We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too different for my liking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A bit too different for my liking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Title expresses how I feel about the hotel but I acknowledge this is slightly unfair.

Explanation:
Wasn't sure what to expect as this was booked on spec (& Trip Advisor recommendation) due to lack of availability at hotels recommended.
Not your standard chain fare - no restaurant on site (italian around the corner apparently), bar snacks (including a mean croque monsieur with ketchup) available.
At 10pm anything was better than going out to eat & toasted sandwich more than filled the hole.

Room was also not standard chain format - laminate flooring & a wardrobe clearly not constructed to accommodate the width of a normal hanger width meant that unpacking felt like a noisy and uncomfortable affair.

Maybe I am too concerned at next door neighbours but echoing in room due to lack of carpeting made me feel uncomfortable - others may not feel so worried.

That being said I had no real complaints although I was glad that I had set an alternative alarm as the requested wake up call did not materialise.

Other than this can't really fault, 230 Euros for the room seemed a bit steep but if demand exceeds supply then one has to pay the going rate.

In conclusion - not my cup of tea but perfectly acceptable - not convinced I would stay here if there was an alternative but would consider as I had no real complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    77
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
61
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very good hotel on a quiet, residential street. 24hr reception provides knowledgeable service for business and tourist info. Good breakfast with hot selection - all self service. Wifi is chargeable. Room was well kept. Note: no a/c or tea/coffee in room. Bottled water is provided. Very good service from helpful staff however this hotel is quiet in the bar are even when all rooms are full. If you prefer, there are several restaurants within 10mins walk. Trams stop just 3mins away takes you through to central station.
Booked for return visit and reception gave a €10 discount against best online deal. Good value for money €145 twin room inc breakfasts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful residential zone, nearest tram stop is a minute away and the museum quarter 2 stops away, while the Dam Square is about 15 minutes on the tram. The staf is not overly friendly but professionally helpful. The room we stayed in, 27, had a nice view and was very spacious for 2. The best thing about this hotel was how spotlessly clean everything was during 4 days we stsyed there. If that's more important to you than a central location, than go for this lovely hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from staying here for a few nights. The hotel is not right in the centre of amsterdam, but it's a nice quiet area with shops and restaurants around it, and only 5 mins on a tram to the museumplein and 10 mins to leidesplein area. You can get either tram 5 or 24 direct to most places you want to be, from just near the hotel and you can buy travel cards for as long as you are there, if you buy one for a few days it works out about 5 eur per person per day.

Rooms are nicely done, and modern bathroom with helpful reception staff. Didn't try breakfast, expensive at about 16 eur per person as can get breakfast elsewhere for cheaper.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staff very pleasant/helpful, lounge/bar cozy, adequate breakfast, trams 24&5 (for the centre or Rijksmuseum) within 1 min walk, quiet area, shopping/restaurants just round the corner, good value, RAI about 10 minutes walk, taxi to Schiphol around € 50

Room Tip: room 27 is spacious, but none of the rooms have tea/coffee making facilities -> needs to introduc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
177 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Apollofirst is located in the beautiful Southern part of Amsterdam on the Apollolaan, a kind of boulevard with high class houses and offices. It is a relatively quiet location. The hotel itself is cosy and beautful. It is the kind of place where one feels at home.
They also have a lovely citygarden. Rooms are well decorated. Staff is friendly and efficient. Public transportation is round the corner. Breakfast is good and served in a beautiful room with gardenview.

Room Tip: Have a room on the garden Side and you have a very good sleep as there is no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I wanted to be in a quiet neighborhood, but still convenient ( especially since I would have a bike ). This hotel was elegant. I would certainly return.
Was 20-25 minutes on the tram from rail station - then 2 minutes to door step
Rented a bike and loved that - but takes GREAT CARE - with cars, trams, metal rails, pedestrians and getting lost all factoring ( It is REALLY easy to get lost in Amsterdam - gotta make that part of the experience - but make sure to have a good map ).
Pauline at the desk was lovely and very helpful at arrival and check out.
Room facing the boulevard was simply comfy. Wi-fi was slow ( even the pay high speed ). Some bulbs were burn out - hotel should check this daily. All that being said, I really liked this place for it's class, comfort, quietness, but easy access to museum district. If you want the high life, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.