We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be shut down for renovation and change of management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Crawley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Should be shut down for renovation and change of management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a bus ride form the airport - that is another story in itself!

We had booked the hotel through Easyjet at the same time as our flights - I assumed that as it was a recommended hotel it would be ok....Big Mistake; I should have checked Tripadvisor first, although strangely enough the hotel does have some good reviews which I find hard to understand.

The first problem was the electronic room key, I tried it every way possible and it didn't work. I went back to reception and the receptionist swipped it again and said it should have worked. Back up to the room and lo it did work - my guess is it wasn't set up right to start with.

So, lets start with the good points:
1. The hotel is close to the museums, and concert hall, the area is safe and generally quiet and the trams and busses are only a few minutes walk.
2. The towels were changed daily.
3. The bed was made daily.
4. The bin was emptied daily!

On to the bad points (in roughly the order we came upon them). We had room 41:
1. There were no coat hangers in the wardrope - we asked for some and although the reception was surprised we didn't have any, none arrived.
2. The safe didn't work - probably needs a new battery.
3. The windows didn't open. In fact the handle had been removed and the windows nailed shut - thus we had no fresh air at all just a musty smell.
4. The room had not been hoovered (vacuum cleaner) before we arrived, nor was it during our stay. We did ask for it to be done and nothing happened. I suspect they don't own a vacuum cleaner as we never saw one there and we were there for a week.
5. There was no fridge. Just a cupboard were it should have been.
6. There was mould in the shower.
7. There were hairs in the bathroom when we arrived. We added to them during our stay and there was quite a pile of hair in the corner when we left. Its probably still there!
8. One of our pillows was very hard and we asked for it to be changed. Nothing happened.
9. There is no reception between 7pm and 7am, so you have to use the side stairs to get to the rooms. These stairs hadn't been cleaned in years by the look of the piles of dust there.
10. The dinning room was dusty. Another guest showed the staff the dust on the window sill above the buffet table by running her fingers accross it. Her finger marks were still there days later!
11. Another guest found mould on the cheese - she told the staff and it was replaced. A few days later we saw a man (English? Owner/Manager?) explaining to the breakfast staff about fridge temperatures - surely she should have been told this before; or even just check the food she puts on the buffet! The breakfast buffet wasn't as shown on various websites either.
12. The garden was not as shown in the pictures. It had overgrown during the summer and the cushions on the seats had been left in the rain.
13. Wifi reception was poor in the room. It was better though, when we opened the door to get some air in! Wifi downstairs was ok.
14. Despite there being no fresh air and temperatures in the room reaching the mid 20s the bed sheets weren't changed at all.
15. It was a double bed, as booked, but with two single duvets.
16. As mentioned before there is no reception until 7am, but there is a night porter. We checked out at 6am for an early flight so the night before we asked what the procedure might be. We were told to leave our key in the room as reception would be closed. We couldn't use the lift to get our luggage to the ground floor as the reception was closed and the doors locked so we'd have to use the lift to the first floor then lug our bags down the very steep stairs. I don't know what the night porter does on his shift but portering doesn't seem to be in his terms of reference.
17. Although I've subsequently seen the hotel advertised as having a restaurant and bar... it doesn't.

After the experience of the first day we didn't bother complaining or asking for anything to avoid further disappointment. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    58
    49
    59
See reviews for
33
94
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Room was not ready after check-in time even, and it was VERY dirty (I'm precised with such definitions), there was a mass at front office they tried to collect 2 times payment for accommodation. Breakfast was horrible due to poor quality of meal. No way can be recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well we arrived late in the evening, we were met by the manager of the hotel at reception, he was very friendly and we were given our room key straight away. The room was very clean and we spent 4 nights there with no problems, the breakfast was nice and we generally had a very nice stay, the price was cheaper than we normally pay, but, for what we got we were happy. We will stay there again because of the very close distance to the museums. Thanks and see you next year..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your coment.

We would like to inform you that if you do wish to come back in the future please let us know and we will be more than happy to accommodate you in our hotel.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel for several years running.
A very basic hotel but we had always got a very good price so it could be said it was value for money.
Just needed somewhere clean & quiet (if you can be away from the clock that chimes every hour) to sleep.

So we booked it again for our stay this year at the agreed price.

Then suddenly our booking was lost & we were told we could have rooms but at a very inflated price, even though we had email proof.

So that was our last visit there, got a better hotel at less than the "requested" price.

Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that you had made the reservation with the previous management and the way how they were managing the hotel was not correct. You wanted to stay with us for the IBC period that it is one of the most buzy days in Amsterdam and when all the prices are much more expensive. Therefore that was the reason we could not keep your booking for the price that was given to you. Your booking was never lost like you said but only we could not guarantee your booking with that current rate.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in march we were a party of 9. The rooms were ok although 2 of our party had to share a double bed as they had no other twins. Reception was good and we were allocated are rooms swiftly seeing we were a big group. We had a triple room with 3 single beds which was fine a bit dated but very clean.Continental Breakfast is the only meal they provide as no restaurant or bar.This was not good!!! The dutch lady who should have been serving the guests was rude and wouldnt top anything up. We had to ask the reception guy to speak to her so we could have something to eat and drink. She spoke no english and just scowled and tutted speaking in her native language. All she could say was finish if we asked for more milk or coffee. They knew how many guests were staying so you would have thought they had ordered enough supplies!! This was my first visit to amsterdam so was disappointed by the hospitality offered at the omega.Would like to go back to amsterdam again but wouldnt stay here unless things had improved. The plus side it was located near trams and walking distance to shops. The receptionists were very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your email and for your contact.

We would like to inform you that we have improve our system specially with the breakfast also. Our staff is now more client focus.
Also if you wish to book with us we will make sure that this time we will have all the Twin Rooms that you need.

If you require any more information let us know.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Customer service - excellent
breakfast - very basic
location - ok
room - small but clean.

If you want to be central to everything (walking distance). I would not recommend staying here.

P.S although this is based in a quiet residential area, the clock is extremely annoying and goes off every hour!

Room Tip: request a room as far away from the clock as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

Should you like to stay with us in the future please let us know.
We will make sure that you get a room as far away as possible from the bell.

Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel due to the good locations close to many of the famous museums in Amsterdam but I made the worst decision of my life. By reading some of the reviews on this site I was just expecting an average hotel but never thought of how bad a hotel can get. From the moment I saw the hotel I saw 4 stars on the hotel banner which I found strange coz it clearly said 3 stars on this site, a 3 star sign was shown on the door which made me think this hotel is abit dodgy. When I walked in it was a really old hotel with a really nice receptionist that has only been working there for a week, we were supposed to have one double room and one triple room but they gave us 3 different rooms all in different floors due to the hotel being full. Every room had its own problem, they all look old and dusty with a weird smell. The first double room the TV never worked. The second double room was the worst!! It was in the third floor and we couldn't open any windows, we kept complaining and an engineer was supposed to come at 11pm, at 11pm the staff said it's too late to come so they will come at 11 am and there's nothing they can do about the heat in the room so we had to endure the heat for one night with no fresh air in the room. According to the staff the windows was locked additionally so that people won't jump off the window which made feel like someone jumped off there before which is quite creepy. Additionally the fridge did not work so we had no assess to cold water. The next morning nothing happened at 11am so we went down to ask why and there was another staff there that was not informed about the window, we were so annoyed and tried to change the room and they were full again... Luckily that receptionist was really nice and promised that he will get the window fixed when we come back. When we came back we changed to a new room which I found it quite strange as he said earlier that it was full.
The third room was a single room and it stunk really bad, like no one lived there in years, luckily the smell was the only problem of that room.
Breakfast was disgusting in this hotel, the bread at the back was gone off with a massive mold in the middle, I have never seen a mold that big in a slice of bread, they must have been just replacing the bread at the top and keep reusing the bread from the previous days. I had the rice crackers at the first day which was soggy which made me wonder how long it has been there. Orange juice was so bad that I don't even know what was inside.
The wifi in this hotel never worked, only works for the staffs which I found strange. When I went down at night to ask about the wifi there was the receptionist talking to his friend on Skype on the counter, I thought he would stoo and talk to us and he just carried on at Skype so I just asked him about wifi so he said he will reset the router but after that he just went straight back to Skype...
The hotel was strange that they had a different staff every 6-8 hours, during my 2 nights stay I have encountered 6 different receptionists.
I have never seen a hotel that I felt it was dirtier than my uni house.
I am hoping that this review will help you guys in not choosing this hotel for stay so that you won't have a bad experience in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that we take very serious our guest comments.

We have take in consideration all of your review and we are making sure that that does not happen any more in the future. We have implanted a new system in the hotel as well.

Should you like to stay in the future with us so that we can remove the bad impression that you had please let us know we guarantee that we will make your experience much better this time.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.