We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disgusting!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nothing good !!Nothing!!!The worst for me was the bad smell ...from ....you know , what i mean!!! It was really unacceptable!!!
Τhe employees indifferent , Wi-fi didnt work , the breakfast nothing special ,when we made a shower , the bathroom ,after , was a swimming pool ,had no basic infrastructure,much fuss in the hotel , and of course all of these in an expensive hotel !We should have been , beside , at Crowne plaza!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    479
    223
    97
    53
See reviews for
110
385
101
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Avenue were really great. The receptionist allowed us to call internationally as we were having problems with our bank and without her help we'd be stranded. The breakfast was delicious and they had a large variety to choose from. The overall stay was comfortable with great showers, comfy clean beds and a good energy throughout. Going back this November!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic tourist hotel, not a 3 star by any stretch of the imagination. Public areas are fine but the room we were in was dreadful. Airless, cramped and when the door opened it only just cleared the end of the bed. The bathroom wasn't small, it was tiny. Was there for 3 nights and only cleaned once. Day two they just made the bed and literally threw clean towels on the bathroom shelf. Carpets in bedroom had stains all over and hallway carpet from lift was similar. But they were washing down paintwork and it's clear there is an attempt to keep the place clean. Breakfast is plentiful and constantly refilled. But they water down the fruit juice so it's like squash! All a bit bizarre and it definitely aspires to be more than it is. But for a place to rest your head which had a comfy bed, was very central and was quiet, then it was fine. Was reception ever manned? More like the Marie Celeste. And the allegedly free wifi was absolutely dreadful. You get what you pay for!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Avenue Hotel and were very happy with the experience.
The location was close to the station and an easy walk pulling cases. On arrival the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. On saying I was rather disappointed with the room as my old weak eyes work better in a bright room I was promptly offered another, always a personal choice but we were not worried about being in a low level room with a window onto a walk way and preferred this. The room was clean and well designed with plugs and mirrors in good positions. Breakfast was self service and nicely presented, the staff were attentive about clearing and cleaning tables so although it could get busy it was never a problem. In the evening the free ice-machine meant we could chill our carried in drinks. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby and walking to tourist attractions was easy. A good, well run hotel that I would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel is very close to Dam Square. Room was clean but we were unable to lock balcony window and were on what looked like the ground floor. No run off plug in bathroom so floor gets wet when you have a shower. Breakfast was very good. Major concern for us, we arrived back at hotel about 10pm but we were followed into hotel by two men, no one on reception. The men came towards us while we put card in for the lift we kept looking back at them one of the men spoke with the other and then he took off, while the other man stared at us until the lift door closed. Very scary.
Would not stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location, close to tourist attractions and public transport- rail and tram, friendly helpful staff, clean rooms, very good breakfast, good WiFi service, close to a variety of different restaurants, would stay again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is okay, it's not really worth the price. We were originally put in a room that smelled really bad of cigarettes and the bathroom was very old. We complained and were put in a different room, it smelled cleaned and the bathroom was remodeled. The location of the hotel is great, if you can find a cheap deal on the hotel I would take it, if not, I don't think it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#162 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#147 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#241 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.