We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awsome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

great hotel close to all that is Amsterdam would stay again no hesitation nice room tv hair dryer nice big windows clean loved it so stay here and tour dam and smoke the life out of urself as they say when in rome just do it you want regret it

Room Tip: get a room on the alley the front is very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    360
    168
    83
    45
See reviews for
84
284
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

great location your within 5 mins of dam square red light district and Central station. Hotel was clean room was cleaned everyday towels and bedding changed daily. Breakfast was good, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon,beans, toast. Cereals ham cheese salad fruit tea coffee juices jams and spreads what more can anyone want. Staff friendly and polite. This hotel is non smoking even though you would spot the odd ones having quick smoke outta window. We would definitely stay here again amd looking to book again in January with friends. I read some good and bad reviews about this place and I think some people are just moaners if you want 5 star treatment go to a 5 star hotel I will recommend this hotel to others.
It's a great city with plenty to see there are many coffee shops very near to hotel for those who are wanting to get wrecked and some lovely sight seeing for those who don't enjoy your stay we did.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Really wasn't impressed with this hotel, booked in advance thinking we'd get a decent room for £110 a night, (working in the hotel business i know what to expect for my money) turns out we had the poorest room I reckon that was in the hotel. When showering the bathroom floor completely flooded, no iron was available (altho stated on website there was on request, the noise from the kitchen in the mornings was poor (have some respect when playing your radio) the noise from the vents outside out window wasn't actually as bad as I thought it was going to be. The breakfast was disgusting, while there being lots to choice from it just wasn't what we was expecting - salad for breakfast??.... All in all I think we just got stuck with a rubbish room, was going to speak to reception but whenever I went down there was no1 around & frankly when asking for the iron the dark haired lady was so rude & abrupt I didn't really see the point. I would only recommend this hotel if you view your room first, we paid £110 for a £70 room. VERY disappointed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It wasn't a value at all. The hotel staff was ineffectual, the internet didn't work unless in specific areas of the hotel, the towels were dirty, the room was dirty and several fixtures were broken or unusable in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Avenue hotel in Amsterdam....very close to Central station and medium priced....had a wonderful buffet breakfast included in the price and the staff were very helpful in planning your day or just general info...rooms were very clean and a bit on the bigger size for Europe..would recommend highly.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got to the hotel room and there was lots of rubbish under the bed, the sheets on the bed were covered in hairs and the shower was disgusting. we met an american couple and they found dirty underwear in their room. cleaners broke into my case and stole 60 euro, told the staff and they didnt want to know. After this happened we put the sign on the door handle telling them not to come in the room yet they still did so if you do stay make sure you carry all your money/passport etc do not leave it in room. Breakfast selection was poor. I never pick faults with hotels but avenue hotel was shocking. This is the first review I've left.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.