We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Running water” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Running water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

On the first night I arrived it was heavily raining. So I thought the water sounds I heard all night was water running down the guttering outside the room. . But the noise carried on for the rest of my stay, even when the rain had stopped, so that I had a terrible nights sleep.
Hotel looks a bit dated to me. Didn't try restaurant or bar.
Location is a t least good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    84
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
68
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
alltech@elivefree.net
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

just returned from staying in a rubbish bestwestern hotel in a soulless part of amsterdam. Have stayed in the Apollo first twice before and the comparisons are huge. Apollofirst - atmosphere, class, character and warmth. The Bestwestern hotel (the Bluesquare) - cold, drab, boring. The Apollofirst is in a lovely part of Amsterdam, outside the centre but very close for convenience, it also has number of good restuarants and shops within a few minutes walking distance, and a nice green area outside the door. The decor and interiors are almost belle epoque - the reception and dining area are beautiful. Also we had two different rooms either time we stayed but both were beautifully decorated and very large. We also enjoyed the breakfast very much, and the bar was lovely and cosy and the barman whose name now escapes me was always friendly with a nice easy banter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend. Room was small that was bit disapointing, but beds very comfortable.bathroom clean.Breakfast continental, fresh bread was delisious, choice of jams and jouices very nice.Expencive drinks at the evening at the bar we've paid for two gin and tonic 26 euros. Tram to centrum every few minutes takes about 15 minutes. Overall very nice, however bit expencive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is most likely the place Moriarty stayed whilst plotting to shove poor Sherlock off the Reichenbach Falls. It oozes atmosphere and character. The stairs are narrow and steep enough to hold off half a dozen Pinkerton agents at once and the lift only sufficient to hold one American tourist at a time. Set in a quite location near Amsterdam’s principal museums opposite a pleasant green where strangely enough on the days of my stay there was a bloodhound was running loose. Mustard soup is a Dutch speciality but unfortunately without the aid of Sherlock I could not locate any restaurant that served it. I visit Amsterdam regularly on Business and this hotel is my favourite.To quote the ex- governor of California “I will be back!”

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel is in a quiet part of Amsterdam a tram ride away from the centre. It was probably a bit too quiet and lifeless for our liking and maybe a bit overpriced at 126 euros for a double room without breakfast. We were only there for one night and were, generally, happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#117 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Apollo
Wyndham Apollo
#114 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#176 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#190 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
2.9 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.