We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Trip Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Citadel to your Saves list
Hotel Citadel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Overpelt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“City Trip Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel Citadel is the perfect hotel for a young couple to visit the city.
It's near the trainstation and it's also located near lots of fun places to visit like Madame Tussauds and the Anne Frank house.
The receptionists are always (24/24) ready to help even before and after you've checked in.

PS: There is a very cozy restaurant you must visit, it's located in the same street as Hotel Citadel and it's named Gauchos.
The perfect closing of a romantic vacation!

Simon en Evelien

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    166
    70
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
124
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean, warm, smartly decorated small hotel, with the friendliest staff; a perfect place to stay on a wet winter night. Rooms at the front (eg.45) have the authentic Amsterdam street noises, use silicon earplugs and they disappear, but I like listening to the bells on trams. Rooms at the back (eg.46) are darker and overlook buildings, but are quiet. The bathroom held a welcome surprise- a bath as well as a shower, and a shower cap among the complimentary toiletries. Another review mentions the strange, sweet, orange juice and that is the only flaw in the lovely selection of breakfast drinks and food. I will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in February, and it was very nice! It's a small, tall, boutique hotel that had reasonable rates and was an easy 10 minute walk from the Centraal Station, just past the tram stop. The hotel staff were very pleasant, the hotel was clean and decorated with animals or old movie stars. We stayed on the 5th floor in a small twin room, typical of european size. Our room in the back didn't afford much of a view, but it was fairly quiet. We could hear others on our floor, but it didn't seem like the hotel was that busy this weekend. There's a slow elevator, but a great convenience since the stairs are steep!

Breakfast is a nice spread--meats, cheeses, tea and coffee. It did get pretty busy after 9, and a few groups had to wait for a table. I agree with another reviewer to avoid the orange juice.

They do charge for wi-fi which was of mixed reliability through the hotel. It's not ridiculous, a few euro for a few hours, and you don't need to use the time consecutively. I got 2 hours of wifi time that allowed me to check email over the weekend--perfect for a vacation. But, it would have been inconvenient if I planned to work from the hotel since the internet was somewhat slow.

Would return! Great value for a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room on a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Very good Service and attention. The rooms are very Nice too. The bathroom is very clean, and it has a good heat system, wich is very importante If you come un winter. So the location is Hot, incluso the center of amsterdam . The only con that i saw is that they charge you for the wifi. And it aint cheap! XXI Century, People!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, really up to standards, especially for Amsterdam. Staff is helpful, hospitable and very friendly. Also they are correct. Room was exactly what you would expect from a 3 star hotel, massive flat screen tv, comfy bed and a clean bathroom. I asked for a quiet room, please note that those dont have any view. The only point of attention I could think of is some more bright light in the room. As the window did not let a lot of light through, it felt a bit dark.

Concerning the breakfast, everything was proper, continental, fresh. The only thing here would be to avoid the orange juice; it tastes like the powder drink.

Other than that I would greatly recommend this property to anyone who wants a nice, cosy, safe and central place to stay in Amsterdam. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is situated very close to the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms are excellent, clean and very well presented. The staff are friendly and very willing to help. The breakfast was very good, but plently of cafes close if you prefer sonething more. Very strongly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Citadel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.