We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel due to the good locations close to many of the famous museums in Amsterdam but I made the worst decision of my life. By reading some of the reviews on this site I was just expecting an average hotel but never thought of how bad a hotel can get. From the moment I saw the hotel I saw 4 stars on the hotel banner which I found strange coz it clearly said 3 stars on this site, a 3 star sign was shown on the door which made me think this hotel is abit dodgy. When I walked in it was a really old hotel with a really nice receptionist that has only been working there for a week, we were supposed to have one double room and one triple room but they gave us 3 different rooms all in different floors due to the hotel being full. Every room had its own problem, they all look old and dusty with a weird smell. The first double room the TV never worked. The second double room was the worst!! It was in the third floor and we couldn't open any windows, we kept complaining and an engineer was supposed to come at 11pm, at 11pm the staff said it's too late to come so they will come at 11 am and there's nothing they can do about the heat in the room so we had to endure the heat for one night with no fresh air in the room. According to the staff the windows was locked additionally so that people won't jump off the window which made feel like someone jumped off there before which is quite creepy. Additionally the fridge did not work so we had no assess to cold water. The next morning nothing happened at 11am so we went down to ask why and there was another staff there that was not informed about the window, we were so annoyed and tried to change the room and they were full again... Luckily that receptionist was really nice and promised that he will get the window fixed when we come back. When we came back we changed to a new room which I found it quite strange as he said earlier that it was full.
The third room was a single room and it stunk really bad, like no one lived there in years, luckily the smell was the only problem of that room.
Breakfast was disgusting in this hotel, the bread at the back was gone off with a massive mold in the middle, I have never seen a mold that big in a slice of bread, they must have been just replacing the bread at the top and keep reusing the bread from the previous days. I had the rice crackers at the first day which was soggy which made me wonder how long it has been there. Orange juice was so bad that I don't even know what was inside.
The wifi in this hotel never worked, only works for the staffs which I found strange. When I went down at night to ask about the wifi there was the receptionist talking to his friend on Skype on the counter, I thought he would stoo and talk to us and he just carried on at Skype so I just asked him about wifi so he said he will reset the router but after that he just went straight back to Skype...
The hotel was strange that they had a different staff every 6-8 hours, during my 2 nights stay I have encountered 6 different receptionists.
I have never seen a hotel that I felt it was dirtier than my uni house.
I am hoping that this review will help you guys in not choosing this hotel for stay so that you won't have a bad experience in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that we take very serious our guest comments.

We have take in consideration all of your review and we are making sure that that does not happen any more in the future. We have implanted a new system in the hotel as well.

Should you like to stay in the future with us so that we can remove the bad impression that you had please let us know we guarantee that we will make your experience much better this time.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    50
    46
    52
See reviews for
23
83
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the strangest place I have ever been to. When we arrived by car, we asked if there was anywhere cheap to park the car as it is an expensive area. We were told about a Park and Ride at the olympic stadium, but were told to go in completely the wrong direction. We eventually found it about a hour later. We then went back to the hotel to check in where we were told we were actually staying somewhere else (the Wilhelmina) which was about 10 mins walk away. We were then to come back the following day. We were shown to a room which was a single occupancy (there were two of us staying there) which also had someone elses belongings in. We were then shown to the correct room which was unmade and dirty and slightly cramped.

It's not all bad however, the staff were friendly and there was a good breakfast (apart from the orange juice which was awful). When the room was cleaned, it was very nice. The location is good, and despite a booking error which meant we had to stay elsewhere, the service was actually good and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to inform you that we take very serious our guest comments.

We have take in consideration all of your review and we are making sure that that does not happen any more in the future. We have implanted a new system in the hotel as well.

Should you like to stay in the future with us so that we can remove the bad impression that you had please let us know we guarantee that we will make your experience much better this time.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afonwen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked last minute and decided to take a chance on Hotel Omega even though the reviews here were not so good, as we didn't have much choice left in our price range, and we were both pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The location is very near all the major museums and Dam Square is a beautiful half hour walk away through the canals. Daniel the Australian owner greeted us on arrival and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was overlooking a garden and was very pleasant. Yes, the floor was a bit dirty in places and the décor was dated but the bathroom was spotless and the bed linen was fresh. For the money we though it was great and the included buffet breakfast set you up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us.

Should you like to stay with us please just let us know.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've just returned from a short break in lovely Amsterdam, and I was very satisfied with this hotel.
Firstly, it is situated in a very pleasant, easily accessible area and is within walking distance of several museums-including the Rijksmuseum-great if you want to get there early and avoid the queues!
Although some reviewers complained about the décor of this hotel, and it is a bit dated and could do with a makeover, my room was really comfortable. I slept well there -can't say that the chiming clock was a problem! The shower was hot and the bathroom spotless.
Breakfast was typically 'continental'-more than adequate and with choice of cereals etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
The reason I gave it 4/5 is because there isn't a drinks machine -it would be nice to be able to purchase a hot or cold drink in the evening.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: My room was at the back, overlooking a courtyard garden-pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOmgams, Manager at Omega Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs.

Thank you for your comment.

We are very glad that you enjoy your stay with us.

Should you like to stay with us in the future please let us know and we will be more then glad to have you with us again and we can also arrange that you will get the same room looking over the Garden.

Best Regards

Andre Martins

Omega Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

sadly they were left by the last occupants of the room and were on the floor. We also booked a twin room and they were full so even though we were there at 1200 we were put in a double room. The hotel is great though for being really close to the museums and is in a quiet safe area. The breakfast was also very nice. A good hoover and sorting out the booking system would make this hotel a lot better. They were also trying to charge 2000 euros (yes £1700) for a room on the Europa Football final day which is exploitation and not very clever. would avoid until improvements have been made.

Room Tip: another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location, walking distance to most attractions, though our feet are killing us now we're back, but easy to get around on tram if needed. Nice quiet area and no noise from inside the hotel despite our stay being for queens day which attracts 1 million visitors to Amsterdam. However, church clock opposite chimes every hour and does disturb sleep and Windows very thin and Don't shut properly.
Breakfast continental and quite a lot of choice, but crockery not washed properly and rarely any normal tea bags left!
Room size fine for us, we were only there for sleeping and bed was comfy. Main problem was room didn't look like it had been hoovered or dusted for many weeks so didn't want to put any of my things on floor or walk on it in bare feet. Bathroom was clean though.

Room Tip: Try to face out the back and you might not here the clock chiming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a voucher which clearly said, double room. As we arrived we had to notice that the room was only equipped with a 120cm bed (not even queen size) and only one set of towels. We returned to the reception and were told, that this is fact is supposed to be a double room. They were not able to give us a room with 2 bed before check outs were done next morning.

My friend slept on the floor. What a great experience for $200/night!

Next morning they were still not able to give us another room but promised they would take care of it and as we would come back we would be able to go to another room. Unfortunately when we returned after sightseeing, the reception agent was not informed about that and explained in a rude manner, that there was not any chance of getting another room. We booked a new hotel and left that poor place. The agent was not willing to confirm that we left the hotel early.

Furthermore wi-fi connection was very poor in most parts of the hotel, breakfast was ok, but not what you can expect. No hairdryer at the bathroom. Window was broken and could not be closed entirely (night temps 4c/40F)...!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.