We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel for several years running.
A very basic hotel but we had always got a very good price so it could be said it was value for money.
Just needed somewhere clean & quiet (if you can be away from the clock that chimes every hour) to sleep.

So we booked it again for our stay this year at the agreed price.

Then suddenly our booking was lost & we were told we could have rooms but at a very inflated price, even though we had email proof.

So that was our last visit there, got a better hotel at less than the "requested" price.

Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that you had made the reservation with the previous management and the way how they were managing the hotel was not correct. You wanted to stay with us for the IBC period that it is one of the most buzy days in Amsterdam and when all the prices are much more expensive. Therefore that was the reason we could not keep your booking for the price that was given to you. Your booking was never lost like you said but only we could not guarantee your booking with that current rate.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    48
    48
    52
See reviews for
24
84
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in march we were a party of 9. The rooms were ok although 2 of our party had to share a double bed as they had no other twins. Reception was good and we were allocated are rooms swiftly seeing we were a big group. We had a triple room with 3 single beds which was fine a bit dated but very clean.Continental Breakfast is the only meal they provide as no restaurant or bar.This was not good!!! The dutch lady who should have been serving the guests was rude and wouldnt top anything up. We had to ask the reception guy to speak to her so we could have something to eat and drink. She spoke no english and just scowled and tutted speaking in her native language. All she could say was finish if we asked for more milk or coffee. They knew how many guests were staying so you would have thought they had ordered enough supplies!! This was my first visit to amsterdam so was disappointed by the hospitality offered at the omega.Would like to go back to amsterdam again but wouldnt stay here unless things had improved. The plus side it was located near trams and walking distance to shops. The receptionists were very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your email and for your contact.

We would like to inform you that we have improve our system specially with the breakfast also. Our staff is now more client focus.
Also if you wish to book with us we will make sure that this time we will have all the Twin Rooms that you need.

If you require any more information let us know.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Customer service - excellent
breakfast - very basic
location - ok
room - small but clean.

If you want to be central to everything (walking distance). I would not recommend staying here.

P.S although this is based in a quiet residential area, the clock is extremely annoying and goes off every hour!

Room Tip: request a room as far away from the clock as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

Should you like to stay with us in the future please let us know.
We will make sure that you get a room as far away as possible from the bell.

Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel due to the good locations close to many of the famous museums in Amsterdam but I made the worst decision of my life. By reading some of the reviews on this site I was just expecting an average hotel but never thought of how bad a hotel can get. From the moment I saw the hotel I saw 4 stars on the hotel banner which I found strange coz it clearly said 3 stars on this site, a 3 star sign was shown on the door which made me think this hotel is abit dodgy. When I walked in it was a really old hotel with a really nice receptionist that has only been working there for a week, we were supposed to have one double room and one triple room but they gave us 3 different rooms all in different floors due to the hotel being full. Every room had its own problem, they all look old and dusty with a weird smell. The first double room the TV never worked. The second double room was the worst!! It was in the third floor and we couldn't open any windows, we kept complaining and an engineer was supposed to come at 11pm, at 11pm the staff said it's too late to come so they will come at 11 am and there's nothing they can do about the heat in the room so we had to endure the heat for one night with no fresh air in the room. According to the staff the windows was locked additionally so that people won't jump off the window which made feel like someone jumped off there before which is quite creepy. Additionally the fridge did not work so we had no assess to cold water. The next morning nothing happened at 11am so we went down to ask why and there was another staff there that was not informed about the window, we were so annoyed and tried to change the room and they were full again... Luckily that receptionist was really nice and promised that he will get the window fixed when we come back. When we came back we changed to a new room which I found it quite strange as he said earlier that it was full.
The third room was a single room and it stunk really bad, like no one lived there in years, luckily the smell was the only problem of that room.
Breakfast was disgusting in this hotel, the bread at the back was gone off with a massive mold in the middle, I have never seen a mold that big in a slice of bread, they must have been just replacing the bread at the top and keep reusing the bread from the previous days. I had the rice crackers at the first day which was soggy which made me wonder how long it has been there. Orange juice was so bad that I don't even know what was inside.
The wifi in this hotel never worked, only works for the staffs which I found strange. When I went down at night to ask about the wifi there was the receptionist talking to his friend on Skype on the counter, I thought he would stoo and talk to us and he just carried on at Skype so I just asked him about wifi so he said he will reset the router but after that he just went straight back to Skype...
The hotel was strange that they had a different staff every 6-8 hours, during my 2 nights stay I have encountered 6 different receptionists.
I have never seen a hotel that I felt it was dirtier than my uni house.
I am hoping that this review will help you guys in not choosing this hotel for stay so that you won't have a bad experience in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that we take very serious our guest comments.

We have take in consideration all of your review and we are making sure that that does not happen any more in the future. We have implanted a new system in the hotel as well.

Should you like to stay in the future with us so that we can remove the bad impression that you had please let us know we guarantee that we will make your experience much better this time.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the strangest place I have ever been to. When we arrived by car, we asked if there was anywhere cheap to park the car as it is an expensive area. We were told about a Park and Ride at the olympic stadium, but were told to go in completely the wrong direction. We eventually found it about a hour later. We then went back to the hotel to check in where we were told we were actually staying somewhere else (the Wilhelmina) which was about 10 mins walk away. We were then to come back the following day. We were shown to a room which was a single occupancy (there were two of us staying there) which also had someone elses belongings in. We were then shown to the correct room which was unmade and dirty and slightly cramped.

It's not all bad however, the staff were friendly and there was a good breakfast (apart from the orange juice which was awful). When the room was cleaned, it was very nice. The location is good, and despite a booking error which meant we had to stay elsewhere, the service was actually good and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that we take very serious our guest comments.

We have take in consideration all of your review and we are making sure that that does not happen any more in the future. We have implanted a new system in the hotel as well.

Should you like to stay in the future with us so that we can remove the bad impression that you had please let us know we guarantee that we will make your experience much better this time.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afonwen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked last minute and decided to take a chance on Hotel Omega even though the reviews here were not so good, as we didn't have much choice left in our price range, and we were both pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The location is very near all the major museums and Dam Square is a beautiful half hour walk away through the canals. Daniel the Australian owner greeted us on arrival and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was overlooking a garden and was very pleasant. Yes, the floor was a bit dirty in places and the décor was dated but the bathroom was spotless and the bed linen was fresh. For the money we though it was great and the included buffet breakfast set you up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us.

Should you like to stay with us please just let us know.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've just returned from a short break in lovely Amsterdam, and I was very satisfied with this hotel.
Firstly, it is situated in a very pleasant, easily accessible area and is within walking distance of several museums-including the Rijksmuseum-great if you want to get there early and avoid the queues!
Although some reviewers complained about the décor of this hotel, and it is a bit dated and could do with a makeover, my room was really comfortable. I slept well there -can't say that the chiming clock was a problem! The shower was hot and the bathroom spotless.
Breakfast was typically 'continental'-more than adequate and with choice of cereals etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
The reason I gave it 4/5 is because there isn't a drinks machine -it would be nice to be able to purchase a hot or cold drink in the evening.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: My room was at the back, overlooking a courtyard garden-pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We are very glad that you enjoy your stay with us.

Should you like to stay with us in the future please let us know and we will be more then glad to have you with us again and we can also arrange that you will get the same room looking over the Garden.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.