We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good in the hood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa 400 to your Saves list
Hotel Casa 400
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“All good in the hood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

As other have said, it's a little off the beaten path. But totally worth it, and you have easy access to downtown. It's a 2 minute walk from Amstel train station, which has trains running to Centraal every other 15 minutes or so. There's also buses, but I personally chose to walk to the city center every day. That took about 30 minutes. The building itself is very modern, newly built, and it shows. There's hundred's of rooms so don't expect a huge apartment, I should guess. My single room was small but sufficient. Breakfast was more than filling - buffet style. Overall, I would say my stay here was money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    677
    116
    31
    18
See reviews for
84
554
75
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Pretty cheap hotel near Amstelstation 15/20 minutes from central amsterdam. Clean and new feeling, would be nice to have breakfast included as standard

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for the weekend for his 30th birthday. I booked the hotel the night before our flight on lastmin and got it for £40 per night, exceptional value. T

The hotel is a 2 min walk from Amstel station, there you can get the metro straight to central station (4 stops). The public transport is excellent we paid 20 euros for a 72hr travelcard, which you can use for everything, train, tram, metro and buses.

The hotel is brand new, very clean and comfortable. The bed was so comfomy. The shower was really good too. Tea and coffee facility, hairdryer, mini fridge, safe, flat screen tv. It's got everything you need and it really didn't matter not being in the centre, intact I wouldn't have wanted to stay right in the hustle and bustle of it. It litterally took 15 mins to get into town.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, families, couples it was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Its a little off the beaten path but so worth it!!! You don't get all the crazy city noise and is a five minute walk from the metro that will connect you to all over Amsterdam!! And the Metro Runs very late if you are night owl like us! The staff was very friendly. The only downfall is that it is a little ways from the tourist areas of Amsterdam so you have to prepare for that, but its not that bad! Worth the stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvugts, General Manager at Hotel Casa 400, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedabck, we are very happy that you have chosen Hotel Casa 400 for your stay in Amsterdam, We hope to see you again in the near future and thank you for posting your experiences on Tripadvisor ,

Kind regards,

Hans Vugts
General Manager
Hotel Casa 400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is a very modern hotel, with large and clean rooms. A man in metro station gave us a paper with all the directions to come here ( made by the hotel), so, it was very easy to get there. Perfect quality-price.
Good work, Hotel Casa-400. I would only recomend a cheapest option of the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

OK seriously, price-wise, this hotel is perfect. I was in awe when I walked into the room after 5 weeks spent in hostels. At the reception, the lady told us EVERYTHING we needed to know. AND WE DIDN'T EVEN ASK! She told us every tram line, every bus, everything we absolutely needed to know. Also we can rent bikes which is a must in amsterdam. The location is perfect! Just besides the train station! Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I know where to go!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvugts, General Manager at Hotel Casa 400, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Dear Madame, thank you very much for your feedback ! We will pas on your compliments to the team of Casa 400, As a General Manager it is always helpfull to know that the Staff has provided the service a hotelguest expects and according to you they did well ! Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind regards, Hans Vugts General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend break in Amsterdam and we thought it was fine. We were looking to stay in a hostel but left it too late to get anything in the centre of town for less that $50 each a night so we decided to look at hotel prices and saw a good discount for a last minute stay here.
The rooms were a lot nicer than anything we would have got from a hostel - basic but clean and nicely set out and new feeling with tea and coffee facilities. I didn't find the hotel noisy at all. It is not difficult to find if you print off a map or directions before you come and get the metro or train to Amstel station.
We decided to hire bikes from the hotel and this was the best desicion we made - cycling in Amsterdam is an amazing experience (especially when you are used to UK cities) and being in a hotel a bit far out (about 5 minutes on the bikes) was the perfect excuse to cycle. The cycle hire is a little expensive by Amsterdam standards but the convenience and underground storage at the hotel make up for this.
On the Saturday night one of our bikes broke and when we got back to the hotel (at about 2am) we thought we should tell someone on reception - this man was extremely unhelpful!!! We decided he wasn't worth trying to talk to and we'd to sort it out in the morning. The next morning we spoke to a lady who was also very unhelpful (and quite rude!) but we asked to talk to someone else and the next lady we talked to couldn't help us enough - she sorted everything out for us and gave us a good discount on the bike hire (the lady we previously talked to had told us that we wouldn't get any money off and that we would have to pay a lot of money if the bike was broken!).
I would stay here again - the cycling into and out of town again made us feel like locals and we saw a lot more of the city than we would have done on foot. Most of the staff we dealt with were very helpful but unfortunately there are a couple of staff members that are unhelpful and rude.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvugts, General Manager at Hotel Casa 400, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback, wehave spoken to the staffmembers about this issue and will make sure this won't happen again, We are very sorry that though your stay was overall a good one , a few of our staffmenbers were not friendly to you at all, we have spoken to them and they were ashmed for their behaviour.
Please do stay with us again and let me know, we will make it up to you
Kind regards,

Hans Vugts General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 400 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 400, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.