We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a wonderful city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a wonderful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect when my friend booked us on a surprise flight to Amsterdam, so I decided to look for the best hotel I could find and came across the Ambassade Hotel. It was perfect! Excellent location which was safe, within walking distance of main areas and very classy and pretty! We had a window view looking out onto the canal and shops/buidlings (the architecture in Amsterdam is beautiful and unspoilt.)

The service was impeccable, from the moment we set foot into the building to the moment we left. The staff were highly attentive. We do not usually spend that much time in our hotel as we tend to prefer to explore the city, but during the day we often made trips back to the room (drop off shopping bags/ quick nap before heading out for the evening). The hotel made it all worthwhile.

Rooms were very clean, had all the amenities and was decorated in a beautiful and luxurious style.

Could not recommend this hotel and the city of Amsterdam any more. Theres so much to see and do- despite the old stereotypes, we found the city to be very classy, rich in culture, with an abundance of museums (we went to a cocktail one too! very random but fun). There are lots of great restaurants- try some Indonesian food- very tasty. Check out the restaurant reviews first though. Go on a boat trip, hit a jazz bar but MIND THE TRAMS & CYCLISTS!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    179
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
134
256
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We (daughter and I) were in Amsterdam visiting a friend for a week in November, a beautiful time to visit! Staying at the Ambassade Hotel was a pleasure. We arrived from Paris without a reservation and were greeted warmly by the front desk. We were offered a De Luxe room overlooking the Canal from the 3rd floor which was beautifully furnished, very comfy beds and a modern bathroom with sep.bath/shower. There is free internet, a lovely sitting room and drinks available in the common areas in the evening. There is also a beautiful breakfast room for those who enjoy a large breakfast spread. You can walk to everything and the concierge has tickets available for all the main museums/galleries which would be particularly useful in peak season.
The staff were most polite, friendly and obliging, arranging taxis etc.
A very good choice for a 3/4 star hotel at 175 Euros per night.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010 via mobile

Hotel in excellent location, 5 minute walk to center. Rooms clean, but small but not unlike all European hotel rooms. Hotel has definite character, halls and rooms with unique art. Price was average but worth it for the location. Only negative was staff gave us wrong directions on tram, but otherwise, staff was attentive and excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

staff great.. location excellent. rooms stylish and clean

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

My wife and I travelled with a teenage daughter and found to our delight that the hotel could accommodate us with a proper triple room - a big double bed and a proper third bed tucked into one part of an L shaped room. The room was warm and comfortable with space for an easy chair and a small table and a good sized bathroom.

The hotel is typical Amsterdam, overlooking the Heerengracht and only a few stops south of the Centraalstation by tram. Plenty of good restaurants in nearby Spuistraat. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts were plentiful and varied and the building itself is a gem - a whole library given over to personally author-signed copies of lots of books.

But beware, this hotel, like many in Amsterdam, is not for those who struggle with stairs; we were two flights up an incredibly narrow winding staircase. But the staff are always willing and able to help take luggage up and down.

In short, an ideal location for a City break and reasonably priced for the class of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Very good hotel, the best location,but we got a very small double room and seems that most of them are tiny ones.
For 245 euros per night and room, no breakfast, I would expect something else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed 3 nights prior to our African Safari and then one night on the return home with 4 couples. The staff was so helpful and took care of our requests with a can do attitude and really conveyed they wanted us to enjoy our stay. There are lots of nice hotels to choose from, but the location and the staff make this one very special. Hotel Ambassade is a series of Canal houses that have been linked together in a very charming way. Part of the charm is finding your room! Breakfast is lovely, so be sure to enjoy that too. Don't miss out and book well in advance. We definitely would stay there again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.