We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quite good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel is in a quiet part of Amsterdam a tram ride away from the centre. It was probably a bit too quiet and lifeless for our liking and maybe a bit overpriced at 126 euros for a double room without breakfast. We were only there for one night and were, generally, happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    60
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
47
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for just one night. The room was very dark and gloomy plus very very small for two adults. The room itself faced onto the main road and was very noisy during peak times especially in the morning. Quite a walk to the nearest tram stop and I found the staff to be very rude and patronising. We left that morning and went to another hotel nearby where we stayed for a further 3 nights which was lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the main road and certainly check the room out before you pay for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 10 days. We found the personnel very helpful at all times (a special mention for Sam). The room was fine (we had a suite which included a kichinette, electric kettle and coffee maker), the bed was extremely confortable and the bathroom perfect. It is close enough from the downtown area and close to the tram. The neighbourhood is quiet.

I found the free WiFi a little slow, but was adequate for our use, and the free TV rather limited.

It was a very agreeable stay. I certainly recommend it and would surely return on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a great experience staying here during jan 2012 . Room was spotless as was the toilet.Quiet location a short walk to tram and both 24 and 5 will get you into centre in around 15 minutes.

Getting around Amsterdam and to and from the hotel was very easy. Only negative side would be the 7 euro for the all day pass that you need to get to the centre. Not worth buying tickets at each journey as the all day pass soon gets used up.
We had very few issues with the staff who were always pleasant and helpful.
We would have rated this hotel 5 but for the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, usa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Have walked past this hotel for years. For years it was always full on my trips to A. Glad we kept trying, have booked for 2012

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A small hotel located in a pretty residential neighbourhood, just a short tram ride away from the central area, and within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum. A short tram ride the other direction takes you to Amsterdam Zoud station, which is one train station away from the airport, so you can avoid the busy Centraal station. The rooms are fine, really quiet, and the breakfast room is very nice with an assortment of hot and cold items. The desk staff were helpful if you had questions about transportation or directions somewhere. One problem for us was that with the wireless access (which is not free) you can only ever connect with one device, i.e. two iPods, a laptop/iPod combo are not permitted.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed Appolo Hotel for one week (business trip) and won't return there anytime soon (and will recommend against this hotel for future business trips).

Internet access was very poor (connections being interrupted all the time), breakfast ok but lunch not varied at all with a very rude service.

Rooms are generally clean, but service was very mediocre from the start: had to wait for more than half an hour for my room to be ready. Even though I gave my credit cart to the waitress, the key to my room was later on inactivated without notice.
Reason: they hadn't swaped my credit cart properly. What a joke knowing that we were business travellers and that our company was paying for all the expenses ... I was treated like a thief and of course do not appreciate that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.