We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #61 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Booked this hotel last minute and didnt really know much about it, just wanted a hotel close to the city centre. I was very pleasantly surprised when we got there and saw the beautiful interiors in the reception area and the restaurant. The staff were also extremely helpful and polite. We had one of the standard double rooms, it was bright and modern with a coffee machine (great for two coffee lovers) and complimentary water. We had a lovely little balcony which was a great little extra to the room. The bathroom was lovely and spacious, very clean with a huge shower. The room was extremely comfortable and we both really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were more than helpful and the location is perfect, just a couple of minutes walk and you're right in the city centre. All in all a great little hotel, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    277
    84
    26
    17
See reviews for
69
311
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Just checked out of the Albus, and have to say it exceeded my expectations. Location is central, and the hotel is surprisingly smart, with a cosy wine bar in the reception, spotless new rooms and huge rain showers in the bathrooms. Ours was a small room on the back of the 4th floor and was very quiet at night. Staff were helpful, and they have booklets with staff recommendations of what to see and do in Amsterdam that were really personal. There is a bike rental shop just around the corner on Reguliersdwarsstraat, or alternatively you can walk everywhere from here. For the very reasonable price (booked with BA avios points) I was expecting something a lot more basic, so was pleasantly surprised to find it was cosy, comfortable, smart and ideal for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is an excellent choice if you come to Amsterdam - all the main attractions are walkable or a short tram ride away.

The rooms are very comfortable (the bed especially!) and have flat-screen tvs.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, they even managed to sort us out with a pizza at 4.30am when everywhere else was closed.

I'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you like a great contempory hotel in Amsterdam at amazing value for money this is the one for you. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and this is one of our top stays.

Main pro, excellent reception staff.
Main con, no air con' for summer months.

There if fine dining at the hotel again excellent food but service could have been a bit more attentive as staff were also running the hotel bar.

Location is great easy walking to all sights or tram stops on same road for easy travel
Around the city.

Overall. A top stay in a lovely city would recommend.

Room Tip: If window left open can be noisy, but remember your in a city! Or ask for a room off road. If walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a friend on a leisurely visit to Amsterdam. The hotel appears to be newly refurbished. Rooms are Nice, contemporary, clean but the smart city room is a little on the small side, but that did not bother me. On arrival we checked in as normal. The next day, we were out for the day and on return our room key was blocked. The receptionist then informed us that we have not paid the city tax so the key was blocked. We told the receptionist that we were not aware of any tax. However, they asked for 5 per cent of the room rate so we setteled the bill and we were advised that there would not be any further charges. The next day the same thing happened which was at this point very frustrating!!! We complained That we should have been advised of this on arrival and shouldn't be harassed during our stay! Then to top it up, on the last night of our stay the receptionist called our room at 9:30pm asking for 100 Euros for deposit for the room! At this point I was very angry as we were checking out in the morning and the hotel should have sorted all charges and deposits on arrival not when you are getting ready to leave and have spent your last Euros!!! But overall not a bad stay. I would recommend the hotel but beware of these charges.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending The Albus to the visitors of Tripadvisor!

And of course I would like to apoligize to you for what happened to you regarding your deposit. We do require either a €50 cash deposit (per person) or a credit card guarantee for incidentals during your stay. According to the standard procedures we naturally take care of this upon your check in. I am so sorry that we missed out on this one and made the situation rather inconvenient for you!

We hope you still would like to return to The Albus on your next visit to Amsterdam so that we can provide you with a true sense of bliss during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Lovely modern hotel very close to all of the key sites. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed in a city room overlooking the main street and tram line, despite this we had a great night’s sleep and the noise of the tram was barely an issue. (I didn’t need the earplugs).
I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

"The Albus is a well-kept secret, known only by the more experienced and demanding travellers"
Come on ! Let's say it straight:
- super noisy (the "night kit" we found in our room was a bad sign). If your room is on the street side, you'd betternhave a very strong sleep. The Tram is almost passing by your pillow!
- Internet is not wireless everywhere and is not free of charge. 12eur for 24hrs...is this a joke?
- booking in advance is not giving you the best price. I booked two months in advance, got one lf the worst room and could have paid 15% less if I had booked 4 hours before travelling to Amsterdam
- on that week-end, horrible painting smell on our floor. Reception desk said: "oh really ? Surprising, there was no recent work here. we have to check if anyone is not doing painting in their room" (second joke of the day)
- breakfast certainly does NOT worth 19 euros. We randomly headed to a small charming place for breakfast called "Gartine", that was undoubtedly a better choice than this very standard breakfast buffet that we had the first day at the Albus.

Bottom line, the marketing words are way over estimated. I won't come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Ggpublic,

It's a pity to hear you did not have a pleasant stay at The Albus!

Last week we have been completely restyling (including painting) our apartments in the building next to The Albus. We were not aware that the smell was so strong that the hotelrooms nextdoor were bothered and I feel very sorry for that!

The noise problem is unfortunately unavoidable in a city centre hotel. We try to anticipate on this by leaving "silent night kits" in the room so our guests still can have sweet dreams. For extremely light sleepers we also offer rooms in the back of the hotel which are nice and quiet.

We are currently working on free wifi internet as we recognize that this is a real must for most travellers these days. Highspeed internet is indeed chargable, all further conditions concerning our internet facilities are clearly explained on our website.

Again, I am sorry to read all your negative comments and I do hope you will have a better time during your next visit to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.