We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Citadel to your Saves list
Hotel Citadel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 1 night before cruise. Had a room on the top floor looking over the street. Very comfortable and big windows letting in lots of air. Kept windows open all night letting in lots of warm air. Staff could be friendlier and breakfast OK but could be better quality. Beware: order your own taxi as we paid 20euros to go to passenger terminal - a 5 minute drive. They appear to call a private company and seem to know them well. Next time we will walk!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    153
    64
    24
    15
See reviews for
28
118
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we had booked a non-smoking room, however the room stank of smoke, and the hotel was fully booked, so we couldn't change rooms. A lot of noise from the street and no air-conditioning. At each breakfast, some of the food had ran out and nothing more came during the time we ate. Staff not very helpful/friendly. OK location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I needed to stay in Amsterdam overnight between business meetings and found an inexpensive option in the city center of Amsterdam: Hotel Citadel. A very spartan single room on the fifth floor with a very strong shower, good pillows and bed. Nice view of the Nieuwe Kerk and the Palace. Plenty of sounds of Amsterdam to lull you to sleep, if you keep the window open. The hotel is right in the center of the city, easy to get everywhere.

There was continental breakfast included (but I had to be out early, so missed it). The personnel was very helpful, they locked up my laptop when I was out (the small jewelry safe in the room as too small). Speaking both English and Dutch, they can point you to local attractions, answer questions about Amsterdam and beyond.

Please know this is not a 5-star hotel. It is spartan, but it not a flophouse either. This is a good practical place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and took a single room looking over the city center. Keeping the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Small room & very dark , staff very friendly, only caned drinks at the bar.if your going to Anne franks get your tickets on line before you go, you then jump the que. Excellent Chinese turn left out of hotel and about 500 yards on same side of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Citadel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.