We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY IN AMSTERDAM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY IN AMSTERDAM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a great experience staying here during jan 2012 . Room was spotless as was the toilet.Quiet location a short walk to tram and both 24 and 5 will get you into centre in around 15 minutes.

Getting around Amsterdam and to and from the hotel was very easy. Only negative side would be the 7 euro for the all day pass that you need to get to the centre. Not worth buying tickets at each journey as the all day pass soon gets used up.
We had very few issues with the staff who were always pleasant and helpful.
We would have rated this hotel 5 but for the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
46
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, usa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Have walked past this hotel for years. For years it was always full on my trips to A. Glad we kept trying, have booked for 2012

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A small hotel located in a pretty residential neighbourhood, just a short tram ride away from the central area, and within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum. A short tram ride the other direction takes you to Amsterdam Zoud station, which is one train station away from the airport, so you can avoid the busy Centraal station. The rooms are fine, really quiet, and the breakfast room is very nice with an assortment of hot and cold items. The desk staff were helpful if you had questions about transportation or directions somewhere. One problem for us was that with the wireless access (which is not free) you can only ever connect with one device, i.e. two iPods, a laptop/iPod combo are not permitted.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed Appolo Hotel for one week (business trip) and won't return there anytime soon (and will recommend against this hotel for future business trips).

Internet access was very poor (connections being interrupted all the time), breakfast ok but lunch not varied at all with a very rude service.

Rooms are generally clean, but service was very mediocre from the start: had to wait for more than half an hour for my room to be ready. Even though I gave my credit cart to the waitress, the key to my room was later on inactivated without notice.
Reason: they hadn't swaped my credit cart properly. What a joke knowing that we were business travellers and that our company was paying for all the expenses ... I was treated like a thief and of course do not appreciate that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Large clean recently decorated room, modern bathroom - really cannot fault them apart rom the lack of air conditioning (it was warm when I was there so room got very stuffy despite windows which could be opened).

Breakfast was really super with a huge high-quality selection.

My main problem with this hotel is the lack or a restaurant or even room service. Nobody offered to help with my luggage either. However staff were mostly friendly and efficient.

The hotel is situated is a residential area, a short taxi ride from the centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

TV in my room did not work..i`ve asked the reception to fix it but no one came to see what was wrong with it..When i checked out the hotel they charged me for the TV anyway ,and there was NO way they admitted there own fault in this..very disappointing i will never go back here..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and it served our needs perfectly well. It is in a quieter location, and it is a bit out of the centre, but there are direct frequent trams to the centre. The staff were courteous and even though they could not find out booking they honoured it nonetheless as we had a print out from the company.
There is a quiet bar and breakfast area and the rooms were nice.
Overall, a nice place to stay, suitable more for a quiet stay rather than a mad one!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.