We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to Metro station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa 400 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Casa 400
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kirtland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to Metro station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and had a good experience. Although it is a bit outside of the main attractions in Amsterdam, you can walk into town in about 30 minutes or walk across the street to the metro. The station is easy to use and its a very quick ride to central station. The hotel was clean-the room was a bit spartan but we werent there to stay in the room so it was adequate. Beds were a bit hard. The only window that opened was very narrow so not much air came through. Friends we were traveling with said the a/c wasnt working. We didnt try to use it since it was cool outside. The breakfast buffet was ok-not the best we had on our trip but certainly good. The hotel is currently renovating their dining and lounge areas so the lounge is in a basement and is not fabulous. It was fine for relaxing after a long day of sight seeing. It was nice to be away from the craziness of the bikes, trains, and street cars so we didnt mind being out of the middle of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    613
    107
    30
    17
See reviews for
75
502
68
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I only stayed at the Hotel Casa 400 for one night which was a shame because it is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. It is not in the centre of the city but public transport links are excellent and I love walking around in Amsterdam so I was not concerned. The front desk staff were polite and helpful, the room was very comfortable and spacious and the staff in the bar were always smiling. I would stay at Casa 400 again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with a couple of friends last weekend 21-24 of June 2014 and i had a good stay. We did not have the breakfast included, only the accommodation.
The rooms were nice, clean and spacious enough. The room service was ok too.
Keep in mind if you stay at this hotel, that you will need a conveyance to get downtown. There is Amstel railway station at about 3 minutes walking from hotel and the price for one day (metro, bus and tram) is 7.5E/person, or you can rent a bike for 13E from the hotel's reception. The taxi is about 15E to get downtown.
If you want to visit the city in a city break i would recommend you a hotel closer to the heart of the city, but if you book only a few days before, this hotel is a good solution.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My stay at casa 400 was for business. I had to be there for a whole week. First impressions were very good as the room and hotel have been decorated and kept to a high quality. However we tried the breakfast and found it not only very expensive but also poor in quality.

We were very disappointed and decided to forgo the hotel breakfast for the rest of the week and go to the nearest supermarket instead.

I would also like to mention that the location although not very central, was close enough to the centre for you to be able to walk to most places.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvugts, Manager at Hotel Casa 400, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Casa 400 and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are delighted to hear that you liked the room and that it is well decorated. We are very happy to hear this!

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced the breakfast as below the standards. We highly regret this. The F&B department is always looking for improvements and the choice in products. In case you have any idea for missing itmes, please share. Next to that, our new F&B concept will be launched in September this year, with a new breakfast and restaurant!

Hopefully we can show our new concept and our improvements during a next visit!

Once again thank your for your provided feedback!

Kind regards,


Luuk Verzijl
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Pleasant stay at this hotel. Staff friendly and rooms good value for money.

My only issue being the lack of amenities in the local area. Not the hotels fault obviously, and it's around a 5 minute walk from Amstel Station to head in to the City Centre, however we couldn't find any local supermarkets or convenience stores asides the ones in the station which would close later on in the evening. Would recommend for value and if you are looking for a quieter area of this bustling city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My whole review was almost going to be tainted, due to a problem I had with the phone when arriving at the hotel. I was out of phone (no external line) for that first day, and I really had to make calls. But the worst of all was that I had to wait for almost an hour for a technician to stop by my room, when I was told 5 minutes. This person almost seemed to know less than me about phones, and he gave the impression the problem was not going to be fixed, ever. The girls at reception let me call downstairs, and you could tell they tried very hard to please; I appreciated that a lot; and finally phone service was fixed the following day. But it was going to change my opinion on other hotel features; that is why it is so important to comply with the basic service before anything else is considered. Phone service is basic service.
Having said that, I overall liked the hotel. Room was quite ample; good external lighting, bad internal lights (bathroom needs urgently addition of lights); safe, mini bar; watch out for a step to get into the bathroom. There are no tissues (strange); blinds are not blind and I woke up very early (awful); a lot of closet space.
There was a construction right outside my window Mon-Fri, which could get noisy (ear plugs provided). There is a nice canal around, but this is located in the suburbs; it will not work for the people who want to stay in a central location. Trains and trams are very near in Amstel. From my point of view the hotel wants to look like a trendy one with more stars, but is still not quite there.
Don´t buy sodas in their vending machines. You can get same ones by half the price a block away from the hotel, same street. Also, take into account the elevators are horrible (if you are in a hurry, you are not in the right place)
Sleep quality was not the best from my stay in Europe, would recommend using the ear plugs. Also, if you are comming from Amstel train station, watch the video in the hotel page, which is excellent to understand your way, as there is a roundabout and it could be a problem with luggage.
I mainly highlight the attention, which is great. Would recommend if you are not worried about central location. Not sure why there are so many groups checking in and out, but it could be a problem if in a hurry (again).
Have fun in Ámsterdam! (and watch out of the bicycles)..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff and very modern, clean rooms. Large windows meant extra light through the room which was always nice compared to the first hotel I stayed in which had no windows at all. 4-star hotel in my book. Bicycle rentals are available and it's about 25 minutes to Central. Alternatively, the train station is a 7 minute walk from the hotel and takes about 5-10 minutes to reach the central station. Will definitely stay here when I visit the city again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 400 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 400, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.