We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base of operations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good base of operations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

booked in on Tuesday 22nd April for 4 days. Four of us, two couples no children, asked for a nice view from a room when booking, 3rd floor room overlooked blank wall, other rooms and aircon units From the information folder in our room, we could 'upgrade' to a better room and pay more. (are these the ones with a 'nice view'?)
Ideal location for all the attractions of Amsterdam. Hotel staff cheerful and very helpful, even telling us which tram/ bus number to catch.
Rooms were clean(ish) and the housekeeping occured on a daily basis(note to staff - room 305, curtains falling off!). Breakfast was excellent (but surprised to see Dutch guests filling rolls etc and putting into handbags for lunch! Disappointed no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but at least machines in foyer. All in all a nice clean, friendly hotel which I would definitely recommend to friends. Amsterdam is a beautiful city with much to see. Avenue Hotel is an ideal base to explore.

Room Tip: ask about room 'upgrade'. We didn't find out until we got there, no facility when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    370
    171
    83
    47
See reviews for
85
297
82
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was only in Amsterdam for one night on my way back home, but this was a perfect setting and a base for striking out to the areas I wanted to see. A very good and varied breakfast was available and my room was very quiet and cozy for what I wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Avenue Hotel is pleasantly and conveniently located not far from the Central Railway Station and close to a metro-stop. Within easy walking distance is the heart of the city, Dam Square.
The hotel is crisply clean and painted in happy colors.
Fine and efficiently friendly reception. Fast lifts.
My single room was located in the attic and it was larger than I'd been led to think. Immaculately clean. Good bathroom with nice hot water. Comfortable bed. A good working table and also another round table with comfortable chair. Lots of windows to open. Bathroom equipped with a nice bath. Enough towels.
Breakfast is included in the room price. A really good hot breakfast with a large assortment of anything you might want. And the breakfast room is nicely spacious.
Hotel highly recommended.
But... One caveat: you're likely to be disappointed if you want to use the internet intensely. WiFi is slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Was staying at this hotel 13th april this year for 4 days. I have to say I would not go back. The room was really dirty, the nets have not been washed for years, the curtains were covered in food, the windows were grotty and just down right dirty, needs adressing and we wont be back, sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in April 2014 for several days whilst on business in Amsterdam. The room was pretty average, but the hotel internet was just dreadfully slow and unresponsive, with web search pages taking minutes to complete, if at all, and many times with complete drop outs or pages failing to complete after minutes. This was despite a 'strong' signal, and of course, I did politely ask the Hotel Management to get their internet service provider to sort out the issues. I honestly cannot recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to do any kind of serious business work that involves you being able to access email or the internet. On the breakfast front, it was pretty basic and bland cold cuts of processed meats, and rather obviously 'canned' fruit salad - but the 'hot' buffet of salty scrambled eggs and baked beans was really unacceptable - hotels that do not pay more attention to their presentation of breakfast are destined to go the way of the dinosaurs - they have to think from a corporate perspective about being seen to do better to survive. Cleanliness in the bedroom was unremarkable, but the cleaner omitted to replace an empty loo paper roll - so sure I can (and did) go and ask the front desk for another one, but it's not nice as a customer to have to do this when there are other people queuing for attention as well. So my overall rating of the hotel is low, personally I would never consider this hotel again next time I am on business in Amsterdam, and I really don;t want to influence other people, but anyone reading this should perhaps look at the many other hotels in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Look at all of the reviews of other nearby Hotels, and good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night after our river cruise on the Rhine. I was there with my sister and our senior citizen parents. The hotel is conveniently located to all the sites in the city, and not a long walk from the train station and area where the boats are docked. (I'm a walker though. For people not used to walking a lot, I would suggest a cab to the boats or train station.)

We were in a suite for four people, which was essentially two small rooms with an open doorway between them. (So don't expect any real privacy except in the bathroom.) The bathroom is also not especially large for the number of people this room sleeps.

But overall, we were happy with it because of the location and the decent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great 3 night break. Clean hotel. Good hearty self service buffet breakfast.
Comfy rooms albeit a bit on the small side and bathrooms size of a broom cupboard.
Great location to Central station and Dam square and an ideal basic sleeping hole.
Would recommend and would certainly book again. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.