We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“poor value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Very good hotel, the best location,but we got a very small double room and seems that most of them are tiny ones.
For 245 euros per night and room, no breakfast, I would expect something else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    214
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
166
340
51
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed 3 nights prior to our African Safari and then one night on the return home with 4 couples. The staff was so helpful and took care of our requests with a can do attitude and really conveyed they wanted us to enjoy our stay. There are lots of nice hotels to choose from, but the location and the staff make this one very special. Hotel Ambassade is a series of Canal houses that have been linked together in a very charming way. Part of the charm is finding your room! Breakfast is lovely, so be sure to enjoy that too. Don't miss out and book well in advance. We definitely would stay there again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The decor is traditional, and the rooms accessed up steep staircases of a row of canal houses. Our room was small but comfortable, and crucially, it had an atmospheric canal view. The bed was particularly comfortable and we had a fantastic sleep all three nights. What a fantastic location for exploring the city. Not for those in Amsterdam for sex, drugs 'n' rock 'n' roll - this is a grown up hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed there for around 5 days in April of this year and would definitely stay there again if finances allow. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was very nice and clean. We had a room overlooking the canal so that made it even nicer. Free wireless internet in the room. Nice clean bathroom. Comfortable bed. The location is also great, it was pretty much walking distance from everything we wanted to do. It was pretty expensive, but I do believe you get what you pay for - high quality! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We chose the Ambassade because it offered triple rooms for two adults and a college-aged son, because it is well located, and because it has a/c. Our triple under the eaves consisted of a main bedroom, a bed in an anteroom that could be closed off from the main room,and a bath. It was more than adequate for our needs, very nicely decorated. The a/c was welcome even though it was relatively cool and rainy during our stay--the first night, mosquitoes came in our opened windows overlooking the Herengracht. Right in the charming Nine Streets boutique shopping area of Amsterdam, a quiet neighborhood with good restaurants, convenient to multiple trams to the main attractions, close to the Anne Frank house. The front desk staff were wonderful, and well equipped with tickets to the museums so you can avoid lines. They reserved a time for us at the Anne Frank house, as well. We didn't breakfast at the hotel--there are cafes nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Unfortunately, we stayed only 1 night at the Ambassade, but it was a memorable experience that we would love to repeat. The rooms and amenities were very good, the location on the canal was perfect--but the top-notch staff were really what made the stay special. They were cordial, kind, polite, helpful, attentive, and prompt to all the guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who stays here all the time - we loved it! - Great location, the staff were welcoming, informative, professional and friendly - Our room overlooked the canal - well worth the extra $$ as you really get the feel of Amsterdam. The bed was extremely comfortable-well serviced daily and charming. I would very much like to stay here again in the future - well done!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: Herengracht 341, 1016 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, the Ambassade Hotel has expanded considerably. Starting with just one canal-side building in 1953, it now has 58 hotel rooms distributed among 10 of these buildings. Eight of these canal-side homes are on the "Herengracht" canal, while two others are located on the "Singel" canal. Other buildings are in use by the Ambassade Hotel too, but for other purposes: a few houses further along the Herengracht is the hotel's Float & Massage Centre known as Koan Float and 150 meters further along the Singel canal you will find the hotel's conference room. Except for the building at 335 Herengracht, all the canal-side buildings are physically interconnected. So as not to unnecessarily damage the original character of these canal-side homes, small sets of stairs and landings can be found at various places in the halls and in some of the rooms themselves to bridge the differences in floor elevations between the buildings. Over the years, two lifts have been installed, making all rooms easily accessible. The canal houses have been carefully restored to maintain their authentic character and all rooms and suites have been stylishly furnished and decorated. The furnishings are predominantly Louis XV/XVI style with the use of colorful fabrics and in all rooms and public areas you will find original paintings by artists from the famous Cobra movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.