We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, simple room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perfect location, simple room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Perfect location close to Dam, Red Light District and train station. Standard breakfast with complement of egg & bacon and fruit . Polite cleaning and dining staff. Small and dark room (105), but clean. The hotel was fully booked at our stay, but if not you should try to get other then 105. So as always with a fixed budget, you'll have to choose between location and standard.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    361
    169
    83
    45
See reviews for
84
286
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Recently visited Amsterdam for the first time, and decided to use this hotel after reading the reviews on this website. The hotel is situated in an ideal central location in Amsterdam, yet there is not a problem getting to sleep at night as the street isn't too noisy, and the bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever used in any hotel. The bedroom and bathroom aren't huge but are perfectly adequate for a 3 star hotel and are spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast is good value, offering a wide range of options, from scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, to ham, cheese, fresh fruit, and a variety of breads. Overall, this hotel is very good value, and I would certainly use it if visiting Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Simply a European style hotel - rooms are small with a bed, 2 bedside tables, a bureau, TV with Dutch, English & US (BBC & CNN), French stations. Clean room and bathroom; OK shower with solid water pressure. Location - 2 blocks from the Central train station and along a major tram route to museums and key tourist points. Walkable to plenty of good restaurants and the Jordan neighborhood (9 Streets too). Breakfast was ample - cold and hot buffet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This hotel is in a great location. Easy to find, close to Central Station, Canal trips, Red light district, Dam Square and quieter canal-side walks. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby too. Although the hotel was located on a busy road it was still quiet at night so we had no problems sleeping. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was plentiful and consisted of a wide variety of hot and cold food. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.I., NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Traveled with friends for a total of three rooms, two doubles and a triple. All of us asked for different rooms after seeing the first assigned. The three women in the triple changed 3 times, and eventually paid E20 extra a night for a quad room because the others were just doubles with a cot jammed in. My husband and I asked for a renovated room and stayed in #98, just off lobby, clean and new. Receptionist warned us the room might be noisy because it faced the street, but there were two sets of windows and it was February, so street noise was not an issue, and we were comfortable for our 3 night stay. Security was good, lobby door locked at night, and guests were buzzed in by front desk staff, who were helpful with recommendations and directions. This hotel was centrally located close to central station and Dam Square, but I'm not so sure I would stay here again after seeing my friend's rooms and of course, there are many hotels in the area to choose from. We did not hear about any thefts from rooms like other posters, also found the breakfast buffet fine and included in price. There is a fresh water and ice dispenser off the lobby which was handy to refill empty expensive water bottles, and to chill drinks as there is no mini fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We spent three nights here last week after a recommendation from the Amsterdam tourist board, Easy to find from the central train station, and well located for everything, the hotel itself is an old-fashioned disappointment. The lobby is bland, and the corridors are extremely out-dated. The rooms are TINY and very expensive for what you get.
Our first room was on the 5th floor (509), but we asked to be moved because: the bathroom had hairs and dust all over it, the 'view' was of the (noisy) air-con units, half of the ceiling was covered in creeping damp, the air-con in our room was leaking on the carpet, it was so hot we had to keep the window open (despite freezing temperatures outside), and the 'double bed' was two singles pushed together... oh and the TV remote didn't work.
Our second room (216) was cleaner and less damp, and had a view of the kitchen. It was less hot but more smelly. TV remote still didn't work! Had a double bed though.
We slept well and there were no noises from other guests. Breakfast was average - lots of choice but not much quality, and not very healthy.
Never saw the same staff on reception twice in three days, so felt very anonymous.
Extremely expensive for what we got. No way is this a three-star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Lovely weekend until morning of departure when one couple noticed their sterling £85.00 had been stolen. Reception were indifferent,the Police were most helpful. Another couple also had £30.00 stolen but didn't discover it in time to report it to the Police. Spoiled what had been a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.