We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Tallinn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Crap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Besides the location there's nothing good in this hotel. Our first room had windows which didn't open because screwed together and aircon was not working. So basically no air and no cooling.
Manager told us that they have 10 levels of room and we had the lowest one...hotel that has around 30 rooms :D
After we showed the reservation and asked him does he really thinks that we ordered room with closed windows and no aircon and bumpy bed he finally switched our room. It was slightly better but overall if you have other options don't go there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello And sorry to hear what hear how you felt about the hotel.
We are committed to all reviews and appreciate you taking the time to comment.
We are sorry you were not happy with your room. Unfortunately due to the availability of the hotel, we had very few other options. Hope we see you again at our hotel so you can experience a more positive stay.
Omega Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    47
    44
    51
See reviews for
23
83
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We decided to plan a trip to Amsterdam and we didn't really know much about it and where to stay, we stumbled upon this hotel as a package with flights etc.. There was four of us in total and we had booked a room with four beds. The room was on the top floor and was well sized. Room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom and had a great view of a church right outside our window. The breakfast in the mornings was ok, not a massive selection but enough to get a good breakfast down you before you start the day, also providing fresh juice, tea and coffee. The hotel is located a little out of the main parts of Amsterdam but once we knew which trams to catch we were fine finding our way around. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Vondel Park which was great as to save money we would buy salads and snacks and sit on the park to eat. There is a bar in the hotel but we had been told that they had a new owner who did not open the bar, we were not too bothered by this other than not being able to by any sort of drink in the hotel, and there were no shops close by to buy one either. I think if they had just a vending machine with bottled drinks in then it would be fine. We have already decided that we would all stay here again if we planned another trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review! We have recently been major changes in the hotel and are pleased to see making an impact on our customer base. They Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Omega Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The room we stayed in was located on the fourth floor and it probably hadn't been hoovered or cleaned for some time before we arrived. The carpet was dirty and there stains and hair all over the beds. Although we had booked a double bed, the room had two single beds nowhere near each other. Both of the pillows were solid and uncomfortable, which were was impossible to sleep on without waking with whiplash. Sheets and towels were fresh, though were not changed during our stay. The curtains were dirty, dusty and broken. Furniture was outdated and poorly maintained. The TV didn't work at all, nor did the hairdryer. And to be honeat the whole room smelled of cabbage. The WiFi was non existent except for in the reception. They served only beer in the bar. And the worst of all was the church opposite which chimed on the hour every hour. I recommend everyone pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived at 13.00 and the receptionist confirmed our reservation and invited us to leave the luggage and return after 14.00 pm when the room would be ready. We returned at 15.00 and found a young woman at the reception who informed us that the hotel is over-booked, although I showed her the printed booking from booking.com. My feeling is that the first receptionist gave the room to other guest without reservation, against bribery. Finally they moved us to another location which was not ok for us but we didn't have any other choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I don't think i would've rated the hotel good if our sched's didn't support outdoors as much. The room was comfy, good for a quick shi*-shave-shower. The bed/mattress was creaking and the spring from the mattress jutted out and hurt. We recvd torn towels but were crisp n clean though and that was wat was important. Being a no-fuss couple helps while travelling, esp'ly when the city if bursting with tourists and the hotel is short of hands! Bfast spread was meagre, cud’ve been better.
But that said, the staff were warm and speak fluent English. The location is easily accessible from Centraal . (No. 2 & No. 16; stop name is Jac.Obrechtstraat as printed on the stops) and also the airport bus (No. 197) You could get off at Prinsengracht which is on the way from the hotel towards the Centraal and walk to many attractions from there. The sights and the attractions are all worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Set in a nice area on outskirts of the main city and only a 5/10 min walk into the beginning of the main attractions this hotel is in a good location. Best way to travel is by bike and the hotel rents them at competitive rates (50 euro security deposit). Small garden area to the rear and FREE WIFI is always a bonus. We had a tiny twin room on the 4th floor, the beds were a bit soft & the annoying bells chiming every hour from the church opposite are my only gripes but it was fine for the budget.

Didn't eat at the hotel so cant comment on the food.

Staff seemed friendly enough and supplied extra towels on request.

We were not made aware of the city TAX payable on arrival and will query this with our booking agent.

Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Very far from main station.
poor service. Things didn't get fixed and replaced even after reminding twice. Breakfast menu is limited and disappointing. Wifi is super slow. Most of the staff were imposing silly unwelcoming rules . My advice please find another hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.