We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not perfect, not that bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not perfect, not that bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

very good location, not far from the museums. quiet neighborhood. the hotel itself isn`t very modern, but that can be said about most buildings in this area. receptionists were polite and helpfull. the room had a little odd smell (that was gone veru quickly or maybee we got used to it...).it was clean enough. breakfast was nothing less than we expected.nothing more, too.
overall, if the hotel is intended for sleeping and not for staying the whole day, i would recommend it regarding its` affordable price/

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your coment.

We would like to inform you that we have now starting to have contact with some of the museums in our are ( Vang Gogh and Rijskmuseum ) ans starting next year the tickets will be also available in the hotel that way the guest don't need to wait in line to go to the musums.

We would like to thank you and to inform also that at the end of the year we will be making some reconstructions on the Hotel and improving somethings also in the breakfast.

Would you like to stay with us please let us know and we will be more that happy to have you back.

Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    58
    49
    59
See reviews for
33
94
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After reading the last few reviews on Tripadvisor I started to panic about what we would find when we arrived at the Omega... we had booked this through easyjet holidays and expected basic/budget accommodation. When we arrived at the Omega we checked in and was handed a room key for No. 45... We headed up to the fourth floor and was about to go into room 45 when the lady from housekeeping very politely told us that room 45 had guests in it. Reception had obviously made a mistake but she would ring down for us and get this sorted. Well my heart sunk and I had images of us running round looking somewhere to stay. Very quickly we were told to go down to reception , which we did and we were handed a key for room 34. Once we got into the room everything was fine. Yes it is dated and could do with a paint in areas but it was clean, the beds were comfortable and we had a balcony out onto the street which was lovely. The church clock didn’t annoy us and the location of the Omega is fantastic… It is basic/budget...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment on our Hotel.

We would like to apologice for the mistake that happen on your arrival. We have check and indeed there was a problem in the system but now everything is OK.

We would like to inform you the we will be making some remodolations in the Hotel and some improvement in the Breakfast also.

Should you want to stay with us in the future please let us know.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at the Omega Hotel in the center of Amsterdam on Saturday, October 11, 2013, between 14.30 and 15.00. To our big surprise, the hotel employee at the reception informed us that there was no booking in the hotel system on our name. We showed him the e-mail, voucher, and confirmation we received from GALA HOTELS. He insisted on having no information. He called his manager and said to us that the manager of the hotel Omega does not know anything about Gala Hotel in principle; never heard of such on-line booking services. He advised us to call with Gala ourselves and figure out what's happened. We refused to it, and politely asked him to take it over. He called with Gala, but they recommended him to contact yet another on-line services - "hotelbeds". In its turn, "hotelbeds" did not respond to the telephone call at all. We were promised to be called on Sunday and were re-addressed to another hotel "Rooms and Co", that seemed to have also three stars score. Rooms and Co offered us the most terrible services we ever experienced in our world trips. For 15 minutes we had to wait until somebody came to open the door; this somebody looked like a cleaning lady; she asked immediatley for payment. Our arguments that Gala Hotels probably charged already - did not help. We paid cash 129 EUR for the dirt and no services... it was also 3 stars; and obviously two hotels, Omega and Rooms and Co were somehow connected. We have discovered that later, on the same day a similar experience happened to two other couples, who were re-directed from Omega to the Rooms. On Sunday we did not receive a call from Omega as was promissed; we called ourselves to figure out what's happened. Instead of excuses we got to know that the employee who picked up the phone did not understand a "thing in reservations of the rooms", and adviced us to call later. Today, Monday - we gave up to wait for any explanation. It has all happened in the cente of Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that there are hundreds of travel agency's and all of them are working with 1 central agency. Therefore we can not know them al. When you made your booking what happen was that you made a booking in 1 travel agency and that travel agency made the booking with another agency and then that agency made the booking with us.

Sometimes in this process something goes wrong with the booking and that was why we advice you to contact with your agency because only they knew with whom that they had book with.

We are also now in the process of checking with the agency's that we work with to check what is the company.

If you require any more information please let us know.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I were booked in for Friday 4th and Saturday 5th of October. Upon arriving the manager said there was no booking. He blamed booking.com for overbooking the rooms . He did find us another hotel which he said was central. The hotel was 30 minutes by tram from the city centre. The hotel did pay for our taxi to our alternative hotel. our weekend was slightly tainted by being so far out of city centre when on a short break. When I contacted booking.com they indicated the problem lay with the hotel, having read all the omega reviews I can see something similar happened previously.
If this happens, I would recommend you contact booking.com immediately. I waited till I got home, where as if I done it at the time it might have been sorted out.


PJ

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
1. There were no coat hangers in the wardrope - we asked for some and although the reception was surprised we didn't have any, none arrived.

We are very surprise that this happen since that we have a lot of hangers here in the hotel.

2. The safe didn't work - probably needs a new battery.

The reason that the safe did not work it wans't for the lack of batteries but because the last guest shut the door of the safe on the check out and when that happens unfortunately we have to call to the company of the safes to come and open it since that the door only opens with the guest code or with a special machine that only the company have. We have now arrange also that everyday we have the company will come to the hotel everyday.

3. The windows didn't open. In fact the handle had been removed and the windows nailed shut - thus we had no fresh air at all just a musty smell.

In Holland all the buildings after the 4th Floor must have all the windows shut for security reasons and the only possibility is to open the windows a little bit to the back and that is all that we are allow to do by law.

4. The room had not been hoovered (vacuum cleaner) before we arrived, nor was it during our stay. We did ask for it to be done and nothing happened. I suspect they don't own a vacuum cleaner as we never saw one there and we were there for a week.

We do have a vacuum cleaner in the hotel. Actually more then 1. We have address this complain to the cleaning company and from now on we also have our own staff going to the rooms and check them all after the cleaners are finish to make sure that everything is OK.

5. There was no fridge. Just a cupboard were it should have been.

We have check that and the fridge has been put now in the room.

6. There was mould in the shower.

We have address this complain to the cleaning company.

7. There were hairs in the bathroom when we arrived. We added to them during our stay and there was quite a pile of hair in the corner when we left. Its probably still there!

We have address this complain to the cleaning company

8. One of our pillows was very hard and we asked for it to be changed. Nothing happened.

All of our pillow are from the same manufactor and the same type of pillows so we can not understand how can 1 pillow be good and the other bad. But we will be checking them all anyway to make sure that all the pillow are ok.

9. There is no reception between 7pm and 7am, so you have to use the side stairs to get to the rooms. These stairs hadn't been cleaned in years by the look of the piles of dust there.

Indeed we do not have 24h reception during the week (except for Friday and Saturday night) and on those days you need only to go until the 1st floor and take the lift from there to the others floors. It is not necessary to go up all the building.

10. The dinning room was dusty. Another guest showed the staff the dust on the window sill above the buffet table by running her fingers accross it. Her finger marks were still there days later!

We have address this complain to the cleaning company


11. Another guest found mould on the cheese - she told the staff and it was replaced. A few days later we saw a man (English? Owner/Manager?) explaining to the breakfast staff about fridge temperatures - surely she should have been told this before; or even just check the food she puts on the buffet! The breakfast buffet wasn't as shown on various websites either.

Indeed someone change the temperature of the fridge and that has been now propely explain to the staff so that it never happens again.

12. The garden was not as shown in the pictures. It had overgrown during the summer and the cushions on the seats had been left in the rain.

We are at this moment on the process of remodelling the building and also the Garden so next year it will be better.

13. Wifi reception was poor in the room. It was better though, when we opened the door to get some air in! Wifi downstairs was ok.

We have a new wireless sytem in the building so that when there's a high demand of wifi the system will not go down.

14. Despite there being no fresh air and temperatures in the room reaching the mid 20s the bed sheets weren't changed at all.

We have change now our policy and now we are changing the bed sheets every 2 days.

15. It was a double bed, as booked, but with two single duvets.

There are some rooms that indeed are like that but is only to give the option to the guest to decide if they want to sleep together or separate.

16. As mentioned before there is no reception until 7am, but there is a night porter. We checked out at 6am for an early flight so the night before we asked what the procedure might be. We were told to leave our key in the room as reception would be closed. We couldn't use the lift to get our luggage to the ground floor as the reception was closed and the doors locked so we'd have to use the lift to the first floor then lug our bags down the very steep stairs. I don't know what the night porter does on his shift but portering doesn't seem to be in his terms of reference.

We do not have a night porter like you say. What we have is a responsible person that stays in the hotel during the night and is only for case of emergency and that is all. He is not a night porter.

17. Although I've subsequently seen the hotel advertised as having a restaurant and bar... it doesn't.

Our Bar is not at this moment working since that we do not have night reception and that is why the Bar is closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a bus ride form the airport - that is another story in itself!

We had booked the hotel through Easyjet at the same time as our flights - I assumed that as it was a recommended hotel it would be ok....Big Mistake; I should have checked Tripadvisor first, although strangely enough the hotel does have some good reviews which I find hard to understand.

The first problem was the electronic room key, I tried it every way possible and it didn't work. I went back to reception and the receptionist swipped it again and said it should have worked. Back up to the room and lo it did work - my guess is it wasn't set up right to start with.

So, lets start with the good points:
1. The hotel is close to the museums, and concert hall, the area is safe and generally quiet and the trams and busses are only a few minutes walk.
2. The towels were changed daily.
3. The bed was made daily.
4. The bin was emptied daily!

On to the bad points (in roughly the order we came upon them). We had room 41:
1. There were no coat hangers in the wardrope - we asked for some and although the reception was surprised we didn't have any, none arrived.
2. The safe didn't work - probably needs a new battery.
3. The windows didn't open. In fact the handle had been removed and the windows nailed shut - thus we had no fresh air at all just a musty smell.
4. The room had not been hoovered (vacuum cleaner) before we arrived, nor was it during our stay. We did ask for it to be done and nothing happened. I suspect they don't own a vacuum cleaner as we never saw one there and we were there for a week.
5. There was no fridge. Just a cupboard were it should have been.
6. There was mould in the shower.
7. There were hairs in the bathroom when we arrived. We added to them during our stay and there was quite a pile of hair in the corner when we left. Its probably still there!
8. One of our pillows was very hard and we asked for it to be changed. Nothing happened.
9. There is no reception between 7pm and 7am, so you have to use the side stairs to get to the rooms. These stairs hadn't been cleaned in years by the look of the piles of dust there.
10. The dinning room was dusty. Another guest showed the staff the dust on the window sill above the buffet table by running her fingers accross it. Her finger marks were still there days later!
11. Another guest found mould on the cheese - she told the staff and it was replaced. A few days later we saw a man (English? Owner/Manager?) explaining to the breakfast staff about fridge temperatures - surely she should have been told this before; or even just check the food she puts on the buffet! The breakfast buffet wasn't as shown on various websites either.
12. The garden was not as shown in the pictures. It had overgrown during the summer and the cushions on the seats had been left in the rain.
13. Wifi reception was poor in the room. It was better though, when we opened the door to get some air in! Wifi downstairs was ok.
14. Despite there being no fresh air and temperatures in the room reaching the mid 20s the bed sheets weren't changed at all.
15. It was a double bed, as booked, but with two single duvets.
16. As mentioned before there is no reception until 7am, but there is a night porter. We checked out at 6am for an early flight so the night before we asked what the procedure might be. We were told to leave our key in the room as reception would be closed. We couldn't use the lift to get our luggage to the ground floor as the reception was closed and the doors locked so we'd have to use the lift to the first floor then lug our bags down the very steep stairs. I don't know what the night porter does on his shift but portering doesn't seem to be in his terms of reference.
17. Although I've subsequently seen the hotel advertised as having a restaurant and bar... it doesn't.

After the experience of the first day we didn't bother complaining or asking for anything to avoid further disappointment. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Room was not ready after check-in time even, and it was VERY dirty (I'm precised with such definitions), there was a mass at front office they tried to collect 2 times payment for accommodation. Breakfast was horrible due to poor quality of meal. No way can be recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well we arrived late in the evening, we were met by the manager of the hotel at reception, he was very friendly and we were given our room key straight away. The room was very clean and we spent 4 nights there with no problems, the breakfast was nice and we generally had a very nice stay, the price was cheaper than we normally pay, but, for what we got we were happy. We will stay there again because of the very close distance to the museums. Thanks and see you next year..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your coment.

We would like to inform you that if you do wish to come back in the future please let us know and we will be more than happy to accommodate you in our hotel.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.