We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Citadel to your Saves list
Hotel Citadel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrive early morning and had no problem storing our bags until check in time which was at 12 noon seems the room was already available. No air conditioning but with all honesty it was not needed and was mid July the hotel gave us a little fan that did the job just fine. Our room was directly to the Main Street so there was noise but we were more than happy with the view. Breakfast was descent with great coffee. The front desk lady was so nice and attentive. 10 minute walk from central station. The room and bathroom were very clean, small but clean with nice decor. Restaurants are close and main attractions within walking distance. We do recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    220
    88
    33
    16
See reviews for
40
158
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Pros :-
Near to the central station. Hardly 10 minutes walk
Next to the fist tram stop
Dam Square and RLD are 10 minutes walk either way
For indian travellers - there are a couple of Indian resturants nearby. Not more than 3 minutes walk.
Staff is very courteous and helpful
Clean room and regular house keping

Cons:-
- I got a triple room as I travelled with my wife and kid. It was very compact on that measure and concidering the price that I paid for 2 nights stay
- Breakfast is just OK. not too many choices
- TV had all the channels in Dutch except for BBC and CNN but it was promised (via a booking portal) that it has international channels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The location of Hotel Citadel couldn't be better with it less than a 10 minute walk away from Amsterdam Central station.

Myself and my partner checked in later than expected but the hotel was very accommodating to my requested special requirements as I proposed to my partner earlier in the day. I asked them to scatter tulip petals on the bed and they even threw in a bottle of wine.

The room is a good size and the bed was very comfy. The hotel is on a main road so it was quite noisy but nothing to keep us awake after a long tiring day.

The continental breakfast was better than expected, with a good choice of pastries, breads and cereals. The only bad point of the hotel is the non-existent Wi-Fi in the rooms. You have to go downstairs to reception to get any signal.

Overall great hotel for a one night or weekend stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Hotel is very nice, great location,
Small room, but more tham fine for 2.
very close to trams 1,2,5 that covers the all city , less than 2 minutes walk to the dam square and 5 minutes walk or one stop on trams 1,2,5 from the front of the central station.
The bed mattress was terrible in room 36.
very Clean bathroom, Great shower!!
Very nice breakfast, very helpful front desk stuff
We were in a very quiet back room.
The only missing thing that I can think of is air-condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Sometimes your luck just runs out. We picked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and the suggestion of our Travel Agent. It was centrally located close to all amenities and sights. Our room faced the main street with trams running every few minutes, but it did not affect us at all.
Upon entering the hotel and down a flight of stairs carrying heavy bags, we were greeted by a very nicely put together front desk and breakfast room. Our first impressions were, "hey, this should be ok for 8 nights". Wrong!!!!! A two person elevator took us up to the room. What a disappointment.
Small, uncomfortable, hot, (no A/c) and a musty smell. Checking out the room we thought the housekeeping was a bit suspect, but decided as we had paid for the 8 days in advance and this were very busy times, we would make lemonade from the lemon. The front desk staff were absolutely the best. Getting housekeeping to redo the room. They kept us going and bent over to help get over the shock. Gave us a fan, but the weather turned cool and wet so no problem there. We had to change rooms as there was some liquid coming from the back of the toilet that was staining the floor and we were a little concerned about our health. No problems this was done immediately.
No amenities, no kleenex in the room and had to ask for a bath mat on a couple of occasions. Ice was virtually none existent. The breakfast was ok and enough to keep us fuelled till lunch.

We certainly would not ever recumbent this hotel and would downgrade the star rating to ONE.

Room Tip: don't book this hotel. Be very careful booking 3 star hotels in Amsterdam most are only one sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Though the room was small and at times difficult to manouver with my husband and our luggage, it was clean and had charming character. We especially liked the large windows which we could open for fresh air and to admire the views. The location was perfect and we were spoilt for choice on restaurant options. We were also within walking distance to convenient stores, Amsterdam Centrall, the Red Light District and Rijksmuseum (among many others). Our only dislike were the beds as they were quite small.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Citadel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.