We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albus hotel Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
orlando
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Albus hotel Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great hotel, location is perfect for Amsterdam. breakfast was great, staff was helpful and we didn't have any problems. The windows do let in a lot of the noise from the street so if you can't sleep with any noise you might want to get a room that does not face the streets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    361
    111
    35
    20
See reviews for
99
412
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We are a group of 6 people touring some cities in Europe, Amsterdam was one of our best stops and The Hotel Albus was a great choice.The front desk staff was very helpful, always smiling and helpful. Mariska at the reception was extraordinary. Thanks to her and to the other girls our stay was more pleasant. If I am ever in Amsterdam again we will for sure stay there again.We recommend it 100% it is in an excellent location, there is a bike rental around the corner and the boat trip only three blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We won a weekend break on a raffle and chose Amsterdam as it was always somewhere we had wanted to go.

The hotel was picked for us rather than us picking the hotel, but when I looked at it, it looked lovely. We were on room only. We enquired about breakfast, but it was something ridiculous like 19 euros per person per night. We are in a City so thought we would be able to find a cheaper breakfast elsewhere. Shame as if it had been cheaper we would have definitely taken them up.

We loved the location of this hotel. Its right near the shopping part of Amsterdam and near the flower market. You have a number of bars and restaurants all within a stones throw of the hotel which makes it ideal base for seeing the City. We got a train from the airport, then a tram from the central station to just outside the hotel.

We arrived at the hotel for about 11am. We weren't able to check in, as check in was at 2pm, so we left our bags and went to explore.

When we got back to the room at 3.30pm, our room still wasn't ready. I found this strange, considering they knew we were already here and should have been ready from 2pm. We had to wait for 30 minutes, we then chased them up again. After a further 20 minutes we got into our room. The hotel did give us a free drink voucher each. But to be honest 2 and half hours after we should have checked in is not really on.

The room was modern and comfortable, but incredibly small. I know its a city where space is a premium but it was ridiculous, with only a small space all round the bed to get by. The bathroom was equally small, with a shower, basin and toilet, you had to go in move to the side before you could shut the door. The bathroom became very steamed up very quickly due to the size, meaning you had to leave the door open a bit.

For 2 nights for the 2 of us it was fine, but any longer I couldn't have coped. We were literally on top of each other with just no room for anything. The window was dirty and grimy, and headboard of the bed damp. I believe this was due to the window getting so steamed up from the bathroom.

We didn't eat in the hotel at all as it was so expensive and we had more choice outside. The hotel is very modern and funky but there is just no space anywhere, even the bar only has about 6 seats.

I have marked this as very good and 4 stars but only due to the fact it was free, and the location is so amazing for what we wanted to see and do. I do think however, if staying here then the rooms are over rated and overly expensive.

Any longer than 2 nights, than look over the road at the NH Carlton. Same location but probably more space. You have to really like the person your with as you will see a lot of them!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hello precious guest!

Thank you for leaving your honest review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you really liked the style and location of The Albus!

I am very sorry to read that your check in time was delayed, this is certainly not our standard. Check in time is indeed from 2 PM, but we love to check in our arriving guests before 2 if we have free rooms. In your case we did not live up to made promises and I sincerely apoligize for that.

About the roomsize, I would like to advise you abour our room types which are more spacious: Splendid City Rooms, Superb City Rooms and the Stunning City Suites. The room that you have chosen during your last stay, is a Smart City Room. This roomtypes offers the same comfort and facilities but less space (18-22 square meters).

Our Blissful Breakfast buffet in Senses restaurant costs € 14,25 per person. We offer a continental breakfast with mainly organic, local and daily fresh food products and drinks. I am sorry that you have been informed differently about this price and hope that you have the chance to try our Blissful Breakfast another time!

Please e-mail me directly on lisa@albushotel.com when you are planning your next trip to Amsterdam so I can personally assist you with your booking and make sure you will get a great room!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I book this hotel often for business purposes, but the arty, cosy atmosphere plus location in the middle of the city centre is great for a citytrip for couples or friends. Staff is really professional and always helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting amsterdam, without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Overall, we were quite happy with The Albus.

The service we received from the staff was excellent. They made us feel very welcome and always acknowledged us whenever we were coming or going.

The room was quite small, however that is to be expected in most European hotels. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings were very modern. However, we did have some concerns with the room. First of all, there is no air conditioning and it was extremely hot during our stay. Our room faced the very busy street, so sleeping with the window open was extremely loud. Luckily the hotel provides fans, so that provided some relief.

The location was very good. There are several tram stops nearby and Rembrandt Square is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. All of the main sites are within a 20-25 minute walk of the hotel.

The breakfast was quite expensive, so we opted for getting our own breakfast food from the various nearby convenience stores, and eating in Rembrandt Square .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Reason for positive experience:
- clean hotel and room
- central position in AMS

Reason why it is not worth a four stars hotel:
- no gym
- no complimentary bottle of water after the first night (reception staff recommends to drink tap water instead!).
- light choice at breakfast (not worth its price)
- very small rooms (tiny one must say)
- friendly but slow check-in
- inconsistent service (some staff are nice, others are rude).

Conclusion: might come back if I get a good bargain (say 110 Euros/nite max all taxes included; we paid 180 Euros per nite for this stay!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hello valuable guest!

Thank you for your honest review on Tripadvisor! Hopefully I can persuade you to return to The Albus on your next trip to Amsterdam due to the following comments:

We do not have a gym, but we do offer discounted day passes for the Health City gym which is located just around the corner (Amstelstraat 22). A day pass from our reception costs only € 12,50 instead of € 17,50 at the gym.

We just decided to replenisch the Albus water bottles in the rooms every due to the upcoming summer months. Luckily we also have the best tap water in Amsterdam as well, which is very drinkable! We have also decided to cancel our additional room service fee so you can have any other cool and refreshing drink (or food) brought up to your room for its regular price as well!

Our Blissful Breakfast buffet offers a continental choice of mostly organic and daily fresh ingredients at the costs of € 14,25 per person. We have consiously chosen for a smaller choise, but all high quality and healthy food products and drinks.

We offer different room types with the same facilities, but variable in space. Please notice that the Smart City Rooms are smaller (18-22 m) and the Splendid City Rooms are larger (22-24 m).
If you reaaly want to indulge, we also have Stunning City Suites of 32 square meters!

Our website albushotel.com always guarantees the best available rates, so make sure you make your booking here or just e-mail me directly on lisa@albushotel so I can personally assist you to plan your next visit!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very nice design, I really liked how it looked inside! My room was very bright and extra plus for the nespresso machine in the room and the free water bottle upon arrival. Location is excellent, close to a tram stop and withing walking distance from Rembrandt square (took around 15-20 minutes to slowly stroll to the hotel from central station).

Service was great. Very friendly in every way from checking in, to the receptionist showing the room, helpful in advising on restaurants close by etc. Also nice to get a secret surprise delivered to your room.

Breakfast was really good although it was small and a bit crowded in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.