We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
10
56
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antrain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is most likely the place Moriarty stayed whilst plotting to shove poor Sherlock off the Reichenbach Falls. It oozes atmosphere and character. The stairs are narrow and steep enough to hold off half a dozen Pinkerton agents at once and the lift only sufficient to hold one American tourist at a time. Set in a quite location near Amsterdam’s principal museums opposite a pleasant green where strangely enough on the days of my stay there was a bloodhound was running loose. Mustard soup is a Dutch speciality but unfortunately without the aid of Sherlock I could not locate any restaurant that served it. I visit Amsterdam regularly on Business and this hotel is my favourite.To quote the ex- governor of California “I will be back!”

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel is in a quiet part of Amsterdam a tram ride away from the centre. It was probably a bit too quiet and lifeless for our liking and maybe a bit overpriced at 126 euros for a double room without breakfast. We were only there for one night and were, generally, happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for just one night. The room was very dark and gloomy plus very very small for two adults. The room itself faced onto the main road and was very noisy during peak times especially in the morning. Quite a walk to the nearest tram stop and I found the staff to be very rude and patronising. We left that morning and went to another hotel nearby where we stayed for a further 3 nights which was lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the main road and certainly check the room out before you pay for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 10 days. We found the personnel very helpful at all times (a special mention for Sam). The room was fine (we had a suite which included a kichinette, electric kettle and coffee maker), the bed was extremely confortable and the bathroom perfect. It is close enough from the downtown area and close to the tram. The neighbourhood is quiet.

I found the free WiFi a little slow, but was adequate for our use, and the free TV rather limited.

It was a very agreeable stay. I certainly recommend it and would surely return on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a great experience staying here during jan 2012 . Room was spotless as was the toilet.Quiet location a short walk to tram and both 24 and 5 will get you into centre in around 15 minutes.

Getting around Amsterdam and to and from the hotel was very easy. Only negative side would be the 7 euro for the all day pass that you need to get to the centre. Not worth buying tickets at each journey as the all day pass soon gets used up.
We had very few issues with the staff who were always pleasant and helpful.
We would have rated this hotel 5 but for the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.