We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Save Saved
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
42
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel for people looking for quiet, its located in very calm street where no tram passing through, however its very close to the tram station around 2 minutes walking where you can easily take tram no16 and go to dame square, it's 15 minutes walking from Rai which is very good for people coming for exhibitions, it has no good scenery, and the rooms is very small, but for one person will be ok

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked a double room for Eur. 175.00 per night for 5 nights....The least i can describe the situation is dissapointing. I am in a very small room with no view, i hear the slightest movement on the corridor and 2 people can not move easily in the room at the same time.
The fact that the reception is helpful doesn't help much if you take into account that with the money i have paid i could easily book a 4 star hotel. Unacceptable!!! Avoid it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The very best relaxing and friendly Hotel in Amsterdam. After staying in many different hotels in Amsterdam for more than 16 years, this one is the best.
The Hotel is very central when are working at the RAI exhibitions. Nice good walk to the fair and back, no need for taxi. Good restaurants near by.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hastings
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a small, boutique hotel with an art deco/retro feel and a beautifully decorated breakfast room and bar. The hotel is located in a nice residential area about 5 mins walk from Vondelpark and close to a tram line (60 seconds walk) that runs right into the city without having to change. The hotel is also just under 15 mins walk to Olympic Stadium.
The breakfast was excellent and served well by a waiter.
Service is generally friendly and professional. My room was a double and whilst not large was perfectly adequate and quiet. The bed is very comfortable.
My only issues with the hotel were that the room did not have a shower; just a bath and shower extension that would not work. Also this hotel is a theatre as well which sounds interesting (and is) but if a show is on, and you fancy sitting in the bar for a drink or meal, this prevents doing so.
My view was that the price charged for the hotel was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

On the first night I arrived it was heavily raining. So I thought the water sounds I heard all night was water running down the guttering outside the room. . But the noise carried on for the rest of my stay, even when the rain had stopped, so that I had a terrible nights sleep.
Hotel looks a bit dated to me. Didn't try restaurant or bar.
Location is a t least good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

just returned from staying in a rubbish bestwestern hotel in a soulless part of amsterdam. Have stayed in the Apollo first twice before and the comparisons are huge. Apollofirst - atmosphere, class, character and warmth. The Bestwestern hotel (the Bluesquare) - cold, drab, boring. The Apollofirst is in a lovely part of Amsterdam, outside the centre but very close for convenience, it also has number of good restuarants and shops within a few minutes walking distance, and a nice green area outside the door. The decor and interiors are almost belle epoque - the reception and dining area are beautiful. Also we had two different rooms either time we stayed but both were beautifully decorated and very large. We also enjoyed the breakfast very much, and the bar was lovely and cosy and the barman whose name now escapes me was always friendly with a nice easy banter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.