We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and functional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa 400 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Casa 400
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant and functional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at Casa 400 for a conference, and I found that it was very well suited for the purpose. It was clean, spacious, and comfortable (with the exception of the pillows). The bathroom is modern and has a terrific shower. I found the room temperature a bit too cool for my taste (the thermostat doesn't really do much at all), but the staff were very kind and even offered to bring me a space heater if I wanted it.

The location is very close to Amstel station, which is good for public transport links. For someone coming as a tourist, the hotel is a bit of a way out of the city centre, but it is accessible by bus/tram/metro - just take note of the changes due to metro construction works going on at the moment.

There are few restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk, unfortunately. The three recommended by the reception were all quite expensive. I ate at the hotel's restaurant (Circles) one night, and while it was on the pricey side, at least the food was nice. Again, if you don't plan on hanging around by the hotel all day, it's not really an issue, as there are plenty of other restaurants in Amsterdam!

Overall, I was pleased with my stay at Casa 400, and would stay again if I have a similar function in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    588
    104
    30
    17
See reviews for
71
477
65
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a bit far away from the centre, but public transportation do work in Amsterdam and you avoid the outrageous city center prices. This large hotel tries to create a modernist-minimalist atmosphere, and is normally frequented by conference crews. The staff is always smiling and helpful. One problem is that it is hard to get real food after 10 p.m., which is however a common problem in the Netherlands except in the large international hotels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

From the time we booked this hotel we had excellent service. I had questions before arrival and the response was quick and very professional. We arrived in Amsterdam by 7am, a room was ready for us and we were allowed to check in immediately. Much appreciated after an overnight flight. All staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was sparse but comfortable. The bathroom/shower is a good size. Everything seems very new and modern. We would happily have spent our entire trip in this area. The hotel is not in the center of Amsterdam but still a great location. You have very easy access to the heart of the city by train, bike (can be rented from hotel) or even on foot. We enjoyed walking along the Amstel to town. We were also walking distance to lots of markets, parks and cafes outside of the busy tourist area. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you have visited Amsterdam before, it gives you a whole new perspective on the city. For first timers this hotel will allow you to see a different Amsterdam from most tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because it is a real bargain. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed is very comfortable (pillows could be better) and the price is very very good. The downside of the hotel is not being in a central area but by metro it is only 3-4 stops away. And also breakfast is expensive (so we preferred to have it in the center). Overall it is a very good value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa 400 from the 18th September 2013 to 20th and found the hotel met and exceeded our expectations. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The only gripe we had was with the pillows which were on the small side (more like cushions than pillows!) and the noise from the workman who are currently doing the road outside the hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to get tickets for excursions that included the Rijksmuseum and the Heineken Experience saving us money and queuing at entrances.
I would stay again at the Hotel Casa 400 and hopefully the work on the road would be finished by then.

Room Tip: If the works on the road are still on going ask for a room away from the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Traveling to Amsterdam with 2 kids would require 2 rooms given sizes of central hotels.
When Travelling in August - The prices and availability can be a nightmare.

This hotel is off-center, but very conveniently located - Just near Amsterdam Amstel station
(That has trains and buses). There's a tram and Metro to the center, though due to repairs we could have used neither. Bus 59 makes it centraal station in 14 minutes and drives back and forth all the time so it was ok. In the stations there's a starbucks, ah and other food stuff so that was really helpful as we skipped the hotel breakfast which was quite expensive (16euro).
The lobby had a takeaway counter in the morning and some automated machines.

Wireless was free and worked well. even at the top floor. Check-in was OK as we arrived close to mid-night and had to wait for 2 more people to check-in. Pre-request (via email and phone) to get 2 adjacent rooms didn't work out so we got 2 rooms with 2 in-between. It was OK.
Rooms are very clean, spacious for city hotel and very nice. Shower is also very large and comfortable (Being a fairly new hotel).

We would definitely re-consider this one next time around for a trip with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 400 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 400, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.