We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam/hotel citadel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Citadel to your Saves list
Hotel Citadel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    182
    77
    27
    16
See reviews for
32
138
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The location of Hotel Citadel couldn't be better with it less than a 10 minute walk away from Amsterdam Central station.

Myself and my partner checked in later than expected but the hotel was very accommodating to my requested special requirements as I proposed to my partner earlier in the day. I asked them to scatter tulip petals on the bed and they even threw in a bottle of wine.

The room is a good size and the bed was very comfy. The hotel is on a main road so it was quite noisy but nothing to keep us awake after a long tiring day.

The continental breakfast was better than expected, with a good choice of pastries, breads and cereals. The only bad point of the hotel is the non-existent Wi-Fi in the rooms. You have to go downstairs to reception to get any signal.

Overall great hotel for a one night or weekend stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Hotel is very nice, great location,
Small room, but more tham fine for 2.
very close to trams 1,2,5 that covers the all city , less than 2 minutes walk to the dam square and 5 minutes walk or one stop on trams 1,2,5 from the front of the central station.
The bed mattress was terrible in room 36.
very Clean bathroom, Great shower!!
Very nice breakfast, very helpful front desk stuff
We were in a very quiet back room.
The only missing thing that I can think of is air-condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Sometimes your luck just runs out. We picked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and the suggestion of our Travel Agent. It was centrally located close to all amenities and sights. Our room faced the main street with trams running every few minutes, but it did not affect us at all.
Upon entering the hotel and down a flight of stairs carrying heavy bags, we were greeted by a very nicely put together front desk and breakfast room. Our first impressions were, "hey, this should be ok for 8 nights". Wrong!!!!! A two person elevator took us up to the room. What a disappointment.
Small, uncomfortable, hot, (no A/c) and a musty smell. Checking out the room we thought the housekeeping was a bit suspect, but decided as we had paid for the 8 days in advance and this were very busy times, we would make lemonade from the lemon. The front desk staff were absolutely the best. Getting housekeeping to redo the room. They kept us going and bent over to help get over the shock. Gave us a fan, but the weather turned cool and wet so no problem there. We had to change rooms as there was some liquid coming from the back of the toilet that was staining the floor and we were a little concerned about our health. No problems this was done immediately.
No amenities, no kleenex in the room and had to ask for a bath mat on a couple of occasions. Ice was virtually none existent. The breakfast was ok and enough to keep us fuelled till lunch.

We certainly would not ever recumbent this hotel and would downgrade the star rating to ONE.

Room Tip: don't book this hotel. Be very careful booking 3 star hotels in Amsterdam most are only one sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Though the room was small and at times difficult to manouver with my husband and our luggage, it was clean and had charming character. We especially liked the large windows which we could open for fresh air and to admire the views. The location was perfect and we were spoilt for choice on restaurant options. We were also within walking distance to convenient stores, Amsterdam Centrall, the Red Light District and Rijksmuseum (among many others). Our only dislike were the beds as they were quite small.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Triple room, quite small, but suited us 3 girls.
Hotel was in a great location for visiting all the regular touristy things. 10 mins walk max from the station. We went via the train to Amserdam Central from Airport.
Breakfast good.
Facilities good.
Overall, very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I visited this hotel recently, paid quite much even for the centre of Amsterdam and hoped for a quiet room. What I got was a tiny store-room like area painted in lila and dark brown, claustrofobic because the room was very dark, lighting very poor and especially as the window opened to the service-area in the basement, with dirty laundry as my only view and people working c. 20 cm from the "window". There was a shower in the corner of the toilet but nothing else - and everything was in an original state (seventies, I guess). The bed was clean; the breakfast was typical for tourist hotels with "juice" made of coloured water, it seemed. Although this hotel is easy to reach, I do not recommend it for anyone - not for the price of a three star hotel! PS I found a pair of dirty socks under my bed, covered in dust...

Room Tip: Do not ask for a quiet room! Do not travel alone - single travellers are not treated well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Citadel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.