We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst to your Saves list
Apollofirst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 10 days. We found the personnel very helpful at all times (a special mention for Sam). The room was fine (we had a suite which included a kichinette, electric kettle and coffee maker), the bed was extremely confortable and the bathroom perfect. It is close enough from the downtown area and close to the tram. The neighbourhood is quiet.

I found the free WiFi a little slow, but was adequate for our use, and the free TV rather limited.

It was a very agreeable stay. I certainly recommend it and would surely return on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Catt_First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had a great experience staying here during jan 2012 . Room was spotless as was the toilet.Quiet location a short walk to tram and both 24 and 5 will get you into centre in around 15 minutes.

Getting around Amsterdam and to and from the hotel was very easy. Only negative side would be the 7 euro for the all day pass that you need to get to the centre. Not worth buying tickets at each journey as the all day pass soon gets used up.
We had very few issues with the staff who were always pleasant and helpful.
We would have rated this hotel 5 but for the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highflyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, usa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Have walked past this hotel for years. For years it was always full on my trips to A. Glad we kept trying, have booked for 2012

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A small hotel located in a pretty residential neighbourhood, just a short tram ride away from the central area, and within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum. A short tram ride the other direction takes you to Amsterdam Zoud station, which is one train station away from the airport, so you can avoid the busy Centraal station. The rooms are fine, really quiet, and the breakfast room is very nice with an assortment of hot and cold items. The desk staff were helpful if you had questions about transportation or directions somewhere. One problem for us was that with the wireless access (which is not free) you can only ever connect with one device, i.e. two iPods, a laptop/iPod combo are not permitted.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OllienPounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed Appolo Hotel for one week (business trip) and won't return there anytime soon (and will recommend against this hotel for future business trips).

Internet access was very poor (connections being interrupted all the time), breakfast ok but lunch not varied at all with a very rude service.

Rooms are generally clean, but service was very mediocre from the start: had to wait for more than half an hour for my room to be ready. Even though I gave my credit cart to the waitress, the key to my room was later on inactivated without notice.
Reason: they hadn't swaped my credit cart properly. What a joke knowing that we were business travellers and that our company was paying for all the expenses ... I was treated like a thief and of course do not appreciate that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lacordaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Large clean recently decorated room, modern bathroom - really cannot fault them apart rom the lack of air conditioning (it was warm when I was there so room got very stuffy despite windows which could be opened).

Breakfast was really super with a huge high-quality selection.

My main problem with this hotel is the lack or a restaurant or even room service. Nobody offered to help with my luggage either. However staff were mostly friendly and efficient.

The hotel is situated is a residential area, a short taxi ride from the centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

TV in my room did not work..i`ve asked the reception to fix it but no one came to see what was wrong with it..When i checked out the hotel they charged me for the TV anyway ,and there was NO way they admitted there own fault in this..very disappointing i will never go back here..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#99 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Apollofirst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing