We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with room for improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa 400 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Casa 400
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good with room for improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My whole review was almost going to be tainted, due to a problem I had with the phone when arriving at the hotel. I was out of phone (no external line) for that first day, and I really had to make calls. But the worst of all was that I had to wait for almost an hour for a technician to stop by my room, when I was told 5 minutes. This person almost seemed to know less than me about phones, and he gave the impression the problem was not going to be fixed, ever. The girls at reception let me call downstairs, and you could tell they tried very hard to please; I appreciated that a lot; and finally phone service was fixed the following day. But it was going to change my opinion on other hotel features; that is why it is so important to comply with the basic service before anything else is considered. Phone service is basic service.
Having said that, I overall liked the hotel. Room was quite ample; good external lighting, bad internal lights (bathroom needs urgently addition of lights); safe, mini bar; watch out for a step to get into the bathroom. There are no tissues (strange); blinds are not blind and I woke up very early (awful); a lot of closet space.
There was a construction right outside my window Mon-Fri, which could get noisy (ear plugs provided). There is a nice canal around, but this is located in the suburbs; it will not work for the people who want to stay in a central location. Trains and trams are very near in Amstel. From my point of view the hotel wants to look like a trendy one with more stars, but is still not quite there.
Don´t buy sodas in their vending machines. You can get same ones by half the price a block away from the hotel, same street. Also, take into account the elevators are horrible (if you are in a hurry, you are not in the right place)
Sleep quality was not the best from my stay in Europe, would recommend using the ear plugs. Also, if you are comming from Amstel train station, watch the video in the hotel page, which is excellent to understand your way, as there is a roundabout and it could be a problem with luggage.
I mainly highlight the attention, which is great. Would recommend if you are not worried about central location. Not sure why there are so many groups checking in and out, but it could be a problem if in a hurry (again).
Have fun in Ámsterdam! (and watch out of the bicycles)..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    552
    98
    30
    17
See reviews for
67
446
63
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff and very modern, clean rooms. Large windows meant extra light through the room which was always nice compared to the first hotel I stayed in which had no windows at all. 4-star hotel in my book. Bicycle rentals are available and it's about 25 minutes to Central. Alternatively, the train station is a 7 minute walk from the hotel and takes about 5-10 minutes to reach the central station. Will definitely stay here when I visit the city again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was a wonderful stay. Our rooms had everything we needed and were a great price so our 18 year old boys could have their own room. Breakfast was great and the staff was very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

All that i can say is perfect !
Good price, very polite employees, near to public transports.
Room is confortable with bathroom and TV.
You can rent bycicle directly in the hotel and you can leave luggages after checkout

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was a great Hotel with lots of room and a decent size bathroom. The staff are super helpful and friendly. It serves a great breakfast and has some great restaurants within the Hotel. It was fairly close to the train station so I could get into the city and travel around. They have bikes for daily hire as well - everyone in Amsterdam rides a bike

Room Tip: The Hotel is not on a main road and is fairly sound proof - I slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip and found it to be not that good for my taking. Here are my issues: 1. No AC - when asked how to food the room, they said to turn the heat control to cool. This did nothing. I found a small fan in the closet and opened the window. That sufficed except I got eaten alive by mosquitoes. So now I have to make a choice: try to sleep when it is hot and muggy or swatting the buzzing in your ear bugs all night long. Needless to say I was tired the whole week. 2. Breakfast was very average and costed 16.95. Nothing special with standard buffet items. No item I found to be great.
3. Clientele. When I arrived, the lobby was full of very young people and I immediately thought this place was a youth hostile. As it turns out this is the setup as it was started by former college students and I guess a college is close by. As the week went by, the clientele got older but now it was tourists by the bus full. This wasn't the bad part - it was the elevators which were tiny and after work I came back and had to stand in line to get into the elevator. 20 minutes later I finally got to my room.
3. Restaurant. I only had one dinner in the evening and I thought it was actually pretty good.

I'm sure some of you might rake exception to my comments if you are a student or a tourist with a large group but for business travel I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a great place fairly close to the Metro station. But not much else around it though. Had to walk almost a mile for shops in the "Pipe" district which is not really a touristy area, if you can get around the menus in Dutch. I will admit one place is worth the walk though. We found it by shear accident while wasting time before our checkout. It's called "Mary's Lucheon de Koffiekettle". About 1.2 miles from hotel; pass the Metro, under the freeway, over the canal and to the right on main street, down about 1/2 mile on left side. They listed an English menu out front, and come to find Mary and her partner are both Irish so her menu is very diverse with authentic Irish, English, French and Dutch foods! She's friendly and the cafe is equally diverse & quaint with outdoor seating in back. She's not listed in Trip Advisor or Yelp, so I want to give her due credit! Tell her the couple from Savannah, GA sent you! For something closer, Daphine's Cafe was right next to the metro though.
Back to the hotel...The hotel staff was friendly, quick to serve, but the rooms were lacking; iron/board, A/C didn't work, no microwave, they don't provide washcloths, only have a tea kettle, and no cups or coffee/tea. The rooms were clean and they had a nice small window that opened for fresh air. They do have a fridge and hairdryer. Next time I'd stay closer to town, since price wasn't all that different.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 400 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 400, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.