We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is a collection of buildings connected into one hotel. On the edge of the Red Light district but very quiet inside. Walking distance from Amsterdam Central Station, on a main transit route and close to a lot of what I wanted to see. Shopping, restaurants and many historic sites are close at hand.The breakfast provided was good and had a good selection, a great way to start the day. Clean, convenient and the staff are very helpful. Not perfect but I would happily return.
** If you walk across the street from the hotel, and a block down an alley there are Red Light windows and a Bulldog "Cafe"(closed until 6:00pm because they're in a school zone!!!) **

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    381
    179
    85
    47
See reviews for
87
305
84
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Well after reading reviews on here I was really worried. Ignore them. Me and my partner went for 2 nights and it was fine. The hotel is nothing special but it was clean, breakfast was really nice and it was 5 minutes to Dam Square and about 15-20 minutes walk to Anne Franks house. We went with Thomas Cook who said check in was 10.... it was not till 2pm but we left our luggage locked in a room and it was fine. If you are looking for something swanky this isnt the place for you. If you want somewhere to sleep and shower thats fine. Air con is really good. Though girls, the shower did not detatch so if you dont want to get your hair wet this could be an issue. Reception were very helpful especially when we had to arrange our shuttle back to the airport. I was on the phone ages and she dialled 4 times for me. You do have to pay tax when you get there. I think it was around €15. Hopefully this helps someone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean breakfast was nice,hotel was nothing special but easy to get to some rooms including ours was by the lift and backed on to a generator at the rear so ask.....found our way to and from dam sq after 1st night,...July 15-17th 2014....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel, stayed for two nights. Unfortunately the hotel room was very small and dark, we had the smallest window - more like an air vent the size of a catflap, this made the room extremely dark and stuffy as not a lot of air got through due to the window opening up onto other walls - therefore we also had no view of anything at all.
The pillows could do with updating as they were extremely lumpy, bed was standard. We were supposed to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we didn't have them which was a shame as they state that every room does have them. We had some other friends who stayed at this hotel and they got a lovely size room which was bright and airy with a huge window opening up onto the Main Street - much better than ours. So make sure you ask and try avoid room 109 at all cost!! Staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just what we needed. Great location and great staff. Room could have done with a lick of paint but it was great. No shower curtain though which meant the floor got very wet. Breakfast was amazing - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is ideally placed for most of the tourist attractions. Just a short walk from the Central Station and a stones throw away from Dam Square.
Our room was quite compact but the bed was very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. There was no tea making facility in the room but if you ask at reception they will lend you a kettle for a refundable 20euro deposit. You can then get free tea bags etc from a vending machine.
Breakfast was good with a wide range of foods on offer. There was continental as well as scrambled eggs. DIY toast and bacon.
We would certainly come back another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the busy main street as it could be noisy. We did and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is very close to Amsterdam central station , so it's a great place to base yourself ....the rooms are really neat and tidy , the breakfast was very nice self service and unhurried .....
The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant at talk to . They pointed us in the right direction every time we asked ...there are a lot of pubs and restaurants around this hotel so no problem there ..All in all a very happy stay ..will be returning :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.