We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Amsterdam - a perfect stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #56 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
sukhysingh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Amsterdam - a perfect stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel two days ago and it was incredible. from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, the staff at this hotel will accomdate you anytime they can. As my wife and I were celebrating a special occassion, they even threw in a minature bottle of champagne and personalised greeting. The hotel rooms aren't the biggest in the dam, but they're absoultely top quality and the shower is lovely. If you can get a room with a balcony, it certainly adds the wow factor too! Location wise, it's less than a three minute walk from Rembrandtplein, about 15 mins to the Red Light District and about 12 minutes to Dam Square. Overall, a brilliant hotel and definetly one to stay at if you're Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    447
    135
    41
    21
See reviews for
129
543
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

the location of this hotel is what I love the most, its near most of sightseeing spots, you can walk to a lot of restaurants/bars, the flower market and the shopping street is 2 minutes away too. there are two convenient stores nearby you can buy food and drinks etc, Mcdonalds is right next to it--perfect for wifi coz the hotel rate for internet is quite expensive.

the room (standard room) is nice and modern too, all the furniture are new and modern, big flat screen TV with many TV/radio channels. coffee maker is nice too. however, the room we stayed, the space between TV and bed can only allow 1 person to pass each time, so caused a bit traffic sometime.

there is safe in the closet, a big safe enough to put laptop and most valuable belongs in it, with a power socket on the door-but it doesn't work.

the bathroom and shower is big, interesting style but big.

it will be great if there is fridge in the room, even a mini one.

the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, they are so busy though! they have to do a lot things, check in/out, answer phone inquery, also act as the concierge. maybe they should consider have 1 person as the concierge.

there is a restaurant in the ground floor which seems quite nice too, but we didnt try this time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I spent several hours over a 2 week period looking at hotels before choosing the Albus. It was a combination of the location, the claims of a comfortable bed and the in room expresso machine that won me over.
It was the staff and the cozyness of the place that I fell in love with once I arrived. The lobby and coctail bar are a combined room and lead into the small dining area that is the Senses restaurant. The restaurant has its own intrance and is good enought to have a customer base that is not made up of hotel guests. It is pricey and the resident chef changes the multi-course special nightly. The one dinner we ate there was awesome.
The bed was as advertised and we slept well every night. The curtains are very dark making it easy to sleep late in the morning.(no alarm clock in the room). The bathroom has a switchable outlet for 110V and 220V devices. The shower head is huge and takes some getting used to. There is also a smaller sprayer attached to the tub spout and a retractable wire for hanging cloths. (came in handy the one night we got rained on). The expresso machine was stocked to make 4 cups each day.
The staff is what really makes this hotel. From the time we arrived till we walked out the door to leave I felt welcome. All request were met with polite enthusiasm and all of them were fulfilled.
Some side notes. there is a small grocery store just south of the hotel and an electronics store just north on the same street. The train station is a 25 min walk from the hotel(if you dont make any wrong turns) We walked from the train station to the hotel when we arrived and took the shuttle on the return trip to the airport.
If you like to walk this is the perfect Hotel to see Amsterdam from!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Spacious room, comfortable bed, great coffee and conveniently located. However needs a second lift and larger dining area, common areas are a bit small and can get quite busy.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Having stayed in the Albus for two months while relocating with work, I found the hotel dirty and the staff were rude. As my room had no safe, I left my valuables in bags and put away. Still someone in the hotel managed to steal a bracelet and also when my husband stayed for a weekend, somebody with access to the room went through his belongings and took his ipod.
Other then the fact thieves clearly have access to the rooms,ever other night I was woken with the fire alarm going off by people smoking in their rooms.

This hotel was small, dirty, people who work their steal..... overall an horrendous place to stay.

Many of my colleagues in the same situation had terrible things to stay, to the point that people refused to use this hotel.

I would not recommend to my worst enemy!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We have read your comments. We thanks a guest when they taken the time to report their experience, negative and positive and react on most reviews. Reporting untruth experience is not right and unethical.
Who wants to stay in a hotel that is dirty, you don’t feel save and using your words “is a horrendous place to stay “ and that for 2 months?
We have no records of a guest staying for two months in our hotel, theft of a bracelet and ipod, staff that are going through guest belongings etc. In every room is a safe, on the ground floor we have extra safes, we have vingt card security locks, state of art security camera system and we are not a dirty hotel. On cleanliness we are rated at tripadvisor above 85%. We have a direct line to the firebrigade. If the alarm was going off every other night the fire brigade had closed the hotel months ago. Contact us directly so we can take legal action on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Impressive: lobby,very polite and helpfull stuff.Very comfortable pillows!!
Bad bids:Unfortunatelly room is way too small.No airconditioning and our room was facing main street(party all night)..It was very hymid(had some fan,which wasnt didnt help) in the room and because no aircondition window had to be kept open all night.
No ketle in the room(only coffee machine),no spons..All this was supplied on request ,but for 4 star hotel this should be in the room without even mentioning...
We will look for alternative next time!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The room is rather small but nicely furnished. I slept on de 1st floor at the front, so there was quite some street noise. It a pity that the hotel does not offer free internet (wifi).
Breakfast coffee is lovely but the choice of breakfast hams and cheeses is not very big.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, General Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We have several type of rooms and different in size. The Smart City rooms are our smallest rooms (18-22 m2) but the splendid are bigger in size. Please reffer to this roomtype the next time you make a reservation with us. The coffeemaker is a nespresso with top quality coffee. For those who preffer tea we can bring up a kettle and a choice out of different tea's

Taco van der Meer
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.