We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omega Hotel... Very Dutch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Omega Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Omega Hotel... Very Dutch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very laid back. Ideally located. Not well run by North American standards (NAS).

If you are looking for the NAS, don't go there. You will be disappointed. Very much overpriced for what you get, but Amsterdam is an expensive city and room are small because of the architecture of housing in that city.

The big american chain have hotel near the Central Station..... and the hot district.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    49
    49
    56
See reviews for
27
86
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We traveled as a group of 5 people and we were accommodated in 2 doubles and one single room. We had no problems throughout our stay, the staff was very friendly and helful, they provided us a map and guidence to find important places in the city. Although we had a pretty cold weather, the rooms were heated, they were clean and the beds confortable.
We did however had a problem with the hot water in the showers in the morning as they ran out of hor water and we had to handle with the cold one.
The area is very quiet, we could get on foot easily to Museum plein and also throgh the park into the area with food and drinks.
Really nice stay, we could go there anytime in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms seem to have strange noise from the A/C units probably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Situated in an affluent area behind the Concert Hall this is a poor quality budget hotel.
The room had peeling wallpaper, marks on the wall which looked suspiciously like blood, torn curtains and bed linen, and the shower room was half-painted. Not all the electric sockets worked and the room was dirty.
The breakfast buffet was adequate but make sure you arrive well in time ( 7 - 10am) as we were refused more milk for the coffee, and eggs as they said they were not prepared to replenish them.
We also refused to eat breakfast there for the last two days as we noticed while having a drink one evening mice running along the breakfast worktop.
The staff ranged from friendly to mostly dour.
Although a small-time budget hotel there is no excuse for lack of cleaniness. To a degree it spoilt my pleasure of the break in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Room was fine, breakfast passable but cold showers make me think I will be going elsewhere should I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5-8 of march. Had a large room we never went hungry for breakfast.great location.staff could of been a bit more friendly.but we really enjoyed our stay and would defo go again.it was a budget break and thats what we got. the safe in room was a nice touch.i had read the reviews before i went and was worrried but our stay was great. Will defo use this hotel again x

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I booked in via an agent, and there was some hoo ha as we when we got there they could not find our reservation causing some concern. Then they showed us to a room that had not been tidied and the bed remained unmade??!!! But overall, they were small, quiet and comfortable rooms, and reasonable for the price. The breakfast was a continental breakfast, and it was a good location for the museums, Vogelpark, and trams into town.

So overall, I think I would use them again, but it's nowt fancy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed here beginning of July when attending the White Sensation party at the Arena. Paid £270 for 2 nights , an utterly exorbitant price for 2 nights in this hotel. Very average and an extremley dated hotel. One of the men working at the front desk was border line obnoxious to boot.
I paid extra for a late check out from my room as i had a late flight on the Sunday evening. Then on the day i was leaving i was told i had to vacate my room and move to another room to suit these guys. Obviosuly this was purely to suit their cleaning schedule. Not acceptable.

I was locked out of a room with all my stuff during this changeover (completely hungover and tired) while i waited for the extremley rude man on desk to get me a working Door card. (Initial one did not work so i had to come all the way back down the lift and wait in reception while this was sorted. This took the guts of an hour for this imbicile to do. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 33, Museum Quarter, 1071 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omega Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL OMEGA AMSTERDAM Hotel Omega Amsterdam is a small, well-maintained 3-star hotel accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood near the Museum Square and the famous Royal Concert Hall. The hotel looks out over the public garden ‘Vondelpark‘, a great place for a walk or picnic, and is right next to the ‘Cornelis Schuytkwartier’, a trendy area with many boutiques and cafés.Hotel rooms:Hotel Omega in Amsterdam Zuid has 32 rooms, all the rooms of the hotel are equipped with:bathroom with shower and toilet, safety deposit box, television, telephone, hairdryer, refrigerator and a work desk. If you want to have airconditioning in the room, please request this before arrival, the costs are aprox. 10 euros per day.Services:◾Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free for the guests staying in the hotel.◾Breakfast buffet is included in the price.Location Hotel OmegaThe Omega Hotel is located in the Amsterdam Zuid are, which is the ideal base to visit several tourist attractions in Amsterdam.Musea: The hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Square, the site of the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum with its world-renowned collection of Rembrandt’s, and the just re-opened museum: Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Music: Just behind the hotel you will find the Amsterdam concert hall ‘Concertgebouw‘.Shopping in Amsterdam: If you want to do some shopping, the exclusive street PC Hoofdstraat is just minutes away. The receptionists can also help you if you want to visit the famous Albert Cuyp marketNight Life around the Omega HotelNearby Hotel Omega Amsterdam you will find the famous Leidseplein, an area where you can enjoy the city’s vibrant nightlife: it has many restaurants and cafés, clubs and cinemas, as well as the municipal theatre ‘Stadsschouwburg’ and a casino. All in all a perfect location in the city centre of Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Omega Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Omega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.