We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa 400 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Casa 400
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, Amsterdam 1097BC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
DEVON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very convenient and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

This was the perfect hotel for what we required.. rooms are very basic but clean and although its near a main road you cannot hear it. The breakfast was pleasent, we did not eat dinner at the hotel, we ate out in the city centre each night. (please note if you eat out it is very expensive i.e. pint of beer 5 euros and a chicken tikka 19 euros without the rice or and extras!) Excellent very friendly staff, as soon as we arrived the gentleman on the front desk answered all our questions and advised us how to get back to the town centre. The metro station, train and tram are a 2 minute walk from the hotel which is great. The city centre is 3 stops on the metro about 5 mins. Although i would not advise to walk to the town centre from the hotel, it would probably take about 55 mins and everywhere looks the same, the maps make amsterdam look smaller than it is! The trams are reasonably cheap and sometimes they didnt make us pay, they let us get on as it was late at night. We fealt very safe walking around late at night. Although you have got the 2 main attractions (red light and cafes) its also worth taking a trip to the -8oc cafe where everything is made of ice and anne franks house is very interesting to, also the torture museam. There are some amazing shops if you go further out of the main centre, quite expensive though. BUT YES i would reccomend this hotel, its very cheap and reasonable, we were a group of 21-25 yr olds and it was just right for us. I would advice to get a taxi from the train station to the hotel if you dont feal comfortable getting a metro as its quite difficult to find unless you know where your going, its tucked away, will cost about 15 euros. But you can get the metro from central to station amstel and the hotel is 2 mins walk from there. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    579
    107
    36
    18
See reviews for
63
434
62
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devonian
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

My elderly mother and I stayed there. The visit was unfortunately interrupted by her having an accident and breaking her shoulder in Amsterdam. On returning to the hotel from hospital, the staff were exceedingly helpful and couldn't do enough to make our situation as comfortable as possible until our return to the UK. The room however was basic and needed updating and redecorating. The location was alright for us as we could easily get to the station to go to Amsterdam Central. But I must emphsasise again the staff were excellent and provided top service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We thought that the train station (Amstel) was the central station so made an error by getting the train there and spent more on a taxi but once we got there we were given a free map by the staff which we constantly used throughout our 3 day stay. The room was very basic and dated but it was clean and tidy so it was fine for what we needed. I was worried about the security of our things at first as the staff wanted us to leave our room key in a dish on the front desk when we went out and the lock in the closet was very loose and didn't stop the door from being pulled open so we had to stick some card in the side of it which did the trick. There were some safety deposit boxes which we noticed afterwards but they were not in the best condition and were located at the entrance which I felt were too close to the street for my liking and didn't fancy the idea of accessing my valueables around such public places.
The actual area surrounding casa 400 seemed a bit run down and had a fair amount of local residents from the housing estates hanging around on street corners which made me feel a bit uneasy when a couple of them tried to ask us for something and get us to stop. So we got taxis back to the hotel in the evenings and walked up to the centre of the city during the day which only took about 20mins.
The breakfasts were the same each day which was a continental buffet and I quite liked it but my boyfriend was not too keen on it but that's just an individual taste thing and not a dig at the foods quality.
We bought an evening meal one night which was very well presented and served by very polite staff, it just didn't fill us up enough though (very tasty though!)
On the whole we enjoyed our stay at Casa 400 and was pleased to have clean towels left by the cleaners each day.
There is a new hotel being built at the other end of the road which opens next summer so it should be better conditions with it being building a new building.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

It is an excellent hotel for the price. The staff is extreamly helpfull, courteous and friendly.
Cleaning staff supervision and same breakfast menu needs attention, that does not mean poor, but can be improved..Location is spot on. Higly recomended by all means, would definately stay again.Very Very Good Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Arrived at Amsterdam airport, went to the tourist information point within the airport and paid for a map 3 Euros. went to the ticket service desk (follow the signs) and we paid 4 Euros each to get the metro.
We got the train to Amstel, follow the signs to the Casa 400 hotel and when you first arrive at the hotel you will notice the building is located next to a school and the recepition looks very modern as does the bar etc. We were staying on the 8th floor (room 812), be warned the rooms are very warm as we got the sun on that side from 5am until early evening! (we left the room windows open all day and all night) The prices at the restaurant are little expensive but the bar prices for drinks are okay. Breakfast if good, not fried eggs or bacon am afraid but its a good start to the day. We arrived at the hotel on the Friday morning and department Sunday mid morning ( double check which train you get back to the airport! before borading).
We purchased a 48 hour (2 day) GVB card 11 euros and 50 cent, purchased a 24 hour cancl bus (which have three routes, red, green and blue and take you around Amsterdam for 20 Euros) rmember to pick up one of there 'Fun hop on, hop off cancal cruise ' you will find discount vouchers in the back.
If you are looking for a quick get away, have an open mind and are happy to sleep in what I would class this as a 2 star hotel - it will do.
Amsterdam is cheap in places but you will have to hunt around for the cheap cafes etc as they will charge 9 euros for a beer and orange juice.
If you like to serve the internet the hotel wil charge 10 Euros per day, if you need extra blankets and pillows you need to request from reception and there are no kettles in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancs, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with very friendly reception staff. Okay the rooms are basic and a little dated(but what do you expect for 54 year old hotel) The main thing was it was clean and the chambermaids did this EVERY morning! The bar staff were very friendly, although bar prices were a little expensive, but the surroundings were relaxing.
We didn't go to spend 3 days in the hotel, so on the whole i was pleased with my choice, as we were 8 mins from the Stadium and 8 mins from the centre(by train) and this was perfect for us, although if i go back again the hotel will have moved(as they are building a bigger one) behind the police station- due to open in May 2010 & from pictures that were around it will be modern.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, Amsterdam 1097BC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 400 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 400, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.