We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

On our honeymoon so disappointing to have two beds made with separate linen, can understand the push together idea but not linen!
Great breakfasts, cooked foods, cereals, breads, rolls, whatever you want.
Tiny bath but good pressure in showers. Clean, warm.
Great location, can walk to main areas and accessible to tourist info centres..
Biggest disappointment was unfriendly attitude from all staff except young lady on check out. Treated like we were invisible, request for extra pillow ( only one per bed, no extra s or spare linen in room) told to ask tomorrow!
Asked for extra key tag as only received one, made to feel like it was unreasonable and suggested that as we were together why did we need one.
Lots of other options in area, probably would chose a different one next time for comparison.

Room Tip: Get a second key, there is no electricity unless key tag in situ, you may need to leave iPads etc on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    377
    180
    86
    43
See reviews for
77
272
75
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

we had a disaster with an airbnb booking getting cancelled on us at the very last moment! To their credit airbnb were FANTASTIC in getting us an alternative place to stay and paying the difference as this was an extremely busy time to visit Amsterdam and there were absolutely no rooms in almost the entire city!

Unfortunately, this hotel was where was left and they charged a ridiculous price!

The building from the outside looks promising, and it's a good location for a short stay in the city- a few minutes walk from the central train station. The rooms have a slight musty smell about them, a little like a hotel that used to allow smoking but hasn't updated the soft furnishings since! I would say basic at best. Very basic decor but it was clean and the bedding was clean so fine if you're not too fussy and you get a good price!! the astronomical price we paid has certainly skewed my review as it wasn't value for money in anyway.

Breakfast is served buffet style downstairs and they cram the tables in so much it isn't a very relaxed start to the day. The food itself is OK, pretty average and certainly nothing to rave about. Basic coffees/teas and juice included.

The rooms were clean but rough round the edges with quite a bit of wear and tear, particularly in the bathroom.

Does have free wifi for your entire stay. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient.

If you just need somewhere clean and safe to stay for a quick city trip AND you can get a good price then go for it. If you want somewhere a bit more special/romantic or you have longer in the city than two nights then I would avoid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

booked in on Tuesday 22nd April for 4 days. Four of us, two couples no children, asked for a nice view from a room when booking, 3rd floor room overlooked blank wall, other rooms and aircon units From the information folder in our room, we could 'upgrade' to a better room and pay more. (are these the ones with a 'nice view'?)
Ideal location for all the attractions of Amsterdam. Hotel staff cheerful and very helpful, even telling us which tram/ bus number to catch.
Rooms were clean(ish) and the housekeeping occured on a daily basis(note to staff - room 305, curtains falling off!). Breakfast was excellent (but surprised to see Dutch guests filling rolls etc and putting into handbags for lunch! Disappointed no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but at least machines in foyer. All in all a nice clean, friendly hotel which I would definitely recommend to friends. Amsterdam is a beautiful city with much to see. Avenue Hotel is an ideal base to explore.

Room Tip: ask about room 'upgrade'. We didn't find out until we got there, no facility when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was only in Amsterdam for one night on my way back home, but this was a perfect setting and a base for striking out to the areas I wanted to see. A very good and varied breakfast was available and my room was very quiet and cozy for what I wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Avenue Hotel is pleasantly and conveniently located not far from the Central Railway Station and close to a metro-stop. Within easy walking distance is the heart of the city, Dam Square.
The hotel is crisply clean and painted in happy colors.
Fine and efficiently friendly reception. Fast lifts.
My single room was located in the attic and it was larger than I'd been led to think. Immaculately clean. Good bathroom with nice hot water. Comfortable bed. A good working table and also another round table with comfortable chair. Lots of windows to open. Bathroom equipped with a nice bath. Enough towels.
Breakfast is included in the room price. A really good hot breakfast with a large assortment of anything you might want. And the breakfast room is nicely spacious.
Hotel highly recommended.
But... One caveat: you're likely to be disappointed if you want to use the internet intensely. WiFi is slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Was staying at this hotel 13th april this year for 4 days. I have to say I would not go back. The room was really dirty, the nets have not been washed for years, the curtains were covered in food, the windows were grotty and just down right dirty, needs adressing and we wont be back, sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in April 2014 for several days whilst on business in Amsterdam. The room was pretty average, but the hotel internet was just dreadfully slow and unresponsive, with web search pages taking minutes to complete, if at all, and many times with complete drop outs or pages failing to complete after minutes. This was despite a 'strong' signal, and of course, I did politely ask the Hotel Management to get their internet service provider to sort out the issues. I honestly cannot recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to do any kind of serious business work that involves you being able to access email or the internet. On the breakfast front, it was pretty basic and bland cold cuts of processed meats, and rather obviously 'canned' fruit salad - but the 'hot' buffet of salty scrambled eggs and baked beans was really unacceptable - hotels that do not pay more attention to their presentation of breakfast are destined to go the way of the dinosaurs - they have to think from a corporate perspective about being seen to do better to survive. Cleanliness in the bedroom was unremarkable, but the cleaner omitted to replace an empty loo paper roll - so sure I can (and did) go and ask the front desk for another one, but it's not nice as a customer to have to do this when there are other people queuing for attention as well. So my overall rating of the hotel is low, personally I would never consider this hotel again next time I am on business in Amsterdam, and I really don;t want to influence other people, but anyone reading this should perhaps look at the many other hotels in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Look at all of the reviews of other nearby Hotels, and good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.