We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“having stayed in a best western...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alltech@elivefree.net
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“having stayed in a best western...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

just returned from staying in a rubbish bestwestern hotel in a soulless part of amsterdam. Have stayed in the Apollo first twice before and the comparisons are huge. Apollofirst - atmosphere, class, character and warmth. The Bestwestern hotel (the Bluesquare) - cold, drab, boring. The Apollofirst is in a lovely part of Amsterdam, outside the centre but very close for convenience, it also has number of good restuarants and shops within a few minutes walking distance, and a nice green area outside the door. The decor and interiors are almost belle epoque - the reception and dining area are beautiful. Also we had two different rooms either time we stayed but both were beautifully decorated and very large. We also enjoyed the breakfast very much, and the bar was lovely and cosy and the barman whose name now escapes me was always friendly with a nice easy banter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
10
55
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend. Room was small that was bit disapointing, but beds very comfortable.bathroom clean.Breakfast continental, fresh bread was delisious, choice of jams and jouices very nice.Expencive drinks at the evening at the bar we've paid for two gin and tonic 26 euros. Tram to centrum every few minutes takes about 15 minutes. Overall very nice, however bit expencive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is most likely the place Moriarty stayed whilst plotting to shove poor Sherlock off the Reichenbach Falls. It oozes atmosphere and character. The stairs are narrow and steep enough to hold off half a dozen Pinkerton agents at once and the lift only sufficient to hold one American tourist at a time. Set in a quite location near Amsterdam’s principal museums opposite a pleasant green where strangely enough on the days of my stay there was a bloodhound was running loose. Mustard soup is a Dutch speciality but unfortunately without the aid of Sherlock I could not locate any restaurant that served it. I visit Amsterdam regularly on Business and this hotel is my favourite.To quote the ex- governor of California “I will be back!”

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel is in a quiet part of Amsterdam a tram ride away from the centre. It was probably a bit too quiet and lifeless for our liking and maybe a bit overpriced at 126 euros for a double room without breakfast. We were only there for one night and were, generally, happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for just one night. The room was very dark and gloomy plus very very small for two adults. The room itself faced onto the main road and was very noisy during peak times especially in the morning. Quite a walk to the nearest tram stop and I found the staff to be very rude and patronising. We left that morning and went to another hotel nearby where we stayed for a further 3 nights which was lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the main road and certainly check the room out before you pay for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.