We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Comfortable,Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Newbury
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean,Comfortable,Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for for 5 nights in November.The room was very clean,well maintained, and comfortable,and, most importantly,quiet. It was average European size, which is smaller than avg.US size, which can be a surprise to some Americans. The rate included a great buffet breakfast,which is a very good way to start the day.The location is very good, within walking distance of most attractions, and 5 minutes from the train station.The highlight,though, is the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    481
    230
    99
    55
See reviews for
114
393
101
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed in the Avenue on recommendation in October. The hotel is in a great location, close to Dam square. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfy.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. I had a very bad expereince as I has my bag stolen with my passport which meant I had to stay an extra night and go the Embassy ! Long story but the staff in the hotel where amazing. They helped me with everything I needed and told me where to go etc. I have nothing more than good things to say about the hotel and would definalty recommend the Avenue. I will be returning myself in March :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located on the corner of Neuwezids Vourgwal and Sint Jacobstraat. Exterior and Lobby presentable, but as soon as you get in the cramped lift, all goues down south. The rooms are small and the ceilings low. We even found on the balcony ledge trash from the room's previous occupant. Carpet was threadbare and smells moldy. We were billeted on the 3rd floor, the hallway floor had a hole on the floor covered with carpet, so threat lightly or you may find your foot stuck in the hole. watercloset inside the room was so so, and the drain on the sink wouldnt work properly. The only good quality of this hotel is the buffet breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

It is alright hotel, very central located, room was nice, but not all rooms are good, some of them are smaller then others. My very good impression and stay in the hotel made a receptionist Marine. Thank you very much for your help Marine, truly customer orientated, very helpful receptionist. The hotel itself is ok, basic, but clean and in a very good location!!!!
It is not a luxury, but got all you need.
I would recommend to stay there as a good budget hotel.
Oxana
London

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed at the Avenue with 5 friends from the 25th October - 29th 2013.
This hotel was so much more than we expected, we got a brilliant price with breakfast included so we wasn't sure if the hotel would be as nice as it looked on the pictures...
When we arrived there the hotel was lovely, the staff were lovely and the rooms were perfect, very warm hotel and the breakfast was nice too.
Would recommend anyone that's staying with friends or going as a couple.
Literally a 5 minute walk into Dam Square and it's very quiet at nighttime in the hotel.
Really loved it, in fact we are going back to Amsterdam in January but have been told the Avenue is fully booked so we are gutted we can't stay there :(

Overall, great place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a great hotel nice clean and tidy nice staff willing to help will b staying there again one thing is the rooms need tea and coffee making amenities only because when UV bn smoking all that good weed u need a nice pot of tea to stop the camels mouth just saying :))))

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I knew that the parking situation would be difficult in Amsterdam. Neverthelless I was forced to arrive with the car, so I left it in the "De Kolk" public parking, which is basically right underneath the Avenue hotel (but don't expect a discount at the parking). The hotel looks rather small from outside, at first glance, but in fact it spans over two or more buildings. Staff was friendly, helpful and quick at check-in. I got room # 208 in second floor, with view to the street. I booked a double-room for single use, as such rooms are often only a few bucks more expensive than single ones, but offer usually a whole lot more room. But I didn't expects that: this room was HUGE fo Amsterdam standards. It featured also an integrated desk with plugs for your laptop, and there was even space for a little table with 2 further chairs, as well as two single beds. The bathroom was decent in size, cleanliness and features, as well as the whole room actually. Beds were conformtable and fresh. Only on the next morning I discovered that I actually got a triple room (for the price of a double), as there was a further retractable bed next to the cabinet. There was actually only one downer: the wifi had not one, but two broken legs. If it wasn't sluggish, needing a quarter hour only to open a Google search page, it didn't work at all, most of the time. Well, I was in the hotel during a week with a huge maritime exhibition taking place, so probably 90% of the hotel guests where constantly on the wifi. But it didn't even work very early in the morning, I once tried at 06:00 a.m., when I woke up (or did everyone else have the same idea?). Well then came the breakfast: nice choice of breds, warm ham, egg, even beans in tomatoe sauce, cold dishes, fruits, etc. etc. You could certainly find anything you were looking for for a breakfast, and it was good. The location of the hotel was very good too, actually it coudln't be more central. There's also a tram line in the hotel's street. I found the price/performance ratio very good at this hotel. Would return there.

Room Tip: had room 208, very spacious (actually a triple). Some street noise if window is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#159 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#157 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#149 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#247 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.