We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit Spartan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa 400 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Casa 400
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A bit Spartan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was near to the ring road but also near to Amstel metro station, only 7 minutes from Central station. From Amstel station there is also a tram line that takes you easily to the Concertgebou concert hall and Rijksmuseum. It has underground parking at 20 Euros a day. The hotel is very modern and can be described as minimalist, or spartan, depending on your point of view. Having stayed at the Marriott in Gent for the same price the night before this hotel doesnt really compare very well but it was perfectly adequate. The room was a good size, the double bed was 'firm' and the bathroom had a shower but no bath. The staff were always very pleasant and helpful and we had a reasonable meal in the restaurant. The menu choices were very limited but my rib eye steak was very good however, my wife's plaice was cold and she wasnt excited about eating it after it was zapped in the microwave. Overall, given the high price of hotels in Amsterdam this hotel is a good çhoice if you are driving and don't want the hassle of central Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is a notice apologising for the noise of works being carried out by the council and free earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    573
    102
    30
    17
See reviews for
69
466
65
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porrentruy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A very modern hotel with excellent facilities and perfect at every level except a metro ride from town. Having said that, the metro station is a short walk and town is only a couple of stations away. What's more you can't go wrong with the metro because all lines stop at the hotel's station and end at the central station. The metro stops just after midnight, but there are buses until morning. The Wi-Fi is free and fast. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive. A good place to stay if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is just awesome. The hotel is a bit far from the 'center' of the city. However, it is only 3-5min walk from the train station. Its worth being a little bit away from the center but getting that kind of service. Its not a big deal at all because the service and the rooms make up for it. The beds are just perfect, the shower is magnificent, and the front desk service is incredible. You get what you paid for. Very neat and clean. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are glad we chose this hotel.

Good things:
*WiFi working good all time
*Close to the station (6-8 min walk).
*Spacious rooms with desk.

Bad things:
*Insulation in rooms. We were woken up 3 days in a row by the happy noises of a couple from another room.
*The area around didn't look very interesting, full of under construction places.

All in all, it was a good choice, but if we had to choose again, we'd probably pick a hotel that has shorter walk time from the station, mainly if it's -5 degree outside :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvugts, Manager at Hotel Casa 400, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sebas,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Casa 400. We would also like to thank you for the fact that you took the time and effort to give use valuable feedback. We would like to ensure you that every feedback is taken serious and into consideration.

We are aware of some rooms which have problems with insulation. Therefore we are still improving but also have to admit that not all noises can be muted.

All constructions in the surrounding of our hotel are planned to be finished this summer. Next to that our reception is opened 24/7 and our receptionists are more than helpful to help you find all the hidden gems in the surrounding.

Next to that we are also improving the route to the station together with the local government in order to improve safety and accessibility.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future and will make sure you will be able find all the hidden gems in the surrounding which unfortunately sometimes stay hidden!

Kind regards,

Bernadine Egbring
Rooms Division Manager
Hotel Casa 400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

An American-quality hotel in Amsterdam - AMAZING! I second all the other great reviews. Definitely worth the extra cash for a big room, amazingly comfy bed, and the peace of mind that I was only six minutes away from my outgoing bus at Amstel Station at 8am!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I think is kind of expensive but the service and the rooms are awesome :) the hotel is relatively close to a train station and there are some nice places to explore nearby. I highly recommend it! This is a nice place to live and explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The room was modern, comfortable and quiet, the satff helpful. This is not quaint or trendy, just a nice stay. The restaurant food was well prepared. Hotel is close to the metro, so everything is handy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 400 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 400, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.