We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a two night break at this place. What can I say. On arrival we were informed that the lift was broken and we were on the fourth floor. Now these steps were half the size of my foot, very steep and one of the banisters was loose. I asked when the lift would be fixed as my friend suffers from bad back and I was told Monday when we would be leaving. I was offered no alternative. There was little light on these hazardous stairs and my friend fell whilst trying to carry her case. Thank god they hadn't bothered to lift six bags of laundry from the Hall All weekend as these saved my friend from killing herself when she fell. Our room was hot and dirty. The towels were worn and our pillows were like squashed sandwiches. Extra pillows supposedly provided, supposedly. The fridge door was hanging off in our room and our door wouldn't lock, possibly to do with the nail hammered into the handle. Breakfast was basic and staff were very unhelpful. We asked about facilities to make coffee and were told by the receptionist she had 101 things to do and then would sort a coffee. Still waiting. Tried to check out and no one bothered to come to reception. Absolute disgrace and I am sorry I stayed there.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    49
    48
    55
See reviews for
26
85
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel as an add on to a Viking cruise. When we arrived, the manager advised us that our rooms had been overbooked and he was sending us to a sister hotel via taxi that he had paid for. When we arrived at this place it was nothing more than a hostel the young man who met us apologised for no lift - it was 67 steps to our room. We decided not to stay and luckily were able to find a City Plaza hotel free. I immediately complained to Booking.com with whom I had made the reservation and some two months later they provided a refund

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Omega for three days and had a great time. The rooms are moderate size which is usual in Amsterdam and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the tourist district and the weekend street market is only a minute away. The owner was a very nice gentleman who assisted me in every way to fully enjoy the scenery around town. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Omega Hotel is a comfortable hotel where everything is closed by. Its a 15 minute walk to the Heineken Experience and many other tourist attractions. The rooms are small but they are clean and cozy. The church across the street rings the bell every hour making the experience unique. I loved it. Staff is very friendly and very helpful. I recommend this place for visitors who don't want to spend a lot of money in lodging but still want to have a great central location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

1st impression- like the Titanic- a total sinking ship. Rooms extremely basic & small. My room was not clean nor was it cleaned properly during my stay. The safe was not working & the feeble excuse given by the owner for NOT fixing it was was worthy of an Oscar winning performance. Breakfast.... The early bird catches the worm because just like Lidl- once they're gone they're gone! When either of the two cereal containers emptied they were not refilled, regardless of the time. The selection of food for breakfast was very poor. On a positive note the surrounding area is nice and quiet with not a drunken lout in sight! Try and avoid!!!

Room Tip: Don't expect much from any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my friend for a week here. The first few nights were very difficult for us. Our initial room was tiny, hot (no air conditioning, but we did get a fan when we complained), uncomfortable, no wifi and we were woken up every hour from the churches clock tower throughout the night. When we spoke to the staff about our disappointment and frustrations they quickly remedied the situation for us. We received a much more comfortable room on the other side of the hotel far from the bells and afternoon heat. From that point on our stay was incredible! The staff was friendly, genuine, helpful, and kind. What an amazing staff! I even forgot my cellphone at the hotel the day I flew home, and the staff helped me retrieve it and then mailed it to me. To me, that is above and beyond. People make the experience and this staff really made my trip great! The location is conveniently located a short walk from Vondelpark and the VanGogh Museum, everything else is an easy ride on public transport away. Breakfast was ok after supplementing my own veggies to the toast and cheese spread. (The supermarket is very close too.) I think it was worth the money and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Omega staff for dealing with us and helping us have a wonderful week!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ראשון לציון, ישראל, מזרח התיכון
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Omega hotel is very nice place, once we arrived the staff was nice and kind, the rooms was pretty small but realy nice and the wi-fi signle in the room was bad, the breakfest was nice and you can eat inside or in the garden, the staff was kind and polite and realy freindly people, the location is little bit far from rembrandtsplein and from damsplein but not too far, amsterdam is a very nice and beatiful place and the hotel is in a great location queit safe and nice, when ill come back to this amazing city i defanatly take this hotel again...!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.