We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel - clean and basic but location FANTASTIC!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average Hotel - clean and basic but location FANTASTIC!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend recently.

The hotel itself is basic - clean and functional. What more do you want really. We were placed in a basement room for the first night which was disastrous, as we couldn't sleep due to the noise of the trams literally running at our head level! So we asked to be moved, which we were and that sorted that issue out!

Breakfast was good....varied and set out in buffet-style. They always seemed to run out of crossaints though!!! But the breakfast was good, hearty and wholesome.

I'd rate the hotel as an average 3 star. There is nothing fancy about it. It's a little out-dated but the location is just fantastic. It is a short stroll from the train station (easy access to the airport this way) and everything in Amsterdam is literally within walking distance from the hotel. It's just a fantastic location.

I would stay here again and I would recommend the hotel to people, just as long as they know that they should not expect luxury. The rooms are a little on the small size (with the exception of the basement bedroom...but that had its own issues) but that didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask NOT to be put into Room 99!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    361
    169
    83
    45
See reviews for
84
286
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are big,shower is very powerful (love it!) and beds are really comfy. The hotel is very close to everything, supermarkets,coffee shops,food and public transport. Would highly recommend to those staying in Amsterdam! Breakfast is lovely there is tea, coffee, fruit juices, hot chocolate hot food,cold food,cereals,fruits everything you need :) and breakfast staff are also very helpful and friendly :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I visited Amsterdam with my mum and after much searching, booked the Avenue Hotel for a three-night stay. We arrived early and were allowed to leave our luggage safely stored away until the check-in time. Arriving back at the hotel, we were given two keys cards (so handy when there's more than one of you staying) and were allocated room 315. We were impressed with the security as to enter the lift to get to your room, you have to use the key card.

On arrival in our room, we were very pleased at what we saw. The room was bright and airy with a window that ran the whole length of the room. The two single beds were comfortable and the bed linen was spotless. We asked for an extra pillow each and these were brought up speedily. There was a dressing table/work desk which plenty of plugs available, a small table and two chairs and a flat screen TV. The lighting was very good.

The bathroom, although small, was perfectly laid out - the bath also contained two shower units (one at the end which was great for a full shower and one at the side which was fantastic for hair-washing and rinsing down). Both sink and bath had hair, body and face wash available. The towels were also spotless and changed daily.

Breakfast was great - there was loads to choose from!! There was a great choice of bread, croissants, a selection of cold meats, cheese, olives, cucumber, tomatoes, bacon, hard-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, beans, jams and honey, cereals and hot drinks. I can't see how anybody could fail to find something they liked (I liked it all!!).

As for location, for us it couldn't have been better. It's a five-minute walk from Centraal Station, located two streets off Damrak and a five-minute walk to Dam Square. As two ladies, we never felt unsafe when returning to the hotel after an evening out.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Avenue Hotel for my birthday weekend and am so glad I booked this hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by the polite receptionist who was really pleasant. After I told him I was visiting Amsterdam for my birthday he told me I was being upgraded to a suite!
I was so happy and thought it was a really lovely gesture. The room itself was spacious and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast is half 7 to half 10 and was tasty. There served bacon, beans, boiled eggs and scrambled. There was a selection of baguettes, white and brown bread that you can toast, cheeses, ham, which was thick cut, it was lovely. Also croissants, jams and cereal was served. The hotel is 5 minutes from dam square which was great as it was really central for everything. Overall I loved my stay in Amsterdam, really enjoyed staying at Avenue Hotel and would stay there again if I return, which I plan on doing in the new year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nothing good !!Nothing!!!The worst for me was the bad smell ...from ....you know , what i mean!!! It was really unacceptable!!!
Τhe employees indifferent , Wi-fi didnt work , the breakfast nothing special ,when we made a shower , the bathroom ,after , was a swimming pool ,had no basic infrastructure,much fuss in the hotel , and of course all of these in an expensive hotel !We should have been , beside , at Crowne plaza!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff at Avenue were really great. The receptionist allowed us to call internationally as we were having problems with our bank and without her help we'd be stranded. The breakfast was delicious and they had a large variety to choose from. The overall stay was comfortable with great showers, comfy clean beds and a good energy throughout. Going back this November!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic tourist hotel, not a 3 star by any stretch of the imagination. Public areas are fine but the room we were in was dreadful. Airless, cramped and when the door opened it only just cleared the end of the bed. The bathroom wasn't small, it was tiny. Was there for 3 nights and only cleaned once. Day two they just made the bed and literally threw clean towels on the bathroom shelf. Carpets in bedroom had stains all over and hallway carpet from lift was similar. But they were washing down paintwork and it's clear there is an attempt to keep the place clean. Breakfast is plentiful and constantly refilled. But they water down the fruit juice so it's like squash! All a bit bizarre and it definitely aspires to be more than it is. But for a place to rest your head which had a comfy bed, was very central and was quiet, then it was fine. Was reception ever manned? More like the Marie Celeste. And the allegedly free wifi was absolutely dreadful. You get what you pay for!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.