially because we consider guest service in The Albus as one of our stronger values as you also may read in previous reviews on this website.

Therefore I urgently request you to e-mail me more details about your encounters with our staff on lisa@albushotel.com. We are always trying to improve where possible and in this case it would be very helpfull if you could provide me with some concrete examples to address the concerning staff members and take further actions where needed.

Again, I apoligize for your unpleasaent experience and I hope to get in touch soon!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
lisa@albushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The simple fact the rooms have not A/C makes it a 3-star hotel to say the most.
Also, the beds are the worst I have ever experienced and who suffers from back-ache like myself should be staying well clear of this hotel or your back is going to be in pain for weeks after (and even during) your stay.
The bathroom looked quite old and would have needed to be freshened.

On the plus side;

The service was generally good to be honest, had a room that faced a loud street and was promptly changed upon request. Apart from that the staff were always willing to help and polite.

The breakfast was huge and good (though expensive)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments about our team and our Blissful Breakfast! Service is our main focus in The Albus and I am glad we have met your expectations!

On the other hand I am very sorry to read that you did not like our beds. Maybe this comes as a surprise to you, but most of our guests (including myself) do just love the matrasses which are made from special astronautes foam that forms to your own body shape. We also get a lot of requests from guests who want to purchase our extra big pillows or comfy bed linen!

I hope your back is doing better and I am thankful that you did mention the plus sides of your stay with us as well. And secretly I do hope to welcome you again in The Albus another time, although I am afraid we will keep the current high quality mattrasses for a while.

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I found the Albus on tripadvisor and stayed there. Let me stay the location is great and the hotel is not for older people like me. The hall-ways are dark when you get off the lift. A real modern look. Must have good eyes. Not enough good lighting and counter space in the bathrooms. We had 3 people. We moved from the front of the hotel to the back for 50Euro's more for a suite, it was worth it since the tram is right in font of the hotel. No A/C in the rooms The manager was wonderful and staff in getting us around town, tickets for boat tour. etc, just ask. Again, I want to thank the manager for moving us to the back of the hotel, out of street noise. There are a lot of places for breakfast under 20Euro's around the hotel. Starbucks is just a few short blocks away. Free coffee at the hotel. The rooms were clean and cleaning staff were helpful.. God attitude by all staff. I was there for 3 nights.

Room Tip: No bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear experienced traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor and thank you for your nice comments on our staff. I will proudly forward these to our Front Office Manager Katja.

I must admit that we keep our corridors less lightned to create a sort of mysterious atmosphere. I am sorry that it has been a little to dark for you! Hopefully it will not hold you back from visiting Amsterdam again and enjoy the hospitality of our team in The Albus!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.